Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1996 Toyota Camry

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 618 Ratings for the 1992 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 62 | Next

Selling due to: potholes taking their toll

By on Thursday, August 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 326,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Can't kill it."

Cons: "4 cyl version has no power. Seats are so-so."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought it used with 125,000. Seller thought it might become unreliable with that high mileage. I regularly drive it back/forth to Florida(4/5 times per yr). Overall MPG ranges from 25-28. Seat comfort is so-so. 6 cyl has good response. Check engine light has been on for a few years:code = "one of the three auto transmission sensors is bad" - each is about $300. Non-refundable so COULD spend $900 to turn off the light -works fine. Due to the awful roads in MA I've developed some recent rattles and now looking to replace it rather than spending money to fix 18 yr old car. Last yr met a guy at hilton Head,SC - on his way back to Canada with his - 440,000 on his. In past few years I've had prev maint done - timing belt, water pump,serpentine belt, tires, fluids,etc. I get oil change halfway between MA-FLA each time before stopping for the night. Certainly was reliable for me."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Good value.Dependable transportation.

By on Sunday, August 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good value"

Cons: "too small for comfort."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"The problem I have with the car is that the seats are not comfortable for me and I am 6 ft and 180 lbs.For a smaller person they may be OK.The car handles well,but could use more power. I average about 23 mpg over all in an area which has a lot of traffic so that's not bad."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Easy to own

By on Tuesday, July 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 202,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good road manners, comfortable on long runs."

Cons: "mediocre standard stereo."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The most reliable car I've ever owned. Total repairs to date: 1) heater core, 2) timing belt (and that's maintenance really) Drives well, low maintenance, easy on tires. If for some reason I had to drive it across the country, I could go pack a bag and leave in an hour without a second thought."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

It gets 31 mpg on the road. Great car for 200,000

By on Thursday, July 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Super reliable"

Cons: "CD not reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Biggest problem was that I had to replace some door knobs."

Perfectly maintained, beautiful in and out

By on Friday, July 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "has sun roof, new timing belt, new battery"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was a one owner car that I purchased because I love this year Camry. It was driven 92,000 miles when I purchased it and now has 102,000 and is perfect condition."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Perfectly maintained, beautiful in and out

By on Friday, July 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "has sun roof, new timing belt, new battery"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was a one owner car that I purchased because I love this year Camry. It was driven 92,000 miles when I purchased it and now has 102,000 and is perfect condition."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle with 235K plus, still runs great

By on Friday, June 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Outstanding vehicle."

A great older car

By on Friday, June 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,798

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "picks up speed fast, inexpensive held value"

Cons: "tag holder on back of car getting worn out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car is great to own."

Best car I've ever owned - love it

By on Friday, June 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, handles well, Toyota dependability"

Cons: "out of production :("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this Camry wagon used with 76,000 on it. It's at 218,000 now and going strong. I love this car. If I ever buy another car, it will be a Toyota (Lexus, if I win the Lottery!). The only drawback has been that replacement parts have tended to be pricey - even aftermarket. But it handles so well, is so reliable, and gives me the space I need to haul horse-related stuff (150 lbs of feed, saddles, etc.) without having to go the SUV route, I have to overlook that. Have I mentioned that I love this car? As old as it is, I love the styling, the interior is very comfortable. It passes emissions first time, no problem. The only thing it's missing: new car smell (LOL) !!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best vechicle i have ever own.

By on Monday, May 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "very fun to drive."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i get up to 38 mpg and would never trade it for anything else."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 62 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Camry near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details