Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1996 Toyota Camry

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 618 Ratings for the 1992 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next

Perfectly maintained, beautiful in and out

By on Friday, July 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "has sun roof, new timing belt, new battery"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was a one owner car that I purchased because I love this year Camry. It was driven 92,000 miles when I purchased it and now has 102,000 and is perfect condition."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle with 235K plus, still runs great

By on Friday, June 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Outstanding vehicle."

A great older car

By on Friday, June 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,798

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "picks up speed fast, inexpensive held value"

Cons: "tag holder on back of car getting worn out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car is great to own."

Best car I've ever owned - love it

By on Friday, June 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, handles well, Toyota dependability"

Cons: "out of production :("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this Camry wagon used with 76,000 on it. It's at 218,000 now and going strong. I love this car. If I ever buy another car, it will be a Toyota (Lexus, if I win the Lottery!). The only drawback has been that replacement parts have tended to be pricey - even aftermarket. But it handles so well, is so reliable, and gives me the space I need to haul horse-related stuff (150 lbs of feed, saddles, etc.) without having to go the SUV route, I have to overlook that. Have I mentioned that I love this car? As old as it is, I love the styling, the interior is very comfortable. It passes emissions first time, no problem. The only thing it's missing: new car smell (LOL) !!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best vechicle i have ever own.

By on Monday, May 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "very fun to drive."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i get up to 38 mpg and would never trade it for anything else."

Best I've ever owned. 330,000 miles & still 30 mpg

By on Tuesday, April 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 330,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Responsive, sporty, comfortable, roomy"

Cons: "Quality of hubcaps"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best Car I've ever owned. Bought it in 2002 with 117,000 miles on it and now has 330,000 miles on it. Still gets 30 miles to gallon at 75 miles per hour. Handles nice and tight. Only have done normal maintenance: tires, timing belt every 80,000 miles, spark plugs, brakes, and filters. Big trunk, lots of leg room front and back. Plenty of zip to pass when needed. Have driven for 13 hours straight a number of times and never with aches or stiffness. CD & cassette deck still work and are both used all the time! Would buy another if found one with less than 120,00 miles on it."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

this car is nice and the price is rely good for

By on Monday, April 22, 2013

I don't own this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car is nice and the price in rely good for a car this old. It got great value i never seen a car look like this in my life!!!!!!!!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Completely satisfied from the day I bought this ca

By on Wednesday, April 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lived up to high consumer report rating."

Cons: "hubcap quality poor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've bought several new cars over the years but have never before experienced owning a car seventeen years with no major problems, just normal maintenance. It is fun to drive and compared to new cars, has excellent side and rearview visibility."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My BEST Car Ever

By on Friday, April 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, comfortable, room,pretty, nice car"

Cons: "Small inconveniences, no fog lights"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love it!!!! I still like it's looks. The upholstery is still good and it's comfortable. It has plenty of room and the back seat folds down for MORE room in the trunk. The radio is still great though the tape deck died a long time ago. (Didn't really use it anyway.) Every important thing is still in good working condition including Transmission, Engine, lights, brakes, cruise control, wipers, adjustable seat and steering column etc. The engine block would break the bolts that held it down several times but it was covered by the extended warranty. The handle has come off and the trunk lock is broken and my antenna motor is shot. I highly recommend the extended warranty for the little things and check ups."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Perfect second car.

By on Thursday, April 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I own this car. Purchased the car from a friend. Bought this car from a friend. His wife drove it only for shopping trips and lunches. The car had only 34500 miles on it. I put new tires and brakes so they just have about 11000 miles on them I just replaced the battery and starter. It's great transportation, smooth riding power car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A collector's find if desired.

By on Sunday, March 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "totally equipped, sports handling,"

Cons: "city gas mileage, tu-door, no power seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Have owned since purchasing from the dealer at 1000 miles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned

By on Thursday, February 21, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Getting old

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased the 1996 Camry LE back in 1999 with 51,000 miles. I did nothing but perform routine oil changes, and had the timing belt changed once. This car is now over 213000 miles, and still runs like the first day it was purchased. The clear coat on the trunk is starting to peel, and the leather on the front seats is badly cracked, but that is to be expected after 17 years. A coworker is buying this car and plans to drive it well over 300K miles. I have no doubt it will easily surpass that mark, and would be comfortable driving it across country right now. This car sold me on Toyota."

13 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Monday, February 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable and roomy."

Cons: "Driver's seat design and height could be much impr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliability and roominess and trunk are fine. Driver's seat is too low and " non-ergonomic" , so it causes ache in back, plus ache in right foot and thigh when kept on accelerator , and I am only 5' 10" tall. Steering response and ratio is better on my 1985 Corolla sedan, and so is cornering."

! have always owned toyota cars, Corona, 87 Camry

By on Friday, February 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "You cannot go wrong with Toyota products"

Cons: "I hate the cheap materials on the latest Toyotas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have enjoyed owning Toyota products such as my 2005 Four Runner, 94 and 87 Camrys and 1980-Corona, there were no disappointments. The only comparisons were my old American- cars such as 1970s Dodge Aspen, Plymouth Volarie and Ford Granada. I have owned other Japanese brands such as Nissan Stanza, 1984-Accord, none was to compare in my experiences with toyota products to date."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Wonderful, awesome fuel mileage, very reliable!

By on Monday, February 04, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Accident, no one hurt!

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe, reliable, excellent fuel mileage, smooth!"

Cons: "No cons!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Almost no to very little repairs as compared to American, German, or any other cars including other Japanese cars! I didn't have to spend a lot on this car. Saved a lot of money during my school year both on fuel and repairs as compared to my peers. I read somewhere that since 1995 90% of the Toyota Camrys are still on the road. I lost the car in an accident. No one hurt! It never gave me any reason, will, wish, need, excuse, etc to sell it. Would love to rebuy similar car! People who make Toyota excellent, I am a fan! Keep up the wonderful work!"

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best value ever!

By on Thursday, January 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,888

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "No CD player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned it for over two years. There was an oil leak, pretty common for this model. I had seals replaced, new coolant overflow bottle, complete brake work for my own safety. Excellent gas mileage, the latch on the back side door had to be replaced. The car is 19 years old and runs great. I have kept up the maintenance, and my next step is to get it repainted. It has the original paint job, but the clear coat is beginning to peel on the hood. This is my first wagon, I love it, and I drive it more than my new vehicle."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Poor condition

By on Friday, December 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
2/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Air conditioning broken, Power window and door troubles.Shocks & struts are bad. Broken windshield. Several dents in the body. Worn out tires."

6 people out of 33 found this review helpful

good gas milage and peppy for a 4cyl

By on Monday, November 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car is a work horse. i bought it used in 2011 with 185k. things i replaced was radiator, gas tank and freeze plug. i do a paper route in this and this car gets weighed down on sundays to do a route. only thing i hate about it now is its stuck on defrost. good car i would recommend it."

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Terrific family car, reliable, strong, and comfy.

By on Tuesday, November 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Gas mlge, holds a lot, reliable, strong, smooth."

Cons: "Small cup holders, no CD player or I-phone amp."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my irreplaceable station wagon. Toyota stopped making them two years after I got mine so I could do was hang on to it. I got it in 1994 because it was the most pleasant to drive and had the smoothest ride of any of the family cars I test drove, including ones that were quite a lot more expensive. It has performed extremely well over 13 years, driving about 10,000 miles/yr. Ultra reliable in general, there have been a few problems with the electric lines going to the opening back door. It has been used to transport as many as 2 adults plus 6 children all in seatbelts, using the third seat - and they always thought it was fun, because the heating and airconditioning have are strong enough to reach the "way back" eventually. The upholstery has been subject to the ravages of children and dogs over 12 years and has held up really well. If something breaks it costs a fortune to replace it - e.g. the retractable antenna, the stereo speakers, door handle, etc., but only a few things have broken. I would recommend this car highly if they still made it! Provided, of course, they would make larger cup holders and put some in the back too! It could also use a better glove compartment and more storage in the front."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

most reliable car ever

By on Tuesday, October 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 216,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Most reliable car I've ever owned. Comfortable and runs great, even over 215,000 miles. Probably wouldn't have started rusting if I didn't live in a state where it snows 9 months a year. Easy to handle."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

THE BEST CAR EVER

By on Friday, October 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ALL"

Cons: "tallness of the car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second car i ever had. I just bought it and it runs like its brand new I love this car so much its good on gas and drives great"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best Car I'll Ever Own

By on Wednesday, September 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "the boat, the tank, the legend"

Cons: "regrets I've had a few, then again 2 few 2 mention"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives as well now as when I bought it, has always got good milage, great wide back seat, ultra-roomy trunk. Only now starting to show age in terms of repairs but it's 20 years old and hasn't been taken care of THAT well (regular grease/oil and service, but I'm not great on washing it and as you can see it has lots of miles)."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Greatest Car Ever Made

By on Friday, August 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 194,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "EVERYTHING"

Cons: "Nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car a year ago from a relative AND I LOVE IT. It's a great car would recommend it to anyone. Hope to have it forever."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

170000 miles and still running perfectly!

By on Wednesday, August 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas mileage, reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car a year ago with 143000 miles on it for $2500. The previous owner didn't take very good care of it but with a full tune up it's at 170000 miles and runs great. I recently moved from Washington to Texas and this car had no problem getting me here in three days and only costed about 300 dollars in gas! this car is very reliable and I plan on buying a new one in the future!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best car ever

By on Thursday, July 26, 2012

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bestest car in the history of cars"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Camry near Honolulu. See local deals