Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2013 Toyota Avalon Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $26,967 - $28,343.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $31,800

Fair Purchase Price $27,287
Fair Market Range ($26,967 - $28,343)

Invoice $28,702
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 8.6 of 10

10/8.6

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 115 Ratings for the 2013 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

Many design flaws. Not a comfortable riding car.

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,800

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage."

Cons: "Uncomfortable and poorly designed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Outside temperature display difficult to see. Numbers are too small and too dim. Instrument displays are at too much of an angle. Angle of windshield over displays totally washes out display when the sun shines. Reflection of dashboard in side view mirrors is distracting when sun shines. Rear window screen edge in down position is black while rear window deck is tan. When sun shines, all you can see is a black bar across the entire rear window. Gas guage is very difficult to read as the display is very faint. Analog speedometer and digital speedometer don't match. There is a two to three mile per hour difference. At higher speeds, you don't really know how fast you are going. Seats are thinly padded and very uncomfortable when driving any distance."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Just a great hybrid car, roomy, comfortable, quiet

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable to drive, easel on fuel."

Cons: "Center console is located too far back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I would buy this car again."

Tops my 3 favorite cars I've owned

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive & great adaptive cruise control"

Cons: "Low tire warning doesn't say which tire low"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Better Than my Lexus GS's or Jaguar. No slouch in acceleration just don't mash the accelerator in sport and she is FAST! Great fuel economy my best tank 48.3 mpg. Spacious and comfortable on daily commute and 600 mile trips without refueling stops. The AC is magical cooling instantly when you push the start button. Back seat legroom is incredible as are back door openings. Comfortable ride but well put together no floater here. The Moulon Rouge Mica color turns heads everywhere."

15 people out of 23 found this review helpful

12 volt battery keeps dying

By on Monday, October 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "mileage, cost, comfort"

Cons: "12 volt battery is weak!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I like my 2014 Avalon Hybrid very much overall. But there's just one problem: the 12 volt battery keeps dying when I park the car for 4 or 5 days. I try to start it and the battery is dead. Called AAA a few times, took it to the dealer 5 times and left the car up to a week. One time they replaced the battery. Otherwise they say no problem: a lot of their cars have dead batteries after a few days. Finally bought a portable charger battery pack and use it whenever I need a boost. Other than that the car is great and mileage is awesome."

8 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Great car with an ugly front grill.

By on Sunday, October 26, 2014

I don't own this car

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Toyota quality; great ride; good value."

Cons: "A sense of style is lost."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The new "bold" Toyota designs are obviously targeted to a younger demographic. Unfortunately, these large mouth grills are just not resonating with this audience. Following the move to a more aggressive design on the Lexus with its sharper angles, the Toyota Avalon designers decided to adopt an overly exaggerated grill. As a prior owner of four Toyota Camry which were all excellent cars, I was looking to step up to the Avalon this year. Looks like I'll need to hold off a couple years until Toyota's designers come to their senses."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Fun to drive!

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very fun on the curves."

Cons: "A little rough due to the tight suspension."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This new Avalon is more fun to drive, by far, than previous versions. It's not your grandpa's Avalon. The handling is crisp and smooth, but the ride is a little rougher than our 2005 and 2000 versions. It is a comfortable car, ours is fully equipped so we have all the tech stuff and the radar cruise, which is awesome. It's a great car, but they can still tweak it which I know Toyota will."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Very good car

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a very good car. If you can go with Limited trim because the price difference is not huge but you get a lot of good stuff. The only inconvenience in this car is that back seats do not recline so you will not be able to fit bigger stuff into your trunk"

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

best car I have ever owned

By on Sunday, September 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very fair"

Cons: "can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best looking car on theroad"

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Likely the best car I've owned.

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "High resale value. It's a Lexus."

Cons: "Dealership treats me as if I own a Yaris."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I call the Avalon the "poor man's Tesla." And that is an extreme complement since the vehicle can go 600 miles on a tank of non-ethanol gas and carry passengers in luxury. The Avalon is comfortable to drive and the fuel savings are above 40 mpg if you drive with a little care. I was shopping for a Prius and realized the Avalon was the better value."

16 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Loving It!

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good power for a Hybrid and very nice to drive."

Cons: "Parking assist should be an option."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Traded my 2011 ES 350 wanted to get into a Hybrid vehicle. Looked at the Lexus 300h some difference but not enough to Justify 6-9K difference in price. For the most part it's the same vehicle with some minor option differences. I added the Tech. package with the collision avoidance. This is a nice safety feature which is well worth it. Also, the the JBL sound system sounds great! Will update when have more miles."

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Interior GLARE PROBLEM-

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
5/10

Cons: "Reflective interior molding cause a BLINDING GLARE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Chrome molding around the speed odometer, air conditioner, and air vents reflect the sun at all angles causing a blinding glare in sunlight. I have written letters to Toyota and the dealership but have had no response. I have reported this problem (as well as many others who own this vehicle) on the Vehicle Transportation Safety website. This could be easily fixed by offering a different color molding that does not reflect the sunlight but as of this date no fix is offered."

22 people out of 34 found this review helpful

power and comfort comparable to my last 2010 BMW.

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "best value and very comfortable on 6+ hour drive."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"most dependable, more than enough power from V6, all the features I desire and a very comfortable long drive."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

So far the best car that I own.

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 980

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "confortable, spacious and an ellegant interior"

Cons: "A little to expensis."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had three Avalon, 2000, 2011 and 2014. The 2014 is by far the best car that I had. I have a Limited and I wish that the back up camera will beep when you are close to hit a static object, garage door or other non moving objects. The gas mileage is approximately 23 m/gallon in city that is not too bad. I love this car very much."

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

FINE CAR, BUT A "ROUGHRIDER"

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"A well built vehicle with many fine features, but suspension is very tight and does not take rough roads like previous models we own/have owned; 2010 and 1997. Also right front seat has a rattle when seat is reclined, a similar problem found in the 2010 model, still not corrected. If the rough ride could be corrected, this would be great vehicle."

29 people out of 46 found this review helpful

Great car for the money

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive"

Cons: "No all wheel drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Would definitely recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a full sized sedan with all the features and technology one would need."

19 people out of 31 found this review helpful

my 3rd avalon, great car

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "we love the blind spot warnig lights"

Cons: "very little trunk space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned the Avalon hybrid for 16 months. I was able to go threw one bad winter and working on my second summer. the first summer the we drove the car at highway speeds @ about 64 mph and was able to achieve 37 mpg at a distance of 22 miles. The 2nd summer, now that the car has some mileage on it we took a trip to LaGuardia Air Port NY. from Port Jefferson, NY. and achieved 43.9 mpg. round trip with 4 people in the car with luggage and air conditioning on. On secondary roads I recently drove 3 miles and achieved 60.1 mpg, not to bad for a full size car. The normal local driving we achieve about 44 to 54 mpg. In the winter however these numbers are NOT achievable. A 5 mile trip we may get 33 to 37 mpg tops and again it all depends on the ambient temperature. The highway is the same results, about 34 to 39 mpg. Note; I am a professional driver."

15 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Average Car

By on Tuesday, July 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Pros: Averaging 37 mpg in mixed driving... Large Interior... Decent Technology... 0% financing for 60 months when purchased... I find it fun to drive for a large car... large trunk space for a hybrid... Cons: Display is very difficult to see during the day, should be angled differently... Paint chips too easily - have more chips in 2 months than on my old car in 8 years... Reliability - car in shop for 5 days already for brake problem (service bulletin has been issued)... Radio - horrible, horrible reception... Display claims better mpg than when I calculate it myself based on gallons filled and mileage driven - is this done to give folks impression of better gas mileage cause it's a hybrid??"

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Not a camry hybrid

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Fuel mileage, reliability, space, gps, all excelle"

Cons: "hard to reach buttons on climate control, mildew"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"The Dash panel is very hard to reach from the drivers seat and I am a 6ft male, very easy to accidentally hit buttons on and off, rides stiff, because the car is heavier it isn't as quick as the Camry hybrid. Car has intermittent mildew smells that will not go away. (Google and you will see I am not the only one.) The good is the mileage, 39 mpg is about the avg, the toyota intune has the best gps in the business and the hands free works great. All i all a nice car but 30K later and i am ready to try something that doesn't put off mold and mildew smells."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great car, very nice pick up and great ride

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "expensive but great comfort, ride, handling & mpg"

Cons: "trunk space lousy!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love this vehicle, 38 to 40 mpg average, very good ride and handling. The only problem is a total lack of trunk space. You couldn't get two sets of golf clubs in this trunk."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Nicest car I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,350

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Technology package, gas mileage, great handling"

Cons: "Rear seats not ventilated."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own two Lexus vehicles, an 02' and a 92', I realize there is several years between my Avalon and the two Lexus, but the difference is astounding. I also owned and sold an 04' Camry XLE to purchase the Avalon. The Avalon is the quietest car I have ever driven. It's very comfortable smooth, fast and quiet. It gets great mileage 24 to 30+, and many luxury features. I did 5 months of research before the purchase, looking at all other vehicles in its class, and the Avalon won hands down."

25 people out of 40 found this review helpful

This car runs beautifully and is well designed for

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Greqat power and hugs the road"

Cons: "It is not as comfortable as a Cadillac DeVille,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Having become used to the cushioned ride of Cadillac DeVille over past 10 years, the only negative comment I can make about the Avalon is that it is not as well cushioned when the road gets bumpy. The mileage on highway with A/C is 32 mpg. Road noise is minimal. Rear seat area very spacious, with separate heat/air controls. I highly recommend this auto for 4-5 passengers."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Price regular gas great MPG"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I looked at the following cars: 300 ES350 Impala Taurus Avalon I have a 2006 Toyota Avalon Touring and it has 76000 and runs great. After driving the above cars, it was down to the ES350,Impala and the Avalon. I had to rule one out and it was the Impala. It was a tough decision between the ES350 and the Avalon. The Avalon was a little bigger and wider and was thousands less. When the dealer offered me a new 2013 for a great price my decision was made. The handling is great. With the ECO mode on I just got over 30mpg with four people. The technology is great. I also like the Blind Spot Monitor. So far no complaints. The roads in NY suffered a bad winter, but this car takes the potholes great. The car is very quick."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Awesome, but drives like a sports car

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,505

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive with out a doubt"

Cons: "the technology pkg leaves nothing to imagination"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Please with all aspects, except the suspension is like a sports car. Turns corners with out throwing passengers to the side. If you like luxury in a sports car, you got it. Just remember while it is a mini Lexus, it does not have the Lexus soft ride. I couldn't afford a Lexus. This was the next best thing."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The 2014 Avalon is a wonderful vehicle!

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The vehicle is great inside and out. The drive of the vehicle is so smooth and relaxing. The handsfree bluetooth, touch screen, and backup camera is awesome!"

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 350

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ECO Normal SPort mode, ELectrical sterring, Stero"

Cons: "So far none."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 2006 Toyota Avalon Touring and it is great. I just leased a 2013 Toyota Avalon Touring. It is great. NY had a bad winter and the car handles the bumps and holes well. There is no vibration in the front. Bring the car back to Toyota and check the tires and suspension. Someone I know said the car had a bad ride and felt every bump. The problem was the tires were set at 40 instead of 32. That solved the problem. For a full size car that is not broken in yet I am getting 25.2 average gas mileage on regular. The car is very quick. The handling is great. I love the ECO Normal and Sport mode. I looked at the ES350, 300, Impala and the Avalon. The Avalon won. The ES350 was better but I did not think it was worth 10,000 more. Try and get a 2013 the BSM is included."

15 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.