Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2012 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 537 Ratings for the 2005 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Great car

By on Friday, May 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car ,handles grt.on highway travel 28 35 mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Would buy another one"

Best vehicle for me for the second time

By on Friday, April 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "This vehicle owes me nothing. Low ownership costs"

Cons: "Not promoted by Toyota as a model."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Avalon Limited owed. Both have been super with a very low cost of ownership; minimal to no vehicle recalls and easy on the pocketbook. Love the features and the ride. I will be a repeat buyer."

Excellent car over ten years of ownership

By on Monday, April 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable highway cruiser & extremely reliable"

Cons: "Handling not very sporty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has provided me with safe, comfortable, and reliable transportation for the ten plus years of ownership. Other than oil changes and a couple of brake jobs the car has required very infrequent maintenance. The power steering pump ($400+) and the steering rack ($900 rebuilt) needed to be replaced after about 130,000 miles were the only real repairs during my span of owning this. The car is a comfortable highway cruiser and it handles very predictably, but it's definitely not sporty. My real world gas mileage has ranged from 21 to 29 mpg. The premium JBL sound system has the clearest sound and frequency distribution I've experience of any car I've ever been in."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The nicest and most comfortable vehicle

By on Friday, April 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable."

Cons: "Small access hole from the rear seat to the trunk."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the nicest driving, nicest riding, most comfortable car I have ever owned. Our model has the V6 engine which is crazy powerful. Gas mileage for the V6 averages about 27 hwy."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

my 2nd Avalon

By on Friday, April 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "quiet, comfortable for long trips, great value"

Cons: "wind & road noise could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am in my 70's and have had several new cars. I have had a Avalon 2005 and put 127,000 on it before selling it myself in one day and currently have a 2011 with 41,000 miles. Never a problem with either and I will be getting a 2015 or 2016 soon. The Avalon is the best overall car I have ever had. economical, very dependable & comfortable, very little depreciation. For us it is a prefect car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A very nice quality automobile

By on Thursday, April 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"only problem I've had was early on with air conditioning. Computer malfunction that seems to have corrected itself"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Better than a Lexus more room Simply the best.

By on Friday, March 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Simply better than a Lexus"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car great ride."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Wonderful Large Sedan

By on Monday, March 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent smooth, quiet ride, overall reliability"

Cons: "Not the most 'sexy' look."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased new. At the time, also drove the slightly smaller Infiniti, Lexus and Acura models. Only model to compare in the 'ride quality' area was a 3 year old Jag XJ8. Only serious reliability/quality issue was the high tail light. Went out just after warranty expired and cost $800 to replace. They had to remove the back seat, and ever since the rear window blind hasn't worked properly. Ride is still exceptionally smooth, engine power more than adequate, road noise a little higher than when new, but body and leather interior still in excellent shape. Will be replacing soon, and will be considering a Venza as the replacement."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By far, the best car I have ever owned

By on Sunday, March 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very solid and comfortable and unbelievably reliab"

Cons: "None I can think of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned a lot of cars over my lifetime and this is the best car ever. The ride, the handling, the interior, the room, the reliability, are all superb. I can't tell you how many times I have offered someone a ride and after a few minutes, they ask "Say, what kind of car is this?" They are always impressed. Bought it new and have never had to get anything fixed (I regularly have the car serviced). I have usually kept my cars in warranty but this one is so good that when I try out a new car I always prefer this one -- particularly with the new Avalon which seems to have shrunk in size and has a smaller interior. The only thing is lacks is Bluetooth and that doesn't particularly bother me. When I sit in traffic and look around I almost never see a car that I would prefer over this one."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best Car I've Owned

By on Thursday, February 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Big comfortable, reliable, reasonable."

Cons: "Nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I waited 7 years for the new 2013 model, truly disappointed so much I'm probably leaving TOYOTA after buying 3, looking at Audi's, BMW's. New design outside & inside disappointing. They have CHEAPENED the interior, the front looks like a GIANT CARNIVORE, actually stupid, with no bumper to protect you & yours. Rides in my opinion like a cheap car, no longer plush & comfortable. I've been looking since December 2013, my wife keeps saying about each car I look at, it's not as comfortable or as large as this one, keep it."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

only neg. is the Navigation system

By on Tuesday, February 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "lots of interior room and great hwy gas mi."

Cons: "poor controls for navigation system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the 2nd Avalon I've owned. Kept both for 8 years ea. Love the interior seating room and the large trunk space. The ride is very smooth and quiet. Would buy another but the 2014 redesign seems to have had a negative effect on the smooth quiet ride. Very sad to see so many negative consumer reviews."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My Best Vehicle Ever In Comfort

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent price, comfortable and fun to drive."

Cons: "Find no cons at all."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was my first Avalon Toyota and drove seven other cars. This by far has been my favorite for comfort, wonderful for long trips, love the styling both inside and out of the car. Passengers have loved riding in the car for the comfort the car provides."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever had so far

By on Thursday, February 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Largest rear seat of any sedan."

Cons: "None, really."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought new 9.5 years ago. 130,000 miles. Only tires, brakes, and oil changes - no repairs. One current issue - navigation switch stopped working, and just the switch is $1000 to replace."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

agreat car

By on Friday, January 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "most miles on this car is road miles"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought this car new. It has been maticulasly maintained,has new tires /80,000ile warranthy-michelones, car is in show room condition"

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

very nice ride comfortable

By on Friday, January 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "all the bells and whistles.fun to drive."

Cons: "high cost, tire wear."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"purchased car 7/17/2012. At 36000 had to replace tires, at 41000 had to replace battery. That's a little soon to me for a $42000 vehicle.I've owned the car 2yrs 6months. Other than that,the car is great, rides and handles and has plenty of power. Other than the cost,it's a heck of a great car."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Almost excellent

By on Thursday, January 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, mechanical quality, spacious & roomy"

Cons: "Headlight problems, radio reception, door locks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great car for my family - one 6'5", one 6'7", one 5'9" and one 5'5". Roomy, comfortable even with tall people in front and back. Excellent mileage (29-31 mpg overall), no mechanical problems and interior has held up well. Gentle on tires (running same Michelin tires as original) and only on 3rd set. Rotors tend to warp easily and electronics have been disappointing, but the Nav system works well. All 4 electronic door locks failed within a month of each other, radio reception poor (no external antenna) and known headlight problem Toyota refuses to recall. (High beam bulbs explode if used for more than a limited time.)"

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Love everything about it

By on Thursday, December 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"only problem minor oil leak but never had to add oil between changes"

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

A Lexus but cost less!

By on Saturday, December 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,450

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everything about this car is amazing! We love it. We had a 2002 Avalon and drove it until it had 196,000 miles. We loved it too and wanted to get another newer model. We test drove the new 2015 XLE but didn't like it as much as the 2002 XLE. The 2015 is smaller and felt cramped compared to the 2002. The ride was much stiffer and I could feel every road bump through the steering wheel. Don't get me wrong, it's still a great car, but it just wasn't the same. We then noticed a used 2012 Limited that was very well maintained. We test drove it and fell in love with it. The 2012 is the same size as the 2002 but rides and handles a bit better than the 2002. The 2012 also gets great mileage. On trips so far we average 30 to 31 MPG and it's rated at 28 Highway. We highly recommend this vechicle to anyone. Oh, by the way if you haven't guessed, we purchased the 2012 Avalon Limited. We will keep it until it gets 196,000 miles too!"

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

super vehicle

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "mostly all positives"

Cons: "needs more road feel in steering,but this is minor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car on all levels.too bad Toyota ruined Avalon In 2013. Car is now smaller,and looks like a poor copy of a Camry.Avalon should be changed to either Camalon,or Avray in name."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Super nice very comfortable car, great gas mileage

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value"

Cons: "The interior is very nice and lacks nothing."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have enjoyed this trouble free luxury riding & driving vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Mint condition

By on Sunday, November 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Excellent condition"

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellent conditionalso equipped with remote start

By on Monday, November 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent condition. Is also equipped with remote start"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Drove Cadillac forforty years. I really enjoy this

By on Monday, November 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fair price, good value for a car"

Cons: "Hoped it would hold value better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really enjoy driving this car. I had to replace the battery, but that is expected when you live in Florida. Very reliable and comfortable."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Marvelous vehicle

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "For traveling this car is hard to beat."

Cons: "Wish it had electric retractable side mirrors."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"What an elegant operating and riding car! Stylish, yet conservative. Incredible amount of room inside and be rear leg room in rear I have ever seen. New Avalons are shorter and take away space at rear seat. The reclining rear seats and heated front seats are awesome. Fuel mileage is terrific for a large car. (over 30 mpg on highway) Sound system is super."

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle/w ride & comfort and no repairs

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "always check prices ahead before trying to negotiating"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"recommend this vehicle to anyone and everyone you just can't go wrong."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals