Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2012 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 527 Ratings for the 2005 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

only neg. is the Navigation system

By on Tuesday, February 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "lots of interior room and great hwy gas mi."

Cons: "poor controls for navigation system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the 2nd Avalon I've owned. Kept both for 8 years ea. Love the interior seating room and the large trunk space. The ride is very smooth and quiet. Would buy another but the 2014 redesign seems to have had a negative effect on the smooth quiet ride. Very sad to see so many negative consumer reviews."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My Best Vehicle Ever In Comfort

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent price, comfortable and fun to drive."

Cons: "Find no cons at all."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was my first Avalon Toyota and drove seven other cars. This by far has been my favorite for comfort, wonderful for long trips, love the styling both inside and out of the car. Passengers have loved riding in the car for the comfort the car provides."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever had so far

By on Thursday, February 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Largest rear seat of any sedan."

Cons: "None, really."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought new 9.5 years ago. 130,000 miles. Only tires, brakes, and oil changes - no repairs. One current issue - navigation switch stopped working, and just the switch is $1000 to replace."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

agreat car

By on Friday, January 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "most miles on this car is road miles"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought this car new. It has been maticulasly maintained,has new tires /80,000ile warranthy-michelones, car is in show room condition"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

very nice ride comfortable

By on Friday, January 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "all the bells and whistles.fun to drive."

Cons: "high cost, tire wear."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"purchased car 7/17/2012. At 36000 had to replace tires, at 41000 had to replace battery. That's a little soon to me for a $42000 vehicle.I've owned the car 2yrs 6months. Other than that,the car is great, rides and handles and has plenty of power. Other than the cost,it's a heck of a great car."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Almost excellent

By on Thursday, January 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, mechanical quality, spacious & roomy"

Cons: "Headlight problems, radio reception, door locks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great car for my family - one 6'5", one 6'7", one 5'9" and one 5'5". Roomy, comfortable even with tall people in front and back. Excellent mileage (29-31 mpg overall), no mechanical problems and interior has held up well. Gentle on tires (running same Michelin tires as original) and only on 3rd set. Rotors tend to warp easily and electronics have been disappointing, but the Nav system works well. All 4 electronic door locks failed within a month of each other, radio reception poor (no external antenna) and known headlight problem Toyota refuses to recall. (High beam bulbs explode if used for more than a limited time.)"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Love everything about it

By on Thursday, December 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"only problem minor oil leak but never had to add oil between changes"

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

A Lexus but cost less!

By on Saturday, December 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,450

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everything about this car is amazing! We love it. We had a 2002 Avalon and drove it until it had 196,000 miles. We loved it too and wanted to get another newer model. We test drove the new 2015 XLE but didn't like it as much as the 2002 XLE. The 2015 is smaller and felt cramped compared to the 2002. The ride was much stiffer and I could feel every road bump through the steering wheel. Don't get me wrong, it's still a great car, but it just wasn't the same. We then noticed a used 2012 Limited that was very well maintained. We test drove it and fell in love with it. The 2012 is the same size as the 2002 but rides and handles a bit better than the 2002. The 2012 also gets great mileage. On trips so far we average 30 to 31 MPG and it's rated at 28 Highway. We highly recommend this vechicle to anyone. Oh, by the way if you haven't guessed, we purchased the 2012 Avalon Limited. We will keep it until it gets 196,000 miles too!"

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

super vehicle

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "mostly all positives"

Cons: "needs more road feel in steering,but this is minor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car on all levels.too bad Toyota ruined Avalon In 2013. Car is now smaller,and looks like a poor copy of a Camry.Avalon should be changed to either Camalon,or Avray in name."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Super nice very comfortable car, great gas mileage

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value"

Cons: "The interior is very nice and lacks nothing."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have enjoyed this trouble free luxury riding & driving vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Mint condition

By on Sunday, November 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Excellent condition"

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellent conditionalso equipped with remote start

By on Monday, November 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent condition. Is also equipped with remote start"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Drove Cadillac forforty years. I really enjoy this

By on Monday, November 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fair price, good value for a car"

Cons: "Hoped it would hold value better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really enjoy driving this car. I had to replace the battery, but that is expected when you live in Florida. Very reliable and comfortable."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Marvelous vehicle

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "For traveling this car is hard to beat."

Cons: "Wish it had electric retractable side mirrors."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"What an elegant operating and riding car! Stylish, yet conservative. Incredible amount of room inside and be rear leg room in rear I have ever seen. New Avalons are shorter and take away space at rear seat. The reclining rear seats and heated front seats are awesome. Fuel mileage is terrific for a large car. (over 30 mpg on highway) Sound system is super."

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle/w ride & comfort and no repairs

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "always check prices ahead before trying to negotiating"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"recommend this vehicle to anyone and everyone you just can't go wrong."

Close to Perfect.

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lovely car to own and drive."

Cons: "Bring back ambient lighting."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my second Avalon. Toyota is very near creating the perfect luxury sedan at an affordable price. Interior ambient lighting should be brought back. Some electronic link issues with Bluetooth need to be perfected. Automatic wiper function is less then perfect. When fully loaded with luggage and guests, it is not a very good ride Other than these small details it is a very enjoyable and lovely car to drive and own."

14 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Great car and great value

By on Wednesday, October 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Still looks like new!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Same car as a Lexus only $20K cheaper! Very satisfied!People can't believe it is a 2006, looks like new."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Six years and still happy.

By on Monday, October 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Economical, comfortable and reliable"

Cons: "Highway road noise, lack of "sportiness""

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased this car brand new six years ago and it has served me well. Although not quite as sporty looking as the Lexus ES, it is the same car without the insulation....and the price tag. I got the Limited package and everything has worked flawlessly through the years. The only maintenance I have done is the obvious, service the fluids regularly and buy tires. After 82K, I've not even had to have a brake job....though it will come soon. Without getting into the minutiae, the Avalon has adequate power and gets great gas mileage. (29 mpg on long trips) It is not as quiet as it's Lexus counterpart, due to less insulation, but the ride is still comfortable. I gave it a six for driving dynamics because it drives...like you would expect a front wheel non-performance sedan to drive, sluggish when cornering and light on the back end and a noticeable lag when punching the accelerator to the floor. My grown son told me when I bought it, "It's a nice car but it ain't very sexy!" It all depends on what your looking for. I found comfort and reliability in an economical package."

9 people out of 14 found this review helpful

A joy to drive, great preformance.

By on Thursday, October 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2007 Toyota - Avalon A real joy ride!

"Beautiful ride inside and out. Great accelerations with a smooth ride. Lots of room in car and truck. Great gas mileage."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

2007 Toyota - Avalon A real joy ride!

Best car we have ever owned!

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,265

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great mileage, comfortable ride, great leg room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Single owner. Complete maintenance records. Voice activated Nav system, 6 CD in-dash w/AM/FM radio. Tires and brakes rated in the Green at last (July) inspection. Tried to upload photo; but after downsizing it three times, the system still would not take it. Sorry!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Simply one of the best cars I've owned.

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, comfortable seats, good acceleration, mpg."

Cons: "Can't think of any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a large, comfortable car that drives and handles well. The Avalon has great roominess and superior comfortable seats. The premium sound is like sitting in a concert hall, and road noise is a bare minimum. In-town gas mileage is so-so at 17-18, but on the road it is exceptional -- With steady driving, I average anywhere from 28 to 32. I've actually discovered trip mileage is better traveling 80 mph than 65 -- go figure."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

good and reliable

By on Wednesday, October 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "extremely reliable"

Cons: "not enough seat belt adjustments for small people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good, functional, reliable, physically attractive"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

One owner,dealer serviced,excellent car, 29-31MPG

By on Wednesday, October 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable & spacious for long trips. Beautiful!"

Cons: "Scratch on rear bumper."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car, it is beautiful silver metallic, with two toned grey and burl wood interior. It has a scratch on the rear passenger bumper area, very fixable. The mileage is 72,000 and year is 2007 Avalon LXS. It has 4 new tires with service warranty and 2 more 5,000 mile service warranties with Toyota. The car was just serviced and front realignment done. It has never been in a major accident and all information on the car is available from the dealership where purchased. Back seats tilt and interior is perfect. I have 3 cars and am downsizing. My other cars are Toyota's and it will be a win win if I get a good value for my car and in turn someone else purchasing it gets the same."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Wonderful car !

By on Friday, September 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable to drive,"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Avalon XLS is a very comfortable car to drive. The rear seating area is very spacious The trunk area is large"

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Love my old car

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car at one year of age with 7200 miles on it. Has exceeded my expectations. Makes a great trip car, is very comfortable and gets good gas mileage. Change the oil and rotate the tires! Highly recommend. (Have not had to replace a headlamp!)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals