Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2008 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 535 Ratings for the 2005 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 19 20 21 22 | Next

Avalon

By on Monday, March 24, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great car...32 mpg on the highway!"

Better than my Benz

By on Monday, March 24, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Cons: The radio display is truncated "for safety" which is something you don't have to put up with in most cheap cars. The Nav system is terrible. Buy a portable. Pros: This car has the best ride of any car I have owned or ridden in. That includes my Mercedes. It is quiet (esp. the Limited which I own). It gets better gas mileage than most economy cars. I average about 28 mpg on my commute and get over 30 on long highway trips. With heated and air conditioned seats, beautiful leather and wood trim the interior is of the highest quality and provides excellent room and comfort for people of all sizes (and with the range of folks in my family I mean that literally!) I do not believe you can buy a better luxury car for the money. And for those of you in whom the teenage hot-rodder still occasionally springs to life, there is a wonderful response when you tromp on the throttle. The best car I have ever owned."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best luxury vehicle for the money

By on Sunday, March 16, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"2006 Avalon Limited - I consider this a BEST value by far. Rear seat room is plentiful, even with front seat fullly back. Acceleration is excellent. If you want luxury but have limited resources, this is the car to buy."

2007 Limited

By on Friday, March 14, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 2007 Limited after months of research. After having a most pleasant experience with my 98 Continental (285,000 miles), I wanted to re-create the experience. The Avalon was the only front wheel drive, strong engined, with good mileage and comfy back seat new auto I could find under $40,000. I take long trips and I am happy with the gas mileage, getting over 30 mpg on a 1000 mile trip this week, driving up to 85 mph. I definitely bought the right car. Here is what I would like to see them improve: 1) Transmission pauses between first and second from time to time on corners and similar let-up situations -- they went to a six speed in 2008. 2) Passenger seat lacked enough controls for their comfort -- also changed in 2008. 4) Driver's area is too tight side-to-side. 5) Controls are laid out for appearance, not functionality and ease of use. 6) Cheap knobs for heated seats, odometer and computer information. 7) No multi-use functions for fuel mileage (I was spoiled by the Continental.) 8) Extreeeemly thin sheet metal. Look at it, and it dents! Thankfully, I have a friend in the dent repair business! 9) Driver's seat is uncomfortable on long trips -- tailbone pain. 10) Cruise control works great on more level highways, a real pain on the hills of Missouri. 11) Looks short. Again, they added a few inches in trunk sheet metal in 2008 to address that problem. 12) Although very smooth front-to-rear, and rail-like in handling for a larger car -- it has a definite side-to-side bouncing I did not have in the wider-stanced Continental. I had problems with the sunroof, vacuum noises in the right doors, servo control noises in the dash, and an alignment issue present themselves after 10,000 miles. Toyota dealership was GREAT, and covered all problems. Do I love this car? Ask me after another 250,000 miles."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice Ride

By on Friday, February 29, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have an XLS with just 3500 miles on it great car wish this model had the leg extension and slightly wider seat area,other than that it's great good fuel economy running around 31.5-32.3 depending on speed mostly highway driving,love this car."

By on Friday, February 22, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Avg. 28 mpg Luxury

By on Thursday, February 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"40 K miles, 2005 Oil Changes every 4K miles, tires rotated & balanced every 8K miles. NO problems, NO dealership visits. I will purchase another Toyota Avalon."

great car

By on Wednesday, February 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Had four avalons and had no trouble with any of them!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Quite A Pleasant Surprise!

By on Tuesday, February 05, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"A smooth, powerful, and responsive ride! Imagine my surprise at consistently getting 30MPG on the freeways! Besides all this...it's extremely roomy and comfortable! Excellent value for the money!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Friday, February 01, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

a Lexus in Toyota clothes

By on Saturday, January 26, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"('05 Limited w/ all options, bought 8/05) A wonderful vehicle with more bells and whistles than expected for the price. Gets far better mpg (often >32 mpg hwy) than one would expect from such a large and powerful car. Long wheelbase yields much interior space and very comfortable ride. Controls work in typical silky smooth Toyota fashion. Extensive safety features are standard. Has been a wonderful companion for multiple long road trips to South, Mid-Atlantic, and New England areas. No reliability issues in 43K miles so far through three northern winters. Seems like this car is Toyota's sometimes overlooked high value jewel at a relative bargain price. Would buy this car again in a flash. Selling dealership always provides free service loaner vehicle if requested when making appointment. We love this car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

By on Friday, January 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"solid and smart loking"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Toyota's Flagship Vehicle

By on Monday, January 07, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My best vehicle yet! Prefer the styling & handling of the 2006 model over my previous 2003 Avalon."

Avalon

By on Friday, January 04, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Best car i have owned. Much better than the three new Lincoln Towncars I've owned!"

By on Wednesday, January 02, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

ROOMY,NOT BAD

By on Wednesday, January 02, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"HAS SOME ENGINE NOISE WHEN YOU FIRST START UNTIL WARMS UP."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very Good Ride

By on Sunday, December 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is a good ride at 30 mpg. It has good performance , almosts over power for the tires that come on it. I would by another . This one is a 2007 Toyota Avalon"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, December 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Total Security

By on Wednesday, December 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased this vehicle for myself to travel for work. I was able to hold on to it for about 6 months until my wife finally took over the vehicle. Performance, reliability and handling are excellent...."

Sorry Transmission

By on Sunday, December 23, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"The good: Wonderful gas mileage, lots of room, great finish inside and outside. The bad: Ride is too soft and the nav. system is not user friendly-cannot be programed when car is in motion, even by a front seat passenger. The egly: Bought this car new and the transmission went out at 600 miles and it took three weeks to replace and repair. This car still does not shift properly; hunts for a gear as low speeds. With this problem I cannot recommend to anyone that they purchase this car and go through what we experienced and the trans. still performs less than satisfactorly after 18,000 miles"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, December 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

What a car

By on Saturday, December 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My last three cars were Cadillacs so I was a little apprehensive about giving up the Cadillac ride and the power of the NorthStar. Not to worry. I bought the '06 Touring Sedan since I like to "drive" a car. Gas mileage on long trips is generally above 29 driving 75+. Handling is great, you almost can't put it into a skid with the traction control. You want speed? This baby will do 135 MPH and do it quick. I've had it 14 months and have 42,000 miles on it. My only problem is the hose has fallen off of the windshield washer bottle twice. This time Toyota put a clamp on it. Take your loan officer with you when you replace the 17" V Speed Rated tires. Goodyear has about the only real option with an H rated tire that gets 80,000 miles. Shame on Michelen. I love this car, love to drive it and will definitely buy another if this one wears out, which I doubt."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, December 17, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Just Awesome

By on Sunday, December 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I owned a 2004 Avalon, when the 2005 came out with the new design I just had to have one. The cabin area shouts comfort, the premium sound system with Nav is great for the long trips. My gas milage is 42 MPG highway and 28 city. The 280hp engine offers more than needed get up and go. Just love it."

By on Friday, December 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 19 20 21 22 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals