Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2006 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 492 Ratings for the 2005 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 20 | Next

Love the car!

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Excellent car--mileage on long trip--32 MPG Comfortable-smooth driving."

Love this car. Couldn't ask for more.

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, comfertable for long distances."

Cons: "Only draw back, leak from timming chain cover."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this Car. Only draw back, leak from timming chain cover was very expensive. Also, battery had to be replaced several times till I put in a "Die Hard". But, over all couldn't ask for a better car. Added IPOD connection to radio, made the car perfect. Ready for the 2015 Avalon."

Beautiful Bliz. Pearl Ext. Tan Leath. Int. Nav.

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great car, all the bells and whistles, pampered"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Beautiful Blizzard Pearl Ext. Tan Leather Interior, Nav.,Sun Roof, Rear Spoiler, 83,000 highway miles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Car I've Ever Owned

By on Friday, July 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Big, roomy, powerful on the freeway at 70mph+"

Cons: "Side mirrors do not fold in."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased this car used with 24,000 miles on it during a weekend "blowout" sale in 2007. Was impressed with the comfort, power, handling, and trunk space. A very luxurious car for the money. The Avalon has the Lexus engine and chassis. Didn't care to pay extra for a Lexus after test driving the Avalon. Aside from routine maintenance -- and the transmission service made a noticeable difference in smoothness -- have had zero problems. I put on Good Year Eagle GT tires and my ride, cornering, and handling smoothed out even more. I have had the car for seven years now and have no plans to replace it. I don't drive much anymore and this car is good for 200,000 miles. When I do buy another car I will buy another Avalon in the new body style and give this car to a family member as it is so safe and reliable. BTW, I paid off this car in 2009. I have been buying stocks every month since with the $450 I was paying for the car payment. My "Avalon portfolio" has been good to me. You can keep an Avalon for a very long time, be happy driving it, and spend the money elsewhere."

Excellent Quality for the price

By on Friday, July 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Steering column adjustment lever was flawed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Avalon has a very powerful V6 that gets 30+ MPG on the road. It's comfortable and we have had no major issues with it. The design of the car requires careful backing because of visibility concerns and there was only one flaw in the interior and that is the lever that drops down under the steering column to allow adjustment of the steering wheel continually dropped down and the dealer was never able to correct it. It's a "granny" car but still stylish and quick."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Always loved Avalon. Will look for another one

By on Friday, July 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drive experience, comfort, safety features"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have always loved the Avalon. It has great features (I call it the "poor man's Lexus"). It has all the features and more than a low end Lexus. The ride is fantastic, and I cant wait to get on the highway with it whenever I get a chance."

Great car. comfortable for long trips

By on Sunday, June 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price and plan to keep for 200,000 miles +"

Cons: "Doesn't have side sunscreens in backseat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is one of the best cars I have ever owned. The ride is smooth and comfortable. The car handles well in traffic and gets very good gas mileage, about 30 mpg on the highway and 24 mpg on average and uses regular gasoline. The trunk has excellent storage space."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best car I have owned (12 cars, inclu Volvo, Honda

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "See above"

Cons: "Slightly "tinny""

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car runs extremely well, no problems to date. Fast 0-60 in 6.2 seconds, great mileage (30), clean lines, fit and finish excellent, great turning radius, steering"

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my Avalon for almost four years. I did alot of research on the car. It has lived up to all my expectations. I find the back seat largest enough for real full size adults. The car is very quick and reliable. I have only had to repair wear items brakes, altenator starter at about 90 ,000 I love this car."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

poorly designed interior, repairs, overpriced

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, accelation"

Cons: "see above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"very poor interior layout, sliding armrest over console awful. no user friendly cupholders, accessory plugs almost inaccessible, brake issues, air conditioner fixd twice alternater replaced and any work on Toyota is more expensive than American brands ford, gm. Typical overhyped toyota product. Example at bottom of this toyota ad says " finest cabin in its class" !"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

avalon comes with full warranty till Nov. 25,2017

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,873

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great car blizzard pearl asking $26,750.00"

Cons: "none i want too buy a 2014 Mini Cooper S"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

parked in drive way too take pic

"vehicle excellent , warranty is transferable too new owner, just had it serviced and complete check of vehicle all green or better loaded."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

parked in drive way too take pic

Wonderful car

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "$8500. My children really enjoy driving it still"

Cons: "Fully loaded; has the XM Commander Satellite Radio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Been driving this Avalon Touring for the entire 9 years. I have had absolutely zero problems with this car. I really hate to sell it but have bought another Avalon. I have service records for entire 9 years. Would recommend it to anyone."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever had, bought it when I retired,

By on Sunday, May 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very inexpensive operations over the years. hate to part with it. It will make someone a great car."

super clean one owner low miles

By on Thursday, May 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "sharp car, fair price, great for any age"

Cons: "moon roof closer to frt. of car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Clean ,sharp car. Very comfortable frt. and rear seats for long rides. New Mich. tires."

Great car- our 3rd Avalon

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best car buy we've had; read review"

Cons: "Beats Me!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"first time we planned to buy another much more expensive car like previously owned. Avalon was roomier, needed for husband's height. All features needed were standard, performance always great. Comforts adjustable for driver & passengers. We subsequently bought 1998, 2001 & 2005 Avalons. Looking now for another new Toyota. ."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

GREAT VALUE, COMFORT AND RELIABILITY!

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"THE ONLY REASON I'M SELLING IS TO DRIVE AN SUV WHICH IS EASIER TO GET IN AND OUT AFTER KNEE SURGERY. THIS IS A FABULOUS CAR."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Top shelf.

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride.Plenty of power & still fuel efficient."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am 52 years old and have owned many makes and models of cars and trucks. The Avalon is by far the most bang for my buck."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever!

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a great car. Good mileage, good acceleration, comfortable and no mechanical defect or problems of any kind. My one complaint would be the lights don't come on with the windshield wipers."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned some great cars but this is the best! Safety is brilliant. Saved my hubby's life in a head-on collision he walked away from. The officer on the scene said "go buy this same car" (it was totaled) and we did. The only thing that we worry about is the rear view because of the wideness of the frame at each end of the rear window. So we look three times and lean."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

One of the best cars I ever owned

By on Thursday, April 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fair price love driving great passanger comfort"

Cons: "can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Comfortable to dive and easy acsess for passangers in front and back seat. Especially comfortable for tall people in the back seat. Excellent room in trunk"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Most enjoyable car ever owned.

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's a Lexus without the Lexus price premium!"

Cons: "Cup holders should have some sort of light."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought the car because my wife liked the full power adjustments on the front seats. I liked the design. Toyota's reputation was also a strong factor."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

non smoker,very clean, well kept, new tires.

By on Monday, April 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "At 65 mph on fairly level highway 35 mpg"

Cons: "no backup camera"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a luxury car that gets a lot of compliments.It always looks nice and very shiny dark gray. If you are particular like I am, you will love this car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent Condition

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Luxury"

Cons: "No Navigation installed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Excellent Condition/Like New/Luxury/Well taken care of..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Incredible vehicle

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,442

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great quality built in all features"

Cons: "pricey but worth it. Drove the last one for 11 yrs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"average mileage = 26 mpg. I can't believe you can have this much luxury and fuel economy."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good car, but not great

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I don't own this car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Quiet, quick, gas mileage, spacious, visibility"

Cons: "Wind noise, handling, seat design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"First of all I DO own this car. For some reason I wasn't able to post using the "I own this car" icon. Anyway, when shopping for a newer car my wife and I wanted a spacious, comfortable, reliable, full size luxury type car to replace my wife's aging 2001 Continental. We looked at all cars that met this criteria including the Genesis, Buick LaCrosse and used Lucernes, Lincoln MKZ and MKS, Audi A6, and some others. We eliminated the Audi due to cost but that was my favorite. The Lincolns are nice cars but outward visibility was lacking and this feature was most important to my wife. (The rear-view cameras are a nice feature but I don't think as reliable as actually seeing out the rear window.) The LaCrosse had the poorest outward vision of them all. I felt like I was in a cave. The Lucerne's were very old school inside even though they met all other criteria. I liked the Genesis but was a bit concerned about the reliability and Hyundai service down the road. I was hesitant to buy a Toyota since there are so many and I would have preferred a less common vehicle. After driving the Avalon (2011 Limited silver on gray) it was obvious that this car met every single criteria we had. It's the most spacious car of any we looked at and probably all that we didn't. It rides like on a cloud. It does everything flawlessly. The NAV and Bluetooth took some getting used to but after reading the manuals they become very intuitive and easy and effective to use. We both like the gray leather interior materials especially on the Limited which has heated and cooled seats, a wood trimmed steering wheel and some other upscale touches that give the car a very pleasant feel inside. And we're hoping that Toyota's famous reliability isn't a thing of myth and legend but the real deal. Here's where I'm not as overwhelmed with this car as so many reviewers are. The compliant ride is at the cost of sharper handling. Many cars today give both the ride and handling that should be expected in a modern car. The Audi is the perfect example of this. Pity it costs so much more. The seats are flat and offer absolutely no lateral support whatsoever. However I do like the depth of the seat bottom because it offers really good thigh support. Also the Limited model has an inflatable thigh cushion built in that adds extra comfort. However, the seat cushion isn't very thick and after a while you can feel the bottom of the seat cushion. Not a luxury feel at all. Zero complaints about the rear seating and comfort. I'm sure it matches or surpasses even a Rolls Royce. I'm disappointed in the amount of wind noise on the highway. More than the 13 year old car we traded in. All in all the Avalon is probably exactly what Toyota had in mind. A comfortable and reliable cruiser for people that aren't too concerned with lateral Gs or not sliding around in their seat when executing a sharp turn. My wife loves it. Me,...I'm not so thrilled. I expected more. If it's as reliable as it's advocates say it is, I'll be pleased with the purchase. But not thrilled."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 20 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals