Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2005 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 503 Ratings for the 2005 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 19 20 21 | Next

makes me smile

By on Thursday, November 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"performance is excellent, handles great, the touring models stiffer suspension makes it a delight to drive. Interior is roomy, quiet. instrument display is clear. This car is worth a heap of superlatives!"

By on Thursday, November 15, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Love except for two things.

By on Thursday, November 15, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love the car in most every way except: In town gas mileage is really low averaging 16.5 for me. THat's way off the 21 average on the EPA sticker. That has been disappointing. Also the steering feels too loose or sensitive. I wish Toyota would "tighten it up a bit." Other than that, I love the car."

my best purchase

By on Sunday, October 28, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"its great in every way possible. my favorite part is the gas mileage... they list it at 30 mpg but it really gets about 35 - 40, its all about the driver. it stays clean and is comfortable to drive and be a passenger. its a smooth ride and feel safe in it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Awesome!

By on Friday, October 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I LOVE this car. I bought the loaded Limited and sure glad I did, saved the cost of a Lexus and have more room. Went from a Crown Vic to this and there is no comparison. My passengers love the roomy back seat - much more foot room than Lexus. I use the nav system and love my moonroof. Even with street/freeway driving I get 26 mpg. Great combination of good handling and smooth ride, and quiet too. I just can't say enough good things about it. So forget the Lexus and get an Avalon."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great value luxury car

By on Wednesday, October 17, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"Lexus quality without the price. Possibly overlooked by most since tends to be driven by older people."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

GREAT CAR

By on Friday, October 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had this car for just about two years, and it is THE BEST car I've ever owned-bar none! I do quite a bit of freeway driving, and am still getting 31 to 32 mpg gas mileage while driving in cruise at 70 with the air conditioner on. And that's after 33,000 miles! The comfortable leather seats are wonderful, and there just isn't a single complaint I've got about this wonderful automobile!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Wednesday, October 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I went to the dealer to buy a Camry, but they didn't have exactly what I wanted. They did, however, have a few Avalons to look at. We got in one, test-drove it, and fell in love. What an awesome car! I'm so glad they didn't have the Camry I was looking for (I love Camrys, though)."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, October 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Lexus wout the big pricetag

By on Monday, October 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought nothing but domestic models for years, I don't know if they'll ever get me back now!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I'm hooked

By on Wednesday, October 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I doubt I will ever buy anything but a Toyota for the rest of my life. I have owned quite a few, and many different models. The Avalon is just the perfect car. I can get in it and go anywhere without worrying if I'll get there, the gas mileage is good for this size car, it's very roomy, it looks classy, it has great pickup, it rides like a cloud, it'll last probably over 300,000 miles. It's just made sooo well you can feel it when you drive."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Disapointed in nav & interior look

By on Wednesday, October 03, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

"Have a 2005 avalon limited with nav. The nav system is NOT touch screen so it is extremely difficult to use and you cannot program while driving which makes it useless on long trips. Every other make, ie. Honda, Ford, BMW ect. are touch and programmable while driving. No outside temperature, radio station & other info without changing display and losing your nav screen. I do not like the aluminum console mixed with the wood finish and the wood is too light with tan leather. Saying all that, it still is the best value out there as far as reliability, cabin room & features. Very comparable with Lexus LS 430 without the styling and attention to detail."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love this car...but

By on Tuesday, October 02, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love this car, all the extras like sensor cruise control, automatic rear window shade, extra room in back with seats that tilt and flat floor board and wonderful get-up-and-go power! But the 2005 model, the first year for the new style, should be avoided. Some kinks should've been worked out like reving transmission in first gear while going uphill. Of course the dealership doesn't admit it happens to them when they drive it. This happened in the first week of buying it! And the salesman said it came with remote start and shut off but it didn't. All in all, I'd buy it again and again, just not the first year model of 2005."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

LOVE LOVE LOVE!

By on Friday, September 28, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had my 06 Avalon for 2 years now and I would not trade it for anything. It rides great and looks great. Gas mileage is awesome! If you buy one you will not regret it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Friday, September 28, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

totaled

By on Wednesday, September 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"excellent car, refined, quiet, smooth. i just had mine totaled in a collision with an f250. even the firefighters were impressed by the impact resistance and safety built into this car. the side airbags deployed and we both walked away. thats no guarantee on the next accident, but i'm going to buy another avalon."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Large comfortable Interior

By on Saturday, September 22, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Excellent MPG, 20 to 22 in stop and go traffic. 29 to 30 on the highway at 75 mph. Rear seating is excellent with leg room and hip room for even 6'-4" adults. The ride is very smooth and very, very, quiet. Come on USA, didn't you guys use to make most cars this way?"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, September 20, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Car for America

By on Sunday, September 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Big inside with more rear seat room than my old BMW 740il, terrific mpg's, in the 30s, unbelievable turning radius, and quick and fast! Down side....seats aren't great and paint is delicate, but you have to work hard to find fault. Last hold out after LOTS of European cars, and, while not very sexy, MUCH better in all other areas."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, September 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love my 2006 Avalon. Its so comfortable and has lots of leg room in the front and rear seat. Mega power. The car will fly. I love it"

By on Tuesday, September 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Just bought the 2007 Avalon Touring and I just love it! This is an exceptional car with all the luxuries you can imagine for a lesser price. My 17 year old son turned down our offer for a new truck or car for my 1998 Avalon XLS. He loves to drive this car due to handling, gas mileage and visibility."

I would buy a third one

By on Thursday, September 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I previously owned a 2002 and returned for the 2007. I just love this car."

Better than my previous BMW!

By on Thursday, September 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've driven an Avalon Limited for over a year and LOVE it. I replaced a BMW 5 series with the Avalon, to have more leg room and seating capacity, and got more features and value than I expected. The car rides so quietly and smoothly, and drives like the Beemer around curves, etc. Features that are unusual, which I really like: puddle lights that automatically come on as you approach the car, so you can see what's around the door; the privacy screen/shade in the rear window that goes up or down with the push of a button; flat rear floorboard; the automatic unlocking feature, automatically-triggered wipers and headlights and seat... the list goes on and on. Best value for the money I have ever had. Reliable, sturdy. Even seems to not get paint chips like other cars I have had. But don't spring for the navigation system... get a handheld one instead (more versatile, better response, can move from vehicle to vehicle, less expensive). I special ordered a cassette player instead so I can still use my old tapes and books on tape."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, September 05, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

excellent car

By on Monday, September 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"love the adaptive cruise control, but it should be smoother. power steering has little road feel and must be adjusted continually to stay in lane. otherwise outstanding and extremely comfortable auto. bought limited with everything except navigation. no problems in 24000 miles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 19 20 21 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals