Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2004 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 395 Ratings for the 2000 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 79 | Next

Better than a Lexus ES3xx

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Value, engine, transmission, comfort, mpg"

Cons: "paint susceptible to rock chips like a Lexus"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have once owned or have in possession of 2 Lexus RX's,an HS and ES and the ride of the Avalon is so much more comfortable. Here the Avalon's 65mm profile tires is at least part of the reason for this. Manufacturer's recent use of low profile tire's hurts your ride quality and suspension longevity too much. Quality of workmanship and materials inside the cabin is also probably just a hair lower than the Lexus LS and at least on par or better than the rest of the line. The 3 liter V-6 is plenty strong for me and the trans shifts smoothly. Getting better mpg and a price tag only half as much that of a '04 LS430 makes the Avalon a great buy. The only qualm I have is that a Lexus Nakamichi or Mark Levinson stereo system are a notch better than the Toyota JBL ones. Had thought of getting a LS but the price for oem parts are nothing to sneeze at."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My 7th (pre-2002) Toyota. Best Yet!!

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 347,744

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "solid, dependable, spacious, Can still get parts"

Cons: "not nimble, getting hard to find a good used one"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own this car. Bought new in Nov 1999 (after driving '84 and '85 Toyota Cressidas for 300K-plus each). Avalon has LOTS of Hwy Miles. Synthetic oil and better-to-best oil filters since day-1. Burns 1/2 qt oil between 6K oil/filter changes. On 3rd set of timing chains/water pump swap. I liked it so much, I bought a (gently) used 2001 Avalon (now has 188K miles, with same results, but only an oil leak, not burning). Sure they still made them like these elegant/roomy cars."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Comfortable, dependable, many more miles expected.

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price, most comfortable to drive."

Cons: "Mirror needs replacement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car has been well maintained. Paint has lots of chips. Right rear view mirror casing is damaged. Headlight lens are not as clear as used to be. This car is a joy to drive and am selling because we no longer can afford two cars as we are retired. Our other car is 10 years newer and we choose to keep it although I still prefer to drive the Avalon as does the rest of my family. It gets 28 to 32 highway miles to the gallon. Heated seats and memory seat for the driver are especially nice. Will be hard to part with but we need the money on our medical expenses."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

So comfortable and responsive

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Fading lights on dashboard displays"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So many small design features that make it a treat to drive. Glare reducing windows, rear view mirror that adjusts to exterior light/dark. Wonderful heated seats that adjust for total comfort. Quiet engine and cushioned ride. I love this car. One hate - hard to locate and unresponsive gas flap lever."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I want to drive this car until I die.

By on Sunday, April 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, low, low maintenance"

Cons: "I don't have two of them."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best riding, most problem free car I have ever owned. I have 213,000 miles on it and plan to pass it on to my son next year. Amazing car!!!!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 79 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals