Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2004 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 413 Ratings for the 2000 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next

Replacement car will be a newer Toyota Avalon.

By on Friday, December 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great handling, good value, high reliability."

Cons: "Exterior styling is lackluster."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my first Toyota Avalon. Bought the 2004 Avalon new in Oct ’03. My wife picked this car over any other car, mainly for its roomy back seat and comfortable ride. I have come to like this car for its overall economy in MPG, maintenance and great ride. In 93,000 miles we have replaced the tires, brakes, fan belts, one oxygen sensor and one battery. It’s not a head turner, nor a tire burner, but it has been a very good value. This car has excellent handling. One time I had to make an emergency maneuver to avoid a head-on crash at 40 m/h, this car did not even start to roll. When I need to replace this car, it will be with a newer Toyota Avalon. In summary: the items I like are great quality, low cost, comfortable ride, and good looking interior. The items I don’t like are the plain looking exterior styling and slight lack of power. It seems that both of these issues have improved in newer models."

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great communte and family car.

By on Tuesday, November 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Interior fit and finish. Easy to drive."

Cons: "Fuel/Air Ratio sensor problems."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"No car can match the interior spaciousness of this car compared to exterior size. Drives confident and smooth. All controls and gauges laid out well. Great highway cruising gas mileage. Very cheap to maintain. Quality interior fit and finish. I have had an ongoing issue with the heated fuel/air ratio sensors which causes C.E.L illumination. This does not cause any drivability issues, but is an annoyance."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

BEST RIDING CAR I EVER HAD

By on Sunday, November 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT QUALITY, RELIABLE, VERY NICE RIDE"

Cons: "EXPENSIVE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"HANDLES WELL, RIDES LIKE A MUCH BIGGER CAR, SO SMOOTH, COMFORTABLE. VERY RELIABLE, VERY WELL MADE CAR. LOTS OF ROOM IN FRONT AND BACK SEAT. GOTTA LOVE THIS CAR"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very reliable. I may keep it till 300,000.

By on Friday, November 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 234,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent acceleration and comfortable ride."

Cons: "Not sexy. No mp3 connection."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Car noise louder than I expected. Seats are very comfortable for my long commute. Driving position provides good views on all sides. Excessive hydroplaning in rain and snow."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

It runs great...

By on Thursday, October 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth, Comfortable, Reliable"

Cons: "Nothing which I can think of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I want to buy a new car but my 2000 Avalon XL is not giving me any chance to dump her.. :) she is awesome, runs great, super comfortable, great handling, extra smooth.. simply superb.. Thanks Toyota for making such a nice machine"

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Excellent car!

By on Monday, August 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own this car for about 6 years. Put more than 100000 miles on it, now it has 207000 total mileage. Had only minor problems. Very reliable."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Love this car...want to drive it forever

By on Monday, August 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfy, easy to handle, smooth"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car looks nearly new in spite of having nearly 140,000 miles of service. The exterior is great, the interior continues to clean up nicely and feels great to sit in and to drive. It's quiet, easy to handle and fits like a glove. Can I buy a new 2004 Avalon XLS?"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

best car I have ever owned

By on Friday, August 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really like this car. It drives great and it rides like a new car."

Horrible car

By on Tuesday, August 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 700,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I just purchased this car with only 70K mile from a dealer and 1 hour later the break system is down. Terrible!"

3 people out of 25 found this review helpful

I love my Avalon

By on Saturday, July 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quiet, smooth riding, great pick-up"

Cons: "No GPS or back-up view"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really love my Avalon. I've had it for 10 years. I would have bought a new car a few years back, except there's nothing wrong with this car. My Avalon is very quiet. It has a lot of leg room in the back seat, which was a priority. It has lots of power when I need it; not slugish at all. It just glides along very smoothly."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best first car i've ever had

By on Saturday, July 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "easy to drive, Comfy!!! great handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"for my first car and I couldn't be happier. I even traded up for an Audi. I ended up putting it in the garage and riding around in the Avalon all the time. Love this car. Best thing ever! I still don't drive the Audi."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

excellant gas milage,heated seats,body excel

By on Saturday, June 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 194,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable,easy steer"

Cons: "lower entry"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"sun roof tilt,good tires,lg trunk,quiet"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned and I've owned 12

By on Tuesday, May 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Outstanding reliability, very comfortable"

Cons: "Could use some more horsepower"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned the car for 10 years. It has had only one repair--a leak in an air hose."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Happy with choice. Will stick with Toyota.

By on Tuesday, May 21, 2013

I owned and sold this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable. Avalon is a great car."

Cons: "Brakes could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great quality. Company is very reliable. Could have better bakes. Had to replace rotor and calibers twice. But park it outside, in all fairness"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned.

By on Monday, May 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable, smooth ride, everything works"

Cons: "NONE, except price."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is one of those cars that hurts when you buy it, but pay on it for the long haul, and then drive it until the wheels literally fall off. If you give it regular maintenance, you'll get 250,000 to 300,000 miles out of it. I've had it since 2005 and it's NEVER given me any problem in any way. This car is 10 years old and I wasn't even considering buying another car, the inside is still perfect and we just get the outside dings and dents touched up when needed."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

see below

By on Wednesday, May 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new in 2000. It has been an excellent choice. Service has been wonderful. I get asked if I have a new car. Comfort on trips are the best. The leather is in great shape. I have been so pleased with how the paint has held up so well. It still drives like a new car. I am always proud of my Avalon! I would buy another one!!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love my Avalon, very little repairs needed..

By on Tuesday, May 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Never has let me down; held its value for 10 years"

Cons: "Price off the show room floor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Would like to get another Avalon, but price has just gone out of site. I have only replaced the front struts and starter points. I am the second owner and have driven nearly 100,000 miles with regular oil changes every 3000 miles. Always thought the steering was a little stiff. This was my lst front wheel drive car."

All records on care of the car.

By on Saturday, March 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It is ready for a long trip."

Cons: "Ten years old."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new for my daughter. It had hail damage and back pumper damage. This resulted in new paint. New tires in last Sept. Inside the car looks new."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Amazing car..

By on Monday, March 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "stone cold reliable"

Cons: "nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Its a shame Toyota don't make cars like this anymore. Its a stretched Campy and same as a Highlander from the same time. I get my Dads 04 bench seat XLS version he bought new and kept in the garage since new. Just had the timing belt done on it and went over the whole car at the time, Perfect. Wears like iron and is reliable, comfortable and really fuel efficient. The 3.0 motor is legendary as is the trans. Truly the best car you can buy for many reasons. We gave it to our Son as his first cart and he loves it.."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Old Reliable

By on Thursday, February 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you read any of the other reviews you'll see that this is by far one of the most reliable cars ever built. My parents bought this can in 2002 and I've had the luxury of driving it during my college years. It runs smooth, gets great gas mileage, roomy, excellent handling, and is just overall a great vehicle. Leather starts to wear but that's common among vehicles. Beauty fades that fact. But as far as the internal mechanics of the car we've only had to replace the oil and the brake pads since we got it in 2002. 10/10 in my book and I would recommend this vehicle to anyone."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Runs like new

By on Saturday, February 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great engine, runs smooth and picks up speed easy"

Cons: "bad shocks and paint chips easy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've bought this car in 2003, the only things i have done is oil change, new tires and brakes, however, i have never have had problems with the engine or transmission. I highly recommend buying a toyota. Best car ever and it has 98,000 miles and the engine picks up speed as if its NEW. This car is still going strong, runs better than alot of those new cars coming out. The 2 problems the car has is that the paint chips fairly easy, and the shocks are not that great. I had to replace them because i thought something was wrong with them, however, replacing them made no difference."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best car We have ever owned!

By on Sunday, February 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car We have ever owned!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My 2000 XLS - Wow, what an incredible car!!!

By on Saturday, January 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, great handling, great gas mileage!"

Cons: "The hood and trunk are of VERY thin metal!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Leaving the dealership with my Avalon!!

"I first rode in a Toyota Avalon back in 2001, and just fell in love with the car. 11 years later I finally bought a 2000, and still love it!! The styling, features, quality, handling, and ride are all incredible in this car! I had to soak some money into it from the get-go since the previous owner didn't do the 90,000 miles maintenance at all....but now it's good to go and I expect it to last for a long, long time. One thing that the other reviewers here haven't mentioned is the HANDLING and STEERING of the car...it's incredible! This thing is SMOOTH and takes corners like they're not even there! It handles and rides like a dream. The stereo is fantastic and my XLS has all the options except traction control/VSC. I'm SO glad I got this gem - it was worth the wait!!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Leaving the dealership with my Avalon!!

11 years and no problems to speak of

By on Friday, January 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, quiet, powerful, pleasure to drive"

Cons: "Leather seat wear after 11 years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been essentially trouble-free after having some initial problems with a warning light on the dash related to the emissions system.. Toyota replaced the computer and this problem went away. Honestly, this is probably the one of the best cars I have owned."

Would recommend to anyone!

By on Friday, December 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Large sedan, good mpg. VERY realiable."

Cons: "Only automatic trany. Rear sub blows easy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Avalon is a 2002. It's a nice sized car, in my opinion. I have had no problems with it since I've had it. The gas mileage is great if you drive a lot! It's a very luxurious 4 door sedan. It is front wheel drive so it does great in snow."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals