Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2004 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 383 Ratings for the 2000 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

Comfortable, dependable, many more miles expected.

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price, most comfortable to drive."

Cons: "Mirror needs replacement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car has been well maintained. Paint has lots of chips. Right rear view mirror casing is damaged. Headlight lens are not as clear as used to be. This car is a joy to drive and am selling because we no longer can afford two cars as we are retired. Our other car is 10 years newer and we choose to keep it although I still prefer to drive the Avalon as does the rest of my family. It gets 28 to 32 highway miles to the gallon. Heated seats and memory seat for the driver are especially nice. Will be hard to part with but we need the money on our medical expenses."

So comfortable and responsive

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Fading lights on dashboard displays"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So many small design features that make it a treat to drive. Glare reducing windows, rear view mirror that adjusts to exterior light/dark. Wonderful heated seats that adjust for total comfort. Quiet engine and cushioned ride. I love this car. One hate - hard to locate and unresponsive gas flap lever."

I want to drive this car until I die.

By on Sunday, April 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, low, low maintenance"

Cons: "I don't have two of them."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best riding, most problem free car I have ever owned. I have 213,000 miles on it and plan to pass it on to my son next year. Amazing car!!!!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Smooth ride and reliable - best car I've owned!

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable - ten years & NO unscheduled maintenance"

Cons: "Cabin air filter difficult to change"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Smooth ride and reliable - best car I've owned!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

2 minor repairs 11 years. Never had a better car

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent comfort. Excellent reliability, only 2 minor repairs in 11 years. What more can one say?"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've ever owned

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, reliable, great value for your money."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my 2000 Avalon used in 2002. Driven now for 12 years and could not have been happier. I've owned several Fords, a few Chevrolets, and I can only say this car has the best, highest, reliability ever. The minor problems with this vehicle have NEVER been associated with the engine. A few minor electrical/computer problems in the past. Easy and comfortable luxury drive; comfortable backseat; and very roomy backseat for long-legged adults."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This has been the best car we have ever owned

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 321,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "cup holders a little too small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Best car ever."

This has been the best car we have ever owned

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 321,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "cup holders a little too small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Best car ever."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car. Really enjoy it

By on Thursday, February 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It is not a sports car but is pleasant to drive"

Cons: "Sunshine makes it pretty hot inside"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought it when it was 5 years old and have had it almost 8 years. We put 70,000 miles on it. we have not had any repairs beyond brakes and tires. it is quiet, has plenty of power, and is comfortable. Very roomy.We get22-23 mpg in subburban driving, 27-28 at freeway speeds and 30-33 at 55mph."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This car has been extreamly reliable.

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliability, comfortable, easy to drive, quiet"

Cons: "heating system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car with 120,000 miles and have driven another 100,000 myself. It still runs and drives great. It is a soft mushy comfort ride but has been a wonderful car. My only complaint is with the heating system (cooling works fine). It does not work well in the "auto" mode and is very hard to get right using manually."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great vehicle, very reliable.

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Comfortable car with lots of leg room in rear seats and plenty of trunk space. Outstanding reliability, the only service this car has needed is routine scheduled maintenance - nothing has ever failed. Definitely the best car I have owned."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great automobile!

By on Thursday, February 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the best all round car we have ever owned! Comfortable, reliable and nice looking."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

love my avalon!

By on Thursday, February 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 203,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great car!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned a Camry, a Celica and an Avalon. Loved them all! We purchased the Camry for me. I eventually passed it down to my oldest daughter. She passed it down to my grandson. The Celica was purchased for our 2nd daughter, eventually passed down to my youngest daughter, then again to my niece. Avalon is still mine!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car i ever owned.

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It has everything i need.."

Cons: "I have it all."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I hope this Car out lives me. Otherwise I will be walking. If I would have known how good Toyotas were, that is all I would have owned. Thanks Toyota."

wonderfull

By on Monday, February 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is probably the best car I ever owned . It is very comfortable, reliable and well thought out ."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "No cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned many. First to get over 150000. Quiet, comfortable, fuel efficient, just normal maintance--no problems ever."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Greatest car I have ever owned.

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable and sure footed"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car gets 28 - 30 MPG, and is the most comfortable car I ever owned."

Great Car, to date normal maintenace

By on Saturday, January 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great car not planning on selling it anytime soon."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car, planning on keeping it for another ninty thousand plus miles..Unless I hit the lotto!"

First (Foreign) vehicle and best one I ever owned

By on Monday, December 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fantastically reliable, no unexpected failures"

Cons: "Absolutely, positively NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Until 2002, I had almost owned nothing but GM's, Chevy's and Buicks and Chevy Pick Ups. Did some research on internet and talked with friends who owned other cars. Determined Toyota to be best buy and stopped by dealer. Was impressed with Avalon and since it was for my wife and she liked it, we bought it. Had to replace battery once, one oxygen sensor, tires and have serviced regularly, including minor brake job. Absolutely no other problems ever. It never even acted like it didn't want to start. I am so satisfied, I bought a 2014 Avalon, just like it, same color even, plus other bells and whistles. We both love our TOYOTA. Selling the 2002 to my daughter after having 100,000 mile service. Dealing with Toyota (dealers) is much more pleasant than with all "American car" dealers. Plus, Toyota is made in America, so I don't feel guilty about buying foreign products."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Bought this car new in 2003. Now have 230,000 mi.

By on Wednesday, December 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependable, comfortable, quiet"

Cons: "none, unless you're looking for a sports car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car is going strong. Have had all service performed by my Toyota Dealer per the factory recommendations. Wife drives it to work daily, 60 miles one way. The only unusual maintenance in the 10 years I have owned it was a fuel control switch at about 150,000, a cracked windshield at about 180,000 and a corroded front hood latch at about 220,000. I'm going to keep this car for a long time to come."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Replacement car will be a newer Toyota Avalon.

By on Friday, December 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great handling, good value, high reliability."

Cons: "Exterior styling is lackluster."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my first Toyota Avalon. Bought the 2004 Avalon new in Oct ’03. My wife picked this car over any other car, mainly for its roomy back seat and comfortable ride. I have come to like this car for its overall economy in MPG, maintenance and great ride. In 93,000 miles we have replaced the tires, brakes, fan belts, one oxygen sensor and one battery. It’s not a head turner, nor a tire burner, but it has been a very good value. This car has excellent handling. One time I had to make an emergency maneuver to avoid a head-on crash at 40 m/h, this car did not even start to roll. When I need to replace this car, it will be with a newer Toyota Avalon. In summary: the items I like are great quality, low cost, comfortable ride, and good looking interior. The items I don’t like are the plain looking exterior styling and slight lack of power. It seems that both of these issues have improved in newer models."

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great communte and family car.

By on Tuesday, November 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Interior fit and finish. Easy to drive."

Cons: "Fuel/Air Ratio sensor problems."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"No car can match the interior spaciousness of this car compared to exterior size. Drives confident and smooth. All controls and gauges laid out well. Great highway cruising gas mileage. Very cheap to maintain. Quality interior fit and finish. I have had an ongoing issue with the heated fuel/air ratio sensors which causes C.E.L illumination. This does not cause any drivability issues, but is an annoyance."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

BEST RIDING CAR I EVER HAD

By on Sunday, November 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT QUALITY, RELIABLE, VERY NICE RIDE"

Cons: "EXPENSIVE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"HANDLES WELL, RIDES LIKE A MUCH BIGGER CAR, SO SMOOTH, COMFORTABLE. VERY RELIABLE, VERY WELL MADE CAR. LOTS OF ROOM IN FRONT AND BACK SEAT. GOTTA LOVE THIS CAR"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very reliable. I may keep it till 300,000.

By on Friday, November 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 234,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent acceleration and comfortable ride."

Cons: "Not sexy. No mp3 connection."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Car noise louder than I expected. Seats are very comfortable for my long commute. Driving position provides good views on all sides. Excessive hydroplaning in rain and snow."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

It runs great...

By on Thursday, October 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth, Comfortable, Reliable"

Cons: "Nothing which I can think of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I want to buy a new car but my 2000 Avalon XL is not giving me any chance to dump her.. :) she is awesome, runs great, super comfortable, great handling, extra smooth.. simply superb.. Thanks Toyota for making such a nice machine"

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals