Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2002 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 405 Ratings for the 2000 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next

Horrible car

By on Tuesday, August 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 700,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I just purchased this car with only 70K mile from a dealer and 1 hour later the break system is down. Terrible!"

3 people out of 25 found this review helpful

I love my Avalon

By on Saturday, July 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quiet, smooth riding, great pick-up"

Cons: "No GPS or back-up view"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really love my Avalon. I've had it for 10 years. I would have bought a new car a few years back, except there's nothing wrong with this car. My Avalon is very quiet. It has a lot of leg room in the back seat, which was a priority. It has lots of power when I need it; not slugish at all. It just glides along very smoothly."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best first car i've ever had

By on Saturday, July 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "easy to drive, Comfy!!! great handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"for my first car and I couldn't be happier. I even traded up for an Audi. I ended up putting it in the garage and riding around in the Avalon all the time. Love this car. Best thing ever! I still don't drive the Audi."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

excellant gas milage,heated seats,body excel

By on Saturday, June 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 194,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable,easy steer"

Cons: "lower entry"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"sun roof tilt,good tires,lg trunk,quiet"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned and I've owned 12

By on Tuesday, May 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Outstanding reliability, very comfortable"

Cons: "Could use some more horsepower"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned the car for 10 years. It has had only one repair--a leak in an air hose."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Happy with choice. Will stick with Toyota.

By on Tuesday, May 21, 2013

I owned and sold this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable. Avalon is a great car."

Cons: "Brakes could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great quality. Company is very reliable. Could have better bakes. Had to replace rotor and calibers twice. But park it outside, in all fairness"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned.

By on Monday, May 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable, smooth ride, everything works"

Cons: "NONE, except price."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is one of those cars that hurts when you buy it, but pay on it for the long haul, and then drive it until the wheels literally fall off. If you give it regular maintenance, you'll get 250,000 to 300,000 miles out of it. I've had it since 2005 and it's NEVER given me any problem in any way. This car is 10 years old and I wasn't even considering buying another car, the inside is still perfect and we just get the outside dings and dents touched up when needed."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

see below

By on Wednesday, May 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new in 2000. It has been an excellent choice. Service has been wonderful. I get asked if I have a new car. Comfort on trips are the best. The leather is in great shape. I have been so pleased with how the paint has held up so well. It still drives like a new car. I am always proud of my Avalon! I would buy another one!!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love my Avalon, very little repairs needed..

By on Tuesday, May 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Never has let me down; held its value for 10 years"

Cons: "Price off the show room floor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Would like to get another Avalon, but price has just gone out of site. I have only replaced the front struts and starter points. I am the second owner and have driven nearly 100,000 miles with regular oil changes every 3000 miles. Always thought the steering was a little stiff. This was my lst front wheel drive car."

All records on care of the car.

By on Saturday, March 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It is ready for a long trip."

Cons: "Ten years old."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new for my daughter. It had hail damage and back pumper damage. This resulted in new paint. New tires in last Sept. Inside the car looks new."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Amazing car..

By on Monday, March 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "stone cold reliable"

Cons: "nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Its a shame Toyota don't make cars like this anymore. Its a stretched Campy and same as a Highlander from the same time. I get my Dads 04 bench seat XLS version he bought new and kept in the garage since new. Just had the timing belt done on it and went over the whole car at the time, Perfect. Wears like iron and is reliable, comfortable and really fuel efficient. The 3.0 motor is legendary as is the trans. Truly the best car you can buy for many reasons. We gave it to our Son as his first cart and he loves it.."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Old Reliable

By on Thursday, February 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you read any of the other reviews you'll see that this is by far one of the most reliable cars ever built. My parents bought this can in 2002 and I've had the luxury of driving it during my college years. It runs smooth, gets great gas mileage, roomy, excellent handling, and is just overall a great vehicle. Leather starts to wear but that's common among vehicles. Beauty fades that fact. But as far as the internal mechanics of the car we've only had to replace the oil and the brake pads since we got it in 2002. 10/10 in my book and I would recommend this vehicle to anyone."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Runs like new

By on Saturday, February 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great engine, runs smooth and picks up speed easy"

Cons: "bad shocks and paint chips easy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've bought this car in 2003, the only things i have done is oil change, new tires and brakes, however, i have never have had problems with the engine or transmission. I highly recommend buying a toyota. Best car ever and it has 98,000 miles and the engine picks up speed as if its NEW. This car is still going strong, runs better than alot of those new cars coming out. The 2 problems the car has is that the paint chips fairly easy, and the shocks are not that great. I had to replace them because i thought something was wrong with them, however, replacing them made no difference."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best car We have ever owned!

By on Sunday, February 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car We have ever owned!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My 2000 XLS - Wow, what an incredible car!!!

By on Saturday, January 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, great handling, great gas mileage!"

Cons: "The hood and trunk are of VERY thin metal!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Leaving the dealership with my Avalon!!

"I first rode in a Toyota Avalon back in 2001, and just fell in love with the car. 11 years later I finally bought a 2000, and still love it!! The styling, features, quality, handling, and ride are all incredible in this car! I had to soak some money into it from the get-go since the previous owner didn't do the 90,000 miles maintenance at all....but now it's good to go and I expect it to last for a long, long time. One thing that the other reviewers here haven't mentioned is the HANDLING and STEERING of the car...it's incredible! This thing is SMOOTH and takes corners like they're not even there! It handles and rides like a dream. The stereo is fantastic and my XLS has all the options except traction control/VSC. I'm SO glad I got this gem - it was worth the wait!!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Leaving the dealership with my Avalon!!

11 years and no problems to speak of

By on Friday, January 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, quiet, powerful, pleasure to drive"

Cons: "Leather seat wear after 11 years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been essentially trouble-free after having some initial problems with a warning light on the dash related to the emissions system.. Toyota replaced the computer and this problem went away. Honestly, this is probably the one of the best cars I have owned."

Would recommend to anyone!

By on Friday, December 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Large sedan, good mpg. VERY realiable."

Cons: "Only automatic trany. Rear sub blows easy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Avalon is a 2002. It's a nice sized car, in my opinion. I have had no problems with it since I've had it. The gas mileage is great if you drive a lot! It's a very luxurious 4 door sedan. It is front wheel drive so it does great in snow."

The Avalon is one of the best cars I have ever own

By on Thursday, November 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Economical, luxury, comfortable, handles great...."

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had an Avalon since 1995. I have always purchased a lease trade back in from the dealer. Always around 45,000 to 50,000 miles and at that age is like buying a new car. The Avalon is not what a youngster would buy, so usually an older person who would take car of the vehicle is the type of buyer for this great vehicle. I just found a 2008 Avalon Limited ( the top of the line) with 6,900 miles on the odometer.......fabulous find, and I love it. It rides as good as a Lexus or any Benz. If you like a bigger luxury type car with 29 miles to the gallon.......get one today. You won't be sorry if the one you get was cared for by the previous owner or a Toyota Certified Dealer."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Excellant car - Milage is the only Worry

By on Thursday, November 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"No maintannce excellant to drive super confortable and lot of space .. will all that 17-19MPG in City and 27 on highway ..... is a good deal ... but with higher fuel prices milage is the only worring part... otherwise spuper cool"

Great just got Better!

By on Tuesday, September 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 246,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Perfect blend economy, luxury. reliability."

Cons: "few that are not tolerable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Both 2nd gen. Avalon XLS and Lexus GS400

"With this 2nd Generation Avalon Toyota finally upped the anti. and awakened the aesthetics engineers. They could have used another couple of cups of coffee but much better fellas. Thanks! That being said I must say that I simply don't get the speedo-tach. design. It looks, albeit clean and efficient; white on black, like it was designed for a TOY -ota Toyota and not to appeal to the taste of grown mature eyes. Love the info display and the info it presents. I spend more time appreciating it as I do wishing that Toyota had used the space for a GPS device. They did it to my GS400 and it is a 1998. Why not beak-away side-view mirrors on a flagship car? OK - one more and a half: No crotch vent and no way to turn the rear vent off. JBL sound is geat with the very directional tweeters positioned from front to back I am told that one doesn't need a pair in the rear although I have never been a passenger. They went from 9 to 7 speaker when they switched to JBL but the sound was improved. Overall - Maybe the best bang for the buck in automotive history."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Both 2nd gen. Avalon XLS and Lexus GS400

Superb car in so many respects

By on Saturday, September 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 266,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Holds 6 adults"

Cons: "Would like an on board navigation system."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Has been 100% reliable. Fun to drive and always getting over 30MPG in all driving conditions."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very good running car

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "verry good riding car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very good mechanicle condition"

3 people out of 10 found this review helpful

This car has been in 2 accidents,not good conditio

By on Friday, July 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "nothing but problems"

Cons: "Not a good running car,unsafe, have no picture"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"i have had nothing but problems,windows don't work half the time,inside interior ripped from break in,mileage gauge does not work so the mileage is approx.135000 miles,ball joints need repair,tie rods, needs brakes,over heats even after changing thermostat,needs new head gasket,new back window, can not be driven at this time.Only 1 picture after 1 accident of bumper, car is at stepsons house,my husband just signed it to him, he can afford to get things fixed eventually.We had to have it towed over there.But i need some kind of a quote for records"

3 people out of 30 found this review helpful

Have never had anything at all go wrong with it.

By on Monday, July 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value"

Cons: "not too sporty looking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very comfie for road trips,picking up passengers, etc. Totally reliable. I am betting it will go to at least 200k miles.leather seats holding up great for a car 12 years old. no signs of wear except on steering wheel. love the seat warmers in winter, cools down fast with the AC after sitting out in the sun all day. I have owned 6 different Toyotas, from the Tuna can size Corolla, to the Supra to Mini Vans and SUV's. Loved them all. I am 5' 2" so I feel a little small to drive this,miss sitting up higher like in the SUV's."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned!

By on Tuesday, June 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "LUXURIOUS!"

Cons: "Nothing. Literally nothing whatsoever."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There aren't enough words to describe my love for this car. This is my first car I've ever owned. Let me tell you young kids, this car is cool! Luxury, space, and huge V6 engine! Gas saver also! I get a good 29 on the highway! I have about 140,000 miles on it and it still runs good. Its probably been hit too many times to count on one's hand. Got slammed into the rear, slammed into the side, lodged a bookshelf under the car going 55 MPH, I mean the list goes on. But this amazing vehicle is still sitting outside and is ready to drive me around anywhere tomorrow. This car has saved my life many times. Being in Ohio, we have bad weather and this car always starts. I never worry about it going bad. In the 140,000 miles I have driven it, i have NEVER taken it to the repair shop for something that the car has done. It has always been someone else's doing. Every time it's been in there, nothing has ever been expensive and nothing has ever been an outrageous fix. It is the perfect car really for all ages! I recommend this car to everyone."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals