Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2001 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 423 Ratings for the 2000 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next

Great vehicle, very reliable.

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Comfortable car with lots of leg room in rear seats and plenty of trunk space. Outstanding reliability, the only service this car has needed is routine scheduled maintenance - nothing has ever failed. Definitely the best car I have owned."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great automobile!

By on Thursday, February 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the best all round car we have ever owned! Comfortable, reliable and nice looking."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

love my avalon!

By on Thursday, February 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 203,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great car!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned a Camry, a Celica and an Avalon. Loved them all! We purchased the Camry for me. I eventually passed it down to my oldest daughter. She passed it down to my grandson. The Celica was purchased for our 2nd daughter, eventually passed down to my youngest daughter, then again to my niece. Avalon is still mine!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car i ever owned.

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It has everything i need.."

Cons: "I have it all."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I hope this Car out lives me. Otherwise I will be walking. If I would have known how good Toyotas were, that is all I would have owned. Thanks Toyota."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

wonderfull

By on Monday, February 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is probably the best car I ever owned . It is very comfortable, reliable and well thought out ."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "No cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned many. First to get over 150000. Quiet, comfortable, fuel efficient, just normal maintance--no problems ever."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Greatest car I have ever owned.

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable and sure footed"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car gets 28 - 30 MPG, and is the most comfortable car I ever owned."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car, to date normal maintenace

By on Saturday, January 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great car not planning on selling it anytime soon."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car, planning on keeping it for another ninty thousand plus miles..Unless I hit the lotto!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

First (Foreign) vehicle and best one I ever owned

By on Monday, December 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fantastically reliable, no unexpected failures"

Cons: "Absolutely, positively NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Until 2002, I had almost owned nothing but GM's, Chevy's and Buicks and Chevy Pick Ups. Did some research on internet and talked with friends who owned other cars. Determined Toyota to be best buy and stopped by dealer. Was impressed with Avalon and since it was for my wife and she liked it, we bought it. Had to replace battery once, one oxygen sensor, tires and have serviced regularly, including minor brake job. Absolutely no other problems ever. It never even acted like it didn't want to start. I am so satisfied, I bought a 2014 Avalon, just like it, same color even, plus other bells and whistles. We both love our TOYOTA. Selling the 2002 to my daughter after having 100,000 mile service. Dealing with Toyota (dealers) is much more pleasant than with all "American car" dealers. Plus, Toyota is made in America, so I don't feel guilty about buying foreign products."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Bought this car new in 2003. Now have 230,000 mi.

By on Wednesday, December 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependable, comfortable, quiet"

Cons: "none, unless you're looking for a sports car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car is going strong. Have had all service performed by my Toyota Dealer per the factory recommendations. Wife drives it to work daily, 60 miles one way. The only unusual maintenance in the 10 years I have owned it was a fuel control switch at about 150,000, a cracked windshield at about 180,000 and a corroded front hood latch at about 220,000. I'm going to keep this car for a long time to come."

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Replacement car will be a newer Toyota Avalon.

By on Friday, December 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great handling, good value, high reliability."

Cons: "Exterior styling is lackluster."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my first Toyota Avalon. Bought the 2004 Avalon new in Oct ’03. My wife picked this car over any other car, mainly for its roomy back seat and comfortable ride. I have come to like this car for its overall economy in MPG, maintenance and great ride. In 93,000 miles we have replaced the tires, brakes, fan belts, one oxygen sensor and one battery. It’s not a head turner, nor a tire burner, but it has been a very good value. This car has excellent handling. One time I had to make an emergency maneuver to avoid a head-on crash at 40 m/h, this car did not even start to roll. When I need to replace this car, it will be with a newer Toyota Avalon. In summary: the items I like are great quality, low cost, comfortable ride, and good looking interior. The items I don’t like are the plain looking exterior styling and slight lack of power. It seems that both of these issues have improved in newer models."

12 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Great communte and family car.

By on Tuesday, November 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Interior fit and finish. Easy to drive."

Cons: "Fuel/Air Ratio sensor problems."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"No car can match the interior spaciousness of this car compared to exterior size. Drives confident and smooth. All controls and gauges laid out well. Great highway cruising gas mileage. Very cheap to maintain. Quality interior fit and finish. I have had an ongoing issue with the heated fuel/air ratio sensors which causes C.E.L illumination. This does not cause any drivability issues, but is an annoyance."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

BEST RIDING CAR I EVER HAD

By on Sunday, November 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT QUALITY, RELIABLE, VERY NICE RIDE"

Cons: "EXPENSIVE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"HANDLES WELL, RIDES LIKE A MUCH BIGGER CAR, SO SMOOTH, COMFORTABLE. VERY RELIABLE, VERY WELL MADE CAR. LOTS OF ROOM IN FRONT AND BACK SEAT. GOTTA LOVE THIS CAR"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very reliable. I may keep it till 300,000.

By on Friday, November 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 234,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent acceleration and comfortable ride."

Cons: "Not sexy. No mp3 connection."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Car noise louder than I expected. Seats are very comfortable for my long commute. Driving position provides good views on all sides. Excessive hydroplaning in rain and snow."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

It runs great...

By on Thursday, October 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth, Comfortable, Reliable"

Cons: "Nothing which I can think of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I want to buy a new car but my 2000 Avalon XL is not giving me any chance to dump her.. :) she is awesome, runs great, super comfortable, great handling, extra smooth.. simply superb.. Thanks Toyota for making such a nice machine"

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Excellent car!

By on Monday, August 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own this car for about 6 years. Put more than 100000 miles on it, now it has 207000 total mileage. Had only minor problems. Very reliable."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Love this car...want to drive it forever

By on Monday, August 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfy, easy to handle, smooth"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car looks nearly new in spite of having nearly 140,000 miles of service. The exterior is great, the interior continues to clean up nicely and feels great to sit in and to drive. It's quiet, easy to handle and fits like a glove. Can I buy a new 2004 Avalon XLS?"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

best car I have ever owned

By on Friday, August 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really like this car. It drives great and it rides like a new car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Horrible car

By on Tuesday, August 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 700,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I just purchased this car with only 70K mile from a dealer and 1 hour later the break system is down. Terrible!"

3 people out of 25 found this review helpful

I love my Avalon

By on Saturday, July 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quiet, smooth riding, great pick-up"

Cons: "No GPS or back-up view"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really love my Avalon. I've had it for 10 years. I would have bought a new car a few years back, except there's nothing wrong with this car. My Avalon is very quiet. It has a lot of leg room in the back seat, which was a priority. It has lots of power when I need it; not slugish at all. It just glides along very smoothly."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best first car i've ever had

By on Saturday, July 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "easy to drive, Comfy!!! great handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"for my first car and I couldn't be happier. I even traded up for an Audi. I ended up putting it in the garage and riding around in the Avalon all the time. Love this car. Best thing ever! I still don't drive the Audi."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

excellant gas milage,heated seats,body excel

By on Saturday, June 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 194,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable,easy steer"

Cons: "lower entry"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"sun roof tilt,good tires,lg trunk,quiet"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned and I've owned 12

By on Tuesday, May 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Outstanding reliability, very comfortable"

Cons: "Could use some more horsepower"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned the car for 10 years. It has had only one repair--a leak in an air hose."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Happy with choice. Will stick with Toyota.

By on Tuesday, May 21, 2013

I owned and sold this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable. Avalon is a great car."

Cons: "Brakes could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great quality. Company is very reliable. Could have better bakes. Had to replace rotor and calibers twice. But park it outside, in all fairness"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned.

By on Monday, May 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable, smooth ride, everything works"

Cons: "NONE, except price."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is one of those cars that hurts when you buy it, but pay on it for the long haul, and then drive it until the wheels literally fall off. If you give it regular maintenance, you'll get 250,000 to 300,000 miles out of it. I've had it since 2005 and it's NEVER given me any problem in any way. This car is 10 years old and I wasn't even considering buying another car, the inside is still perfect and we just get the outside dings and dents touched up when needed."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals