Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2001 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 384 Ratings for the 2000 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

very good running car

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "verry good riding car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very good mechanicle condition"

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

This car has been in 2 accidents,not good conditio

By on Friday, July 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "nothing but problems"

Cons: "Not a good running car,unsafe, have no picture"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"i have had nothing but problems,windows don't work half the time,inside interior ripped from break in,mileage gauge does not work so the mileage is approx.135000 miles,ball joints need repair,tie rods, needs brakes,over heats even after changing thermostat,needs new head gasket,new back window, can not be driven at this time.Only 1 picture after 1 accident of bumper, car is at stepsons house,my husband just signed it to him, he can afford to get things fixed eventually.We had to have it towed over there.But i need some kind of a quote for records"

3 people out of 28 found this review helpful

Have never had anything at all go wrong with it.

By on Monday, July 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value"

Cons: "not too sporty looking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very comfie for road trips,picking up passengers, etc. Totally reliable. I am betting it will go to at least 200k miles.leather seats holding up great for a car 12 years old. no signs of wear except on steering wheel. love the seat warmers in winter, cools down fast with the AC after sitting out in the sun all day. I have owned 6 different Toyotas, from the Tuna can size Corolla, to the Supra to Mini Vans and SUV's. Loved them all. I am 5' 2" so I feel a little small to drive this,miss sitting up higher like in the SUV's."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned!

By on Tuesday, June 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "LUXURIOUS!"

Cons: "Nothing. Literally nothing whatsoever."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There aren't enough words to describe my love for this car. This is my first car I've ever owned. Let me tell you young kids, this car is cool! Luxury, space, and huge V6 engine! Gas saver also! I get a good 29 on the highway! I have about 140,000 miles on it and it still runs good. Its probably been hit too many times to count on one's hand. Got slammed into the rear, slammed into the side, lodged a bookshelf under the car going 55 MPH, I mean the list goes on. But this amazing vehicle is still sitting outside and is ready to drive me around anywhere tomorrow. This car has saved my life many times. Being in Ohio, we have bad weather and this car always starts. I never worry about it going bad. In the 140,000 miles I have driven it, i have NEVER taken it to the repair shop for something that the car has done. It has always been someone else's doing. Every time it's been in there, nothing has ever been expensive and nothing has ever been an outrageous fix. It is the perfect car really for all ages! I recommend this car to everyone."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This car is the best!

By on Tuesday, June 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great handling! Great feel! Solid ride."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car! After a history of new cars, this was the first used car I'd ever bought. It is now hands down the *best* car I've ever driven. My own little piece of paradise! It has all the 'bells and whistles' and although it ain't the purtiest thing when it comes to style, it provides a most luxurious ride. I'm keeping it until it falls apart. Yep, I love it that much."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

We love this car

By on Tuesday, June 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 325,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "super comfortable to drive and solid"

Cons: "pass through from trunk is small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this used in 2004 with 40,000 miles. We commute over 120 miles per day and it now has over 325K miles and our mechanic thinks it has at least another 75k in it. Runs great, still looks good and rides better than most new cars. Would buy another Avalon for sure."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

I have loved this car. It is so comfortable.

By on Thursday, May 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have kept this car for eleven years because I have loved it. It is roomy and very comfortable. It has been such a reliable car and I will replace it with another Toyota."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Most reliable car I've ever owned.

By on Monday, April 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependability"

Cons: "Hard to find a suggestion."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"100,000 miles and never in the shop for any major repair, only regular maintenance. Will buy Toyota again for sure."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

like it a lot

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Quiet, roomy, comfortable ride, everything still works very well, sound system is very good, like sun roof that both tilts and slides. High speed maneuvering shows under steer and at speeds in excess of 100mph the steering feels light. Since I do high speed maneuvering only under duress and don' drive over 100 very often it doesn't detract from my overall satisfaction. I'm very glad I bought it (new)."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very comfortable and spacious sedan.

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable, good on long trips, spacious"

Cons: "Not great on fuel, feels like a boat in the turns"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I had this car throughout college and it continues to perform well as a daily driver and for long trips. One of the best road trip sedans I have ever driven or ridden in. The back seat is very spacious, and it has a very roomy trunk. There was so much space in this car I would use it to move in and out of my dorm room in college. Granted, it was filled to the brim. Repairs have been minimal, and the car has proved to be very reliable. I think it is a great alternative to the more expensive luxury sedans (such as Lexus), in that it has many great features at reasonable price. It will likely not have as many features as a Lexus, but if you don't mind missing out on some of the luxury then the Toyota Avalon is a great choice. The interior quality isn't bad at all, but it isn't particularly elegant. I must mention that I really enjoy the JBL audio system. I cannot overstate how comfortable the seats are and the amount of room the car offers. There is ample elbow and head room. I am 6'3" and find there to be plenty of leg room as well. Even with my seat all the way back there is plenty of room in the back for the passengers. The suspension is very soft. This provides excellent ride comfort, but a lot of sway under tight cornering. Compared to smaller cars (such as a Toyota Corolla) the Avalon handles like a boat. However, it has a better turning radius than other large sedans. My Avalon also has an extremely strong parking brake. Overall, it's a great value for money. I have found it to be reliable, comfortable, and spacious. Fuel economy isn't great, but it isn't terrible either. It is great for long trips and daily driving."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This car is one of the best I have owned.

By on Sunday, March 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "No negatives=it has been a great auto!"

Cons: "No cons to speak of. Totally satisfied!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been continuously amazed with the reliability, and comfort of this vehicle. It has been one of the best, if not the best automobiles I have owned. Not developing a relationship with the dealer has been a pleasure. After driving Audi automobiles and being nickle and dimed to the extreme the Toyota Avalon was a driving pleasure."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I have had no problems with this car.

By on Sunday, March 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had no problems with this vehicle. It still rides great"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

We love this car. It still performs like new

By on Thursday, March 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "none to report"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned both Mer."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Affordable luxury

By on Saturday, March 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Cream puff, great cruising car"

Cons: "reliability, Handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"This car is responsive,"

great car!

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used with 96000 miles. I have put 70000 miles on it and done nothing by maintenance. It is 11 yrs old and drives like a new car. It is dependable and solid car that is just starting to get broke in."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

really reliable car

By on Tuesday, March 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "decent price"

Cons: "none honestly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"i love the fuel mileage. and quality of the way the car is made only inconvineince is working under the hood parts arer hard to get to because u half to tke off alot to get to what u need to."

Toyota, what to say!

By on Monday, March 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great brand and model, very fast and reliable!"

Cons: "The cup holder is to small for my mugs,lol!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car had 140,000mi. when I bought it and now it has 165,000mi. and runs very strong and peppy but watch that heavy foot as it will eat gas like a V8. Drives very well, maint. is very low and holds its retail. I would recommend Toyota, NO QUESTION!"

Smooth Ride

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, roomy interior, huge trunk, reliable"

Cons: "Fair Driving dynamics, questionable looks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is not a car for those who want to really enjoy the driving experience. This is a car for those who want to ride down the road in pure comfort. This car has one of the smoothest rides I have ever experience. It also has an extremely roomy and comfortable interior. That silky smooth ride does have a setbacks in the driving dynamics though. It feels very disconnect and leans a lot when turning, accelerating and braking. The interior is pretty high quality, but in the gray color, quite ugly. The car has been reliable, with only minor issues such as replacing an O2 sensor, which is very simple since it it located right in front of the engine on the exhaust manifold. Overall, this is a great car for someone who wants a comfortable and roomy car with breaking the bank."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Thursday, February 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable drive....so easy"

Cons: "Turning radius could be tighter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Avalon, so reliable and comfortable. I have back problems and this has been a dream. Lots of leg room in back, as well. Large trunk. Love the exterior better than the newest version."

Rroomy interior

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent value large sedan."

Cons: "Handling on wet roads could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Avalon is the best large sedan available. It has ample room for adults in both front and rear seats. The car is exceptionally quiet with a smooth ride and many subtle extras that improve its function. For example, there are hand grips above each door, air and heat ducts in both front and rear seats and hidden (pocketed) trunk hardware as well as many other small things that add up to better function and convenience. The car has performed extremely well, with routine maintenance and required no major repairs. All in all, the care has far exceeded my expectations."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Friday, February 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"At 113,000 miles, no problems! Just routine maintenance -- and, frankly, only a fraction of what is recommended; I played catch-up at 100,000 miles. The ride is incredibly comfortable and quiet, the interior is roomy, and the seats are the most comfortable car seats I have ever experienced. I have back and knee problems, and I can drive long distances -- frequently 8 hours -- in the Avalon without any back discomfort, and can stretch my legs out fully, which helps my knees. I am pretty certain that when the time comes, I will buy another Avalon."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome car

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 288,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome power, great handling, nothing has broke serious. love the sun roof but the thing I love the most is the power outlet in the back!! not that i would but you could run a blow dryer if you wanted to :). That plug has came in SO handy at times. This car is awesome I would be so lucky to have another after this one. Too bad I'm not with the boyfriend that bought it for me anymore. :( I highly recommend this car. I have had a few weird things go wrong. The cup holder broke in the out position, the stereo over heats and the 6 disk changer stops working and the heater on the feet doesnt work even after taking it to be fixed after i bought it. The car is sound though. this week i am making the first big repair. a seal that connects the transmission to the motor is leaking, they will have to pull the trany out 995.00$$$ Kinda crazy but with almost 300,000 miles not bad. gotta make sure it is good for the ride to F.L. Good luck."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car that I have owed

By on Saturday, January 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid and VERY comfortable."

Cons: "Everyone in the house fight to us this car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"NO a single major repair at all. If maintenance is performed as the schedule recommended timeline, no problem at all."

You will never own a better car. .

By on Friday, January 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"245,000 miles and it's still like a new car!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Amazing Car! Handles good/gas, more power

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, fast, handles great,lots of space/power,"

Cons: "Big wheels 16""

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Nearly the perfect car! See for yourself."

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals