Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2001 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 383 Ratings for the 2000 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next

Comfortable, dependable, many more miles expected.

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price, most comfortable to drive."

Cons: "Mirror needs replacement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car has been well maintained. Paint has lots of chips. Right rear view mirror casing is damaged. Headlight lens are not as clear as used to be. This car is a joy to drive and am selling because we no longer can afford two cars as we are retired. Our other car is 10 years newer and we choose to keep it although I still prefer to drive the Avalon as does the rest of my family. It gets 28 to 32 highway miles to the gallon. Heated seats and memory seat for the driver are especially nice. Will be hard to part with but we need the money on our medical expenses."

So comfortable and responsive

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Fading lights on dashboard displays"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So many small design features that make it a treat to drive. Glare reducing windows, rear view mirror that adjusts to exterior light/dark. Wonderful heated seats that adjust for total comfort. Quiet engine and cushioned ride. I love this car. One hate - hard to locate and unresponsive gas flap lever."

I want to drive this car until I die.

By on Sunday, April 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, low, low maintenance"

Cons: "I don't have two of them."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best riding, most problem free car I have ever owned. I have 213,000 miles on it and plan to pass it on to my son next year. Amazing car!!!!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Smooth ride and reliable - best car I've owned!

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable - ten years & NO unscheduled maintenance"

Cons: "Cabin air filter difficult to change"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Smooth ride and reliable - best car I've owned!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

2 minor repairs 11 years. Never had a better car

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent comfort. Excellent reliability, only 2 minor repairs in 11 years. What more can one say?"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've ever owned

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, reliable, great value for your money."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my 2000 Avalon used in 2002. Driven now for 12 years and could not have been happier. I've owned several Fords, a few Chevrolets, and I can only say this car has the best, highest, reliability ever. The minor problems with this vehicle have NEVER been associated with the engine. A few minor electrical/computer problems in the past. Easy and comfortable luxury drive; comfortable backseat; and very roomy backseat for long-legged adults."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This has been the best car we have ever owned

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 321,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "cup holders a little too small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Best car ever."

This has been the best car we have ever owned

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 321,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "cup holders a little too small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Best car ever."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car. Really enjoy it

By on Thursday, February 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It is not a sports car but is pleasant to drive"

Cons: "Sunshine makes it pretty hot inside"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought it when it was 5 years old and have had it almost 8 years. We put 70,000 miles on it. we have not had any repairs beyond brakes and tires. it is quiet, has plenty of power, and is comfortable. Very roomy.We get22-23 mpg in subburban driving, 27-28 at freeway speeds and 30-33 at 55mph."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This car has been extreamly reliable.

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliability, comfortable, easy to drive, quiet"

Cons: "heating system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car with 120,000 miles and have driven another 100,000 myself. It still runs and drives great. It is a soft mushy comfort ride but has been a wonderful car. My only complaint is with the heating system (cooling works fine). It does not work well in the "auto" mode and is very hard to get right using manually."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals