Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2000 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 429 Ratings for the 2000 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next

Runs like new

By on Saturday, February 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great engine, runs smooth and picks up speed easy"

Cons: "bad shocks and paint chips easy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've bought this car in 2003, the only things i have done is oil change, new tires and brakes, however, i have never have had problems with the engine or transmission. I highly recommend buying a toyota. Best car ever and it has 98,000 miles and the engine picks up speed as if its NEW. This car is still going strong, runs better than alot of those new cars coming out. The 2 problems the car has is that the paint chips fairly easy, and the shocks are not that great. I had to replace them because i thought something was wrong with them, however, replacing them made no difference."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This car is the best!

By on Tuesday, June 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great handling! Great feel! Solid ride."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car! After a history of new cars, this was the first used car I'd ever bought. It is now hands down the *best* car I've ever driven. My own little piece of paradise! It has all the 'bells and whistles' and although it ain't the purtiest thing when it comes to style, it provides a most luxurious ride. I'm keeping it until it falls apart. Yep, I love it that much."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Better than Lexus LS400

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, spacious interior, regular unleaded,"

Cons: "Horizontal oil filter spills during changes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In 1998, we bought a '94 Lexus LS 400 and it was a wonderful car. After 8 years of ownership, it was time to go. We decided on a 2002 Avalon XLS with 48000 miles. This has been the greatest car. It rides every bit as quiet as the Lexus. It uses regular unleaded instead of premium (at 30 cents per gallon cheaper).We average 26mpg on the highway and 20 around our rural town; compared to 21/16. At 137000 miles, we just took a 600 mile trip to Florida for Christmas week, and nearly did it on one tank; averaging 28mpg overall. I am much more comfortable driving the Avalon than I was in the Lexus. I am 6' tall. I can sit in the very comfortable rear seat with the driver seat all the way back, and still not touch the front seat with my knees. This wasn't the case with the Lexus. I change the oil every 3000 to 4000 miles. Never had an engine problem. I did have a dealer do the 100000 mile service(spark plugs, timing belt, etc.) Nothing done to the transmission. I had the struts changed at 125000 even though the mechanic said they were OK. I am getting a few dashboard warning lights on for the VSC which the mechanic's computer won't diagnose. They go off for a week and then come back on. All in all, if we do get tired of this Avalon, there will be another one in our future."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This is an excellent car. I have had it for 11 yr

By on Wednesday, December 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,110

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, easy handling, durable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car and the maintence has been routine. My husband says if I have a car 11 years you have to KNOW it is a good car to stand up to me. It is the best car I have ever owned and the most comfortable even at 11 yr old. It still rides like new and people can not believe the age of my car. I have had cars in the past that I had to get rid of after 5 yrs because they were literally falling apart in the door panels, windows etc. THIS car has stood the test of time and I would own another in a heart beat,however we are now looking at a toyota tundra."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Wonderful Car

By on Monday, February 09, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 2004 Avalon XLS used 1 and 1/2 years ago. This is the best car I have ever owned in 40 years of buying every type automobile, including Fords, Chevys, even an Alfa Romeo and Fiat. It is fast, comfortable, and gets an honest 30mpg on the open road. It has all the options and is an absolute pleasure to drive on long trips. If you can find a deal on used, don't hesitate. I have had the dealer offer to trade at above bb. Said no, don't want another one just this one. Love my Toyota Avalon."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

buy this car

By on Sunday, February 03, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have only had my 2000 Avalon XLS for a few months and am so happy with my purchase. I just needed a car to go back and forth to work. Hubby wanted me to buy a Toyota. I did not want a small car. When I saw that I could have the Avalon with the bigger engine for almost the same price as the Camary. I decided to get the Avalon. I am VERY happy with my 2000 Avalon."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Tuesday, January 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned my 2002 Toyota Avalon for 7 mos..It has been the best car I've ever owned. I bought it w/ 98k miles and I feel that it is just broke in. Exellent ride as well. I definitely would suggest an Avalon to others looking for a great car at an affordable price."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Reliability

By on Wednesday, November 07, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Best car I've ever had. Averaging 25 MPG in town and 29 on the Hwy. Never a problem."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

2 minor repairs 11 years. Never had a better car

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent comfort. Excellent reliability, only 2 minor repairs in 11 years. What more can one say?"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

BEST RIDING CAR I EVER HAD

By on Sunday, November 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT QUALITY, RELIABLE, VERY NICE RIDE"

Cons: "EXPENSIVE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"HANDLES WELL, RIDES LIKE A MUCH BIGGER CAR, SO SMOOTH, COMFORTABLE. VERY RELIABLE, VERY WELL MADE CAR. LOTS OF ROOM IN FRONT AND BACK SEAT. GOTTA LOVE THIS CAR"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned and I've owned 12

By on Tuesday, May 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Outstanding reliability, very comfortable"

Cons: "Could use some more horsepower"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned the car for 10 years. It has had only one repair--a leak in an air hose."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned.

By on Monday, May 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable, smooth ride, everything works"

Cons: "NONE, except price."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is one of those cars that hurts when you buy it, but pay on it for the long haul, and then drive it until the wheels literally fall off. If you give it regular maintenance, you'll get 250,000 to 300,000 miles out of it. I've had it since 2005 and it's NEVER given me any problem in any way. This car is 10 years old and I wasn't even considering buying another car, the inside is still perfect and we just get the outside dings and dents touched up when needed."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Superb car in so many respects

By on Saturday, September 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 266,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Holds 6 adults"

Cons: "Would like an on board navigation system."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Has been 100% reliable. Fun to drive and always getting over 30MPG in all driving conditions."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love this Car!

By on Tuesday, December 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality vehical. Great ride, few repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought it new in 2000, and it has never stopped on me. I am going on 193,000 and feel certain I can get at least another 100,000 based on it current performance. I stay current on suggested maintenace schedule (from my local oil changer shop). I have had only 2 repairs in the 10 years of ownership which were a 'Starter' replacement, 'Ignition switch' replacement."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Wonderful car

By on Monday, October 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "smooth ride, spacious, quiet."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a wonderful car. It drives very smoothly, has plenty of power when needed, and has ample legroom in the back seat. Also a large trunk, and of course a full-sized spare tire. Very comfortable and roomy."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great car.comfortable and quiet

By on Monday, January 04, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"Had this car since 2003. Bought it with 50000 miles and now have 120000. Put in a couple of O2 sensors and did a tune up at 90000. Wife drives almost exclusively and I never worry. In no hurry to replace it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

2001 Avalon

By on Friday, October 02, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car last year ( 5/08 ) from a private owner. It was a one owner car in EXCELLENT shape !. I have no regrets whatsoever ! It is comfortable, fuel efficieint, responsive and good looking. A very minor problem of the SUB WOOFER speakers prone to going bad is the only complaint I have. The speaker probably would have lasted longer but I loved to crank up the JBL sound system (best I have heard and I am a musician) with old 60 rock tunes with heavy bass . I will buy another one if and when I ever wear this one out ! If you want a LEXUS and cant afford it , look at an AVALON ....essentially the same car for a lot less money"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great car

By on Tuesday, August 25, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"love this car - would recommend to anyone - my 2nd avalon (and favorite)"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

own 2 of them

By on Friday, April 10, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"We own 2 Avalons and they are super comfortable and get good gas mileage for a larger sedan...city about 22 and road 27 or so. very roomy and comfy..would not change a thing about this car. We own 2001 and a 2004 - probably the only car I will ever buy in the future."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car.

By on Monday, December 01, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I was checking the Kelley Blue book for prices. I purchased this car new and it now has 59,000 miles on it. This is the second Avalon I have owned. The first one had the sun-roof and cd player that held 12 cd's. I think I will keep this Avalon at least another 2-3 years. Very comfortable drive and ride."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Avalon Experience

By on Sunday, November 23, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought the car new now have 95k miles. Very reliable only recently had a problem with Master Brake Cylinder. No other mechanical problems. Would like to have the cruise control to retain a prior speed setting when slowed down for a stop sign. Would like to have the trip computer info retained until manually reset. Would like to have one of the 12v power outlets to stay on when the switch is off. This car travels well and has a great deal of room for passengers. Overall an excellent buy."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This car can't be beat!

By on Friday, September 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a 2000 Avalon that I bought used at about 24,000. It now has 151,000 miles on it. The car is still very comfortable. I find this to be a beautiful and timeless body style. I've had reg. maintenance every 3 to 5 thousand miles. Replaced rear struts at 125,000 and it drives like a new one. Looked at a new Avalon today, but think I'll drive this one till it dies; then I'll definitely purchase another Avalon, maybe the limited or touring model. This car is a great value!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

2000 Avalon XLS

By on Saturday, March 08, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my Avalon from Day 1. It has 142,000 miles on it and I'm expecting at least 100,000 more. Only one substantial problem over the life of the car so far. Transmission seals failed. Expensive repair but at 120,000 miles something is to be expected. The car is extremely comfortable. The Premium stereo is fantastic. All the goodies still in great working order. Paint is still in great shape. The cabin and trunk are well designed. The biggest problem i have is what will I ever purchase to replace such a great car. Maybe, another one in four or five years."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Outstanding Value

By on Sunday, December 30, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought ours in Fall of 06. Had 80,000 miles on it at the time. Now have 109,000 on it and it has been wonderful. Extremely comfortable. Amazing Bang for the Buck. No sludge issues -- previous owner had always used synthetic oil in it, which we have continued. I will not be surprised if it runs to 200,000 miles."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very reliable

By on Thursday, November 08, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"have a 2004 avalon, 54000 miles so far. maintenance (on the rare occasion that it requires a maintenance) is easy and cheap. steering is easy and traction is superb. excellent interior with wood trimed steering wheel. digital dash is very easy to read, mileage I get is about 25/30 city/hwy."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals