Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2000 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 400 Ratings for the 2000 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

allmost perfict

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "great price , fun to drive. smooth ride"

Cons: "brakes too small. Too much Play in stearing on hig"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Every thing worked excellent, except for a little to much play in the steering on highway. This might have been corrected if front stirring was tightened. maybe The brakes "I felt" were to small for the car, especially coming up and down the Rocky Mountains. "brake displacement""

very reliable, smooth ride, great visibility,

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "lots of room, good visibility, comfortable"

Cons: "no audio input port,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

2000 Toyota Avalon

"I've owned this car since it was new. I've never been stranded by any failure in the car. I get about 20 mpg in town and close to 30 mpg on the road. Lots of room and great visibility. there is no rust and the finish still shines. I recommend this car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2000 Toyota Avalon

This car still rides smoother than my new car.

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car and fun to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This 2002 Avalon rides better than the new luxury car, I just purchased. You will be pleased and proud to own and drive this car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

11 years old and still runs like new! LOVE it!

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quiet, comfort, reliability, JBL sound"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my 2003 Avalon used, 1.5 years old with 22k miles. The car runs as smooth today with 184k miles as it did when I bought it. Fantastic quiet ride, starts up every time, awesome JBL premium sound, room for five adults to sit comfortably, ice cold air conditioning, warm heater and butt warmers for those extra chilly mornings. Other than tires and brakes have only repaired an oxygen sensor and put in new struts at 175k miles to bring the ride quality back to new. The airbag sensor does come on sporadically in past year but this will be repaired by dealer due to recall for shortage issue. Never had any problems with sensor until recently. Installed Bluetooth for use with my smartphone and my old Avalon can compete with new cars in providing navigation, hands free phone, and streaming. Every time I drive a new car, thinking it may be time to retire the Avalon, I leave the car lots saying my Avalon drives better! This car should make it to 250 or 300k miles no problem."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My mileage says it all - 230,000 miles in comfort

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, quiet and smooth ride, handling"

Cons: "AC OK but not great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Shopping to replace it just on general principles. Finding that I've been spoiled. The ride is smooth and quiet; with great handling. I love the driver's seat for tall-man's comfort - and the headroom both front and back. Lots of power with very smooth acceleration (difficult to find in today's cars). I measure my mileage using purchase logs. It's consistently 24MPG. Never been stranded in it; apart from a flat and running out of gas once. Some repairs along the way, mostly preventative (timing belt, water pump, muffler, etc). Transmission started leaking at 200,000 and $1,300 fixed that for good. Some of the trim deteriorated after 11 years; got them replaced and painted. It's just starting to show it's age (headlights, front grill, some dash bulbs out now). All cosmetic. I'm OK driving it for another year or two while shopping for a suitable replacement - probably another Avalon. However; the new Avalon redesign chopped the back seat headroom so that's out. Repairs aren't expensive, even at the dealer. Our Mercedes and Lexus are 3x as much when things go wrong - and the Mercedes needed 3x as many repairs. Yikes!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned.

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I driven a lot of my friends cars from Nissan's to Cadillacs and all in between and nothing rides or drives like this vehicle. I hope it lasts forever."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

the best car ever! It is reliable, comfortable

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I want this car to live on forever because I love it, but am thinking of selling it. It has been so amazing! 2001 with 226,900K miles on"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great gas mileage, reliable vehicle

By on Friday, June 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I this has been a reliable vehicle, and maintained well."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this car. Just needed gas and regular maint.

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, great car"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Most reliable vehicle I ever owned. Just keeps going with just regular maintenance. Still feels like a new car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best design

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Of all the cars (11) i've ever had this is the one i liked best. For comfort on long trips it's been great. The pockets and compartments are all in the right places. Humongous trunk space on and on it's the best. Even with 2000000 miles it runs like a top."

A very comfortable, reliable, high quality car.

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality, smooth ride, great performance"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned this car 13 years and really hate to let it go."

Well maintained and reliable

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Newer tires, battery, regular oil changes, replaced timing belt at 100,000 miles. Good reliable well maintained car."

Excellent car has never needed service

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very Comfortable and easily maintained"

Cons: "Bumpers scratch easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the third Avalon that I have owned. NONE of them have ever needed any service except routine work,"

Never worry...get in and drive

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love the dash layout"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Put 42000 on this car with zero problems. Best part is piece of mind and knowing it is reliable."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Avalon with over 100,000 miles. It is now pushing 180. I have had to fix minor repairs and regular maintenance but it has proved to be reliable. The Avalon is hands down, the most reliable car I've owned."

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Better than a Lexus ES3xx

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Value, engine, transmission, comfort, mpg"

Cons: "paint susceptible to rock chips like a Lexus"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have once owned or have in possession of 2 Lexus RX's,an HS and ES and the ride of the Avalon is so much more comfortable. Here the Avalon's 65mm profile tires is at least part of the reason for this. Manufacturer's recent use of low profile tire's hurts your ride quality and suspension longevity too much. Quality of workmanship and materials inside the cabin is also probably just a hair lower than the Lexus LS and at least on par or better than the rest of the line. The 3 liter V-6 is plenty strong for me and the trans shifts smoothly. Getting better mpg and a price tag only half as much that of a '04 LS430 makes the Avalon a great buy. The only qualm I have is that a Lexus Nakamichi or Mark Levinson stereo system are a notch better than the Toyota JBL ones. Had thought of getting a LS but the price for oem parts are nothing to sneeze at."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My 7th (pre-2002) Toyota. Best Yet!!

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 347,744

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "solid, dependable, spacious, Can still get parts"

Cons: "not nimble, getting hard to find a good used one"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own this car. Bought new in Nov 1999 (after driving '84 and '85 Toyota Cressidas for 300K-plus each). Avalon has LOTS of Hwy Miles. Synthetic oil and better-to-best oil filters since day-1. Burns 1/2 qt oil between 6K oil/filter changes. On 3rd set of timing chains/water pump swap. I liked it so much, I bought a (gently) used 2001 Avalon (now has 188K miles, with same results, but only an oil leak, not burning). Sure they still made them like these elegant/roomy cars."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Comfortable, dependable, many more miles expected.

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price, most comfortable to drive."

Cons: "Mirror needs replacement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car has been well maintained. Paint has lots of chips. Right rear view mirror casing is damaged. Headlight lens are not as clear as used to be. This car is a joy to drive and am selling because we no longer can afford two cars as we are retired. Our other car is 10 years newer and we choose to keep it although I still prefer to drive the Avalon as does the rest of my family. It gets 28 to 32 highway miles to the gallon. Heated seats and memory seat for the driver are especially nice. Will be hard to part with but we need the money on our medical expenses."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

So comfortable and responsive

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Fading lights on dashboard displays"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So many small design features that make it a treat to drive. Glare reducing windows, rear view mirror that adjusts to exterior light/dark. Wonderful heated seats that adjust for total comfort. Quiet engine and cushioned ride. I love this car. One hate - hard to locate and unresponsive gas flap lever."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I want to drive this car until I die.

By on Sunday, April 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, low, low maintenance"

Cons: "I don't have two of them."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best riding, most problem free car I have ever owned. I have 213,000 miles on it and plan to pass it on to my son next year. Amazing car!!!!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Smooth ride and reliable - best car I've owned!

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable - ten years & NO unscheduled maintenance"

Cons: "Cabin air filter difficult to change"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Smooth ride and reliable - best car I've owned!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

2 minor repairs 11 years. Never had a better car

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent comfort. Excellent reliability, only 2 minor repairs in 11 years. What more can one say?"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've ever owned

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, reliable, great value for your money."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my 2000 Avalon used in 2002. Driven now for 12 years and could not have been happier. I've owned several Fords, a few Chevrolets, and I can only say this car has the best, highest, reliability ever. The minor problems with this vehicle have NEVER been associated with the engine. A few minor electrical/computer problems in the past. Easy and comfortable luxury drive; comfortable backseat; and very roomy backseat for long-legged adults."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This has been the best car we have ever owned

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 321,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "cup holders a little too small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Best car ever."

This has been the best car we have ever owned

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 321,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "cup holders a little too small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Best car ever."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals