Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1999 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 310 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next

By far the best car I have ever owned

By on Monday, November 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Powerful,spacious,large trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I planned to keep this car until I retired when it would have been 18yrs old. Unfortunately, my Avalon was run into in a parking lot this weekend and probably totaled. Then I was going to buy a new Avalon"

Just keeps going, comfortable, reliable, great

By on Wednesday, November 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A good reliable vehicle that is economical to own"

Cons: "no button to unlock trunk by driver, need key"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned car for 8 years, bought used in 2005 and put 90000 on it with very few repairs: just batteries, tires, planned replacement of timing belt, and steering rack. No liquid leaks. No breakdowns. It rides the highway nice, 31-32 mpg and a large tank gives long cruising between fill-ups. Auto climate control works well. A good reliable vehicle that is economical to insure."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

outstanding...will buy another avalon to replace

By on Wednesday, October 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"BEST CAR I EVER OWNED"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

loving it for over 265,000 miles - best car ever

By on Thursday, September 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable and reliable"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"When, as, if it dies, I'm afraid I'll never get another car this good."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Overall an amazingly designed vehicle.

By on Monday, September 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, price, resale value, great investment"

Cons: "Minor-Exterior appearance,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Its not a Lexus but it sure feels like it, which makes sense because its designs and mechanics are very similar if not exact. For its price, the consumer is getting outstanding reliability, great fuel efficiency (considering the size of the family car, and size of the engine), a comfortable smooth ride, in a classy spacious interior, equipped with an award winning engine. It's outdoor appearance it's deceiving, but the xls provides a leather, wood trim, and electrical everything including a moonroof which comes in handy every time."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Been greatest for 15 years

By on Tuesday, July 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "No problems ever."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car. Never been as pleased with anything else."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Amazing car

By on Monday, July 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been driving this car from 1 year, No problem at all."

The love of my life!

By on Tuesday, July 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Spacious and smooth riding"

Cons: "Bad speakers and square (?!) cupholders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car used a few years back for a steal, and I have completely fallen in love. He drives like a luxury car. The Avalon is road-quiet, roomy, and comfortable on long drives. No matter your size, or the size of your cargo, there will be plenty of room. Friends even call "backseat!" instead of "shotgun!" because of the incredible roominess. My Avalon still gets between 27-30mpg (yes 30!) on the highway. I can't wait to get another one!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Better than perfection

By on Thursday, May 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, comfort, acceleration"

Cons: "Bland exterior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car 6 years ago with 120,000 miles. I am the third owner. It has served me far better than I ever could have imagined with no unexpected maintenance costs. In the time I've owned the car I've put another 116,000 miles on it, driven it cross country several times, taken if off-roading in Arizona, on the beach in Florida, and cruised at 115 mph all day long in South Dakota. After all this I've replaced only breaks, break lines, CV axles, and a few suspension bushings and. This car has not been babied, and it continues to impress. Other than some minor rust issues this car is built to an incredible standard of quality."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Still going strong

By on Tuesday, May 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the car new and then gave it to my daughter. Has 205,000 and has had minimal mechanical problems. Enginewise, no problems and still gets 29MPG. Currently have to replace the temp. rheostat and the floor/defrost deflector switch. I am now a loyal toyota customer...currently in a Camry SE"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals