Go

1998 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 325 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 33 | Next

This has been a great car.

By on Wednesday, February 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "For a car of this size, it gets great gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a great car. I bought it with 89000 miles on it and it now has 220000. It is comfortable, dependable, safe, etc. I love this car."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great running car, good gas mileage and dependable

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Freezing cold ac, 27 mpg, everyone who rides in it can't believe it isn't a lexus. Toyotas are GREAT!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

A Keeper

By on Friday, September 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Realiability!"

Cons: "Cloudy headlights"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives great, looks great, room for two pre-teen kids and a carseat in the back and very comfortable driver and passenger seating! Plus it has leather interior. This car is a definite keeper! I will keep on driving it until there's a major problem, but so far all looks good. Had a gasket leak and it was fixed - part cost less than $50. Haven't had any other major problems. Only concerns - struts may be worn and headlamps are cloudy (cannot open and clean). TIP: Keep tire pressure at manufacturer recomendations, otherwise you may not get the best fuel efficiency (found that out today...duh!)."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Solid Quality Car

By on Tuesday, June 01, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Received a hand-me down 97 Avalon from my parents when they upgraded to an 2008. I am so impressed with the quality and staying power. I have 349K miles on the car and just drove it for a 1500 mile roadtrip at 30 mpg highway. Probably paid for the new battery compared to my old gas guzzler. Comfortable ride...plenty of power...great vehicle to buy."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Wednesday, March 24, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought this car brand new in 1998. The first thing i noticed about this car was the acceleration. At freeway speeds all you have to do is put it down and you're passing everything in sight. The ride is supple and the creature comforts are without parallel. Heated seats, automatic climate control, stellar sound system....as an XLS model it has it all including the moonroof. If you can find one snap it up."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

98 175K

By on Thursday, October 23, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Best car I've owned. very low maintenance cost, 28mpg with v6! Outstanding reliability. Survived 2 teenagers. Better than my past Infinity Q45, better that wife's Acura RL (but not much). After 11 years of New england driving just starting to show tiny amount of rust spots. Still my daily driver."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

a quality car

By on Thursday, November 22, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Ive had my 98 avalon for a year and its been a great car. Its got a nice sturdy well made interior with plush leather seats. The ride is extremely smooth and suprised with how close it is to some higher end luxury cars. The 3.0 liter V6 is quick with excellent pick up and passing power on the high way and is pretty good on gas. I get 20 mpg usually city driving and and 30 mpg highway. My only complaints with this car has been the breaks which arent the greastest and had there shair of repairs and the exterior paint isnt the best and chips easy. I would recommend this car to anyone whos looking for a luxury car with paying the price for one."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this car.

By on Saturday, October 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had a number of cars, and this is the nicest I've had. It has 130,000 miles on it now, and it's never had to be repaired. This is one comfortable, fast, reliable car. I do actively recommend it to friends. The ride is smooth and comfortable, the steering is smooth and easy, while retaining plenty of feel for the road. This car will peel rubber at 30mph if you floor it! It's an amazing car! It also grips the road really well."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I've Ever Owned

By on Monday, September 03, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"This has been the best car I have ever owned. I bought it with 53K miles on it. I've had it almost 4 and 1/2 years. It just kicked over 151K miles. I can't tell that it drives any differently than it did when I first bought it and it had 53K miles on it. I'm expecting to drive it at least to 200K or 250K. Thanks, Toyota, for making a vehicle that I don't have to worry about even with several hundred thousand miles on it!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good Investment

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Purchased 1998 Avalon in 2000 with 24,000 miles on it. Liked the older body style than the one introduced in 2000. Only thing I don't like about the car is it's dark green color. It's been very reliable and comfortable and operates as good now at 108,000 miles as it did at 24,000. Mileage is 20 mpg in town and 30-32 on the road. Barring any major problems I'm planning on keeping it until at least 150,000 and then give it to one of my grandchildren. Have followed Toyota maintenance schedule rigorously."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 33 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals

Advertisement