Go

1998 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 325 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next

98 175K

By on Thursday, October 23, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Best car I've owned. very low maintenance cost, 28mpg with v6! Outstanding reliability. Survived 2 teenagers. Better than my past Infinity Q45, better that wife's Acura RL (but not much). After 11 years of New england driving just starting to show tiny amount of rust spots. Still my daily driver."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

a quality car

By on Thursday, November 22, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Ive had my 98 avalon for a year and its been a great car. Its got a nice sturdy well made interior with plush leather seats. The ride is extremely smooth and suprised with how close it is to some higher end luxury cars. The 3.0 liter V6 is quick with excellent pick up and passing power on the high way and is pretty good on gas. I get 20 mpg usually city driving and and 30 mpg highway. My only complaints with this car has been the breaks which arent the greastest and had there shair of repairs and the exterior paint isnt the best and chips easy. I would recommend this car to anyone whos looking for a luxury car with paying the price for one."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this car.

By on Saturday, October 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had a number of cars, and this is the nicest I've had. It has 130,000 miles on it now, and it's never had to be repaired. This is one comfortable, fast, reliable car. I do actively recommend it to friends. The ride is smooth and comfortable, the steering is smooth and easy, while retaining plenty of feel for the road. This car will peel rubber at 30mph if you floor it! It's an amazing car! It also grips the road really well."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I've Ever Owned

By on Monday, September 03, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"This has been the best car I have ever owned. I bought it with 53K miles on it. I've had it almost 4 and 1/2 years. It just kicked over 151K miles. I can't tell that it drives any differently than it did when I first bought it and it had 53K miles on it. I'm expecting to drive it at least to 200K or 250K. Thanks, Toyota, for making a vehicle that I don't have to worry about even with several hundred thousand miles on it!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good Investment

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Purchased 1998 Avalon in 2000 with 24,000 miles on it. Liked the older body style than the one introduced in 2000. Only thing I don't like about the car is it's dark green color. It's been very reliable and comfortable and operates as good now at 108,000 miles as it did at 24,000. Mileage is 20 mpg in town and 30-32 on the road. Barring any major problems I'm planning on keeping it until at least 150,000 and then give it to one of my grandchildren. Have followed Toyota maintenance schedule rigorously."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent in all respects.

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Best value for the money. Exceptional quality. Uncanny reliability. Rides smoothly. Handles well. Good economy 20-30 mpg. I like the styling (especially the taillight assembly) of the '98-'99 Avalon better than the afterthought mongel look of the newer models."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

loving it for over 265,000 miles - best car ever

By on Thursday, September 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable and reliable"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"When, as, if it dies, I'm afraid I'll never get another car this good."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Still going strong

By on Tuesday, May 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the car new and then gave it to my daughter. Has 205,000 and has had minimal mechanical problems. Enginewise, no problems and still gets 29MPG. Currently have to replace the temp. rheostat and the floor/defrost deflector switch. I am now a loyal toyota customer...currently in a Camry SE"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good value, dependable, comfortable, its a keeper!

By on Saturday, September 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "never failed to start, very comfortable,benchseat"

Cons: "cup holder in arm rest, seat divider is not secure"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has given us excellent service for the past 11 years, bought from a person who passed away and was to big for his wife, at 8500 miles, I wasted 11 years of motor club payments because I never needed them the car always started even after being out all night the the Wisconsin weather. My wife and I are now 82 & 82 yrs old and we love the bench seats, bucket seats are to hard to get in and out of. The paint is as good as the day it came out of the showroom,just the AM_FM would have been enough, very easy to handle, seeing we don't drive in rush hour and after dark unless we're stuck out, I think I just talked myself into keeping this car, we both respect and love our dependable transportation."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

oh yea cruisin in the big body

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 275,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"had some good times in this car man. had it for 4 years since i was 16 and ran the heck out of it. just totaled it today. RIP BIG BODY, u will always be missed."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great CARRR!!!

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this is the fourth AVALON I've owned, they are awesome!! only down side is the Struts"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I would BUY this car TODAY

By on Thursday, January 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 226,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable as the day it was built"

Cons: "Cloth seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I acquired this car with 120,000 miles and since have added 100,000. With regular maintenance, the engine purrs like new, the transmission is solid and smooth, all power accessories work like new. I did replace the factory radio with an aftermarket CD player. AWESOME means of transportation"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very reliable vehile

By on Wednesday, September 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Rides very smooth no troubles good milage."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love the avalon!!

By on Thursday, September 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 232,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a used 1996 Toyota Avalon in 2006. I have only had to replace a starter,and breaks and keep oil changed and minor things to the tire area. I have put 100k miles on it since we bought it! Great vehicle!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, January 28, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this '97 Avalon with 98,000 miles on it. Power seats, leather, AM/FM CD, sun roof, power mirrors etc. It's been a great car now with 218,000 miles. Think I may have a bad rear bearing in the engine and switched to 50 wt. oil 20,000 miles back. No Problems, AC, everything still works great, Mainlyused for short trips around town, travel to work, church, ...primary family car. Great gas mileage for V6 and this size car (20/29)"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Thursday, November 19, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased a '95 Avalon back in '04. It was the first car I had ever purchased. The way it's running, I feel this will be my 14 mo-old daughters first car! It's reliable, incredibly comfortable, and rides great! I'm confident it has many more years to give."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Solid, comfortable car

By on Friday, April 03, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Purchased this car brand new, beautiful ride, smooth and comfortable with a spacious interior. Huge trunk, most legroom in rear of any full/luxury car I know. Responsive engine, great A/C and heater. Terrific on road trips. Would buy another."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

100K and $$$

By on Thursday, March 26, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"I purchased my used 1998 Avalon 5 years ago when it had 55K on it. Great car, great ride comfortable etc. 28-29 mpg on road trips at freeway speeds and 19 mpg in town. But, once hitting 100K I've had 3 repair jobs on failed components of the fuel evap system totaling over $1500. $1200 dollars for the parts alone. My previous high ratings for this car are in a holding pattern."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle

By on Thursday, December 25, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car 2 years ago with 146,00 miles on it. It now has 198,00 miles. The vehicle gets 24 miles per gallon, runs strong, and has never broken down. I enjoy the ride and comfort of the vehicle. I also enjoy the fact that it still looks good, and althought not as sound as when new, the vehicle is without wind noise or rattles. One of the best vehicles that I've ever owned, new or used."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

BEST VEHICLE EVER

By on Friday, September 26, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"1996 TOYOTA AVALON--ALWAYS STARTS, COMFORT OUT OF THIS WORLD, STEREO SYSTEM HEAVENLY, DOESN'T USE EXCESSIVE OIL LIKE A LOT OF OLDER VEHICLES, ALL ELECTRICAL WORKS ! (eg. CLOCK, OUTSIDE TEMPERATURE GAUGE, SEAT ADJUSTMENTS, ETC.) I JUST LOVE-------------E THIS CAR OF MINE!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love my Avalon XLS Gold Edition

By on Friday, September 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought this '97 model two years old with 23k miles. It is now 11 years old with 197k miles and does not look a lot differnt cosmetically, and is every bit as reliable mechanically. I love this car; my second cars have been a nissan, volvo and currently we own a volkswagon in addition to "White Flash". I can honestly say that if I need to ever replace the engine to keep the car, I would do that rather than buy another vehicle. I see why the high-end Lexus was modeled after this car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

WoW

By on Friday, August 08, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car used in 2000, had 54,000 miles on it then...pushing 225,000 + now, 8 years later...awesome car!!..very roomy, bigger in back seat than a Lexus ES300..only thing I've ever had to do was replace the starter (once) in 8 years and a couple of new batteries, & of course, tires but drives like a dream...smooth ride and handles nice...you can't go wrong with this car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My 98 Avalon is the best car I have ever had. I love the car, it has never left me strnded yet! The only thing that I had to replace is the starter and the tires. I still have it right now, but I have to sell the car because my family has grown to big for the car. Upgrading to a Minivan. I am very sad that I have to let the car go. I just wish that I could of got a Toyata minivan. But if I where to recomend this car to anyone I would! The greatest car that I have ever owned in my life so far. In the future I will get a Toyota again!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nice car

By on Friday, March 07, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"run it from 105000 until now, it's 192000 miles. No big problem. comfortable and reliable. High recommend."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

245,000 Miles and going strong!

By on Thursday, February 28, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have only put about $1100 worth of minor repairs in the car sinced I've owned it. With the exception of the usual wear and tear you would expect from a car this age, it is the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. Every time I bring the car in for a tune up, I'm told the same exact thing: The car will run for easily another 60K miles. I cannot bring myself to trade it in because I dont think I will get another car as reliable. 300,000 miles here I come!!!!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals

Advertisement