Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1998 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 310 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next

Great ride

By on Monday, February 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 297,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, comfort, power"

Cons: "Some interior parts wear or break like door handle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We purchased our 1996 Avalon used with 173000 miles on it almost 5 yrs ago. The car now has 297000 /- miles on it ans still going strong. Over the course of 5 yrs, we have not had to replace but a couple of parts because it is a very reliable car."

15 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Hate to let it go

By on Monday, February 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best price, value, performance, and dependability"

Cons: "thieves like them too much"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my Avalon used in 1999 with 65000 miles already on it. It was my first non-American manufactured vehicle, but the price was so much better than comparable cars at the time. The car was not equipped with leather interior, but my wife got the dealer to install it. That actually gave the car a "showroom new" appearance, so we were quite pleased with our purchase. The rest is a near story-book like relationship - we almost lived happily ever after. I've now owned the car for 12 worry-free years. The only cost beyond regular maintenance (gas,oil tires, brakes) has been the replacement of the air conditioner evaporator in May 2011. I've never had a single problem other than that until two months ago. Someone broke in through the driver's door and tried to steal the car by jamming something into the ignition, damaging both. I was able to fix the ignition by re-aligning the tumblers with my key. I also fixed the door, but a few days later it failed to open and had to be repaired again - three more times. Finally, I took it to a dealer, but they want $2600 to fix it, and the car is only worth about $2000 according to KBB. So, I'm now looking to buy another, newer Avalon. I remember the ad campaign years ago for Toyota: "Oh what a feeling!" It featured proud owner's jumping up"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Car I have Owned

By on Sunday, February 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 269,990

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this vehicle as a lease returnin '99 and have loved it and used it ever since. I would definitely purchase again."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Still in love after 16 years!

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased new in November of 1995 and have never had any complaints whatsoever. Reliable, comfortable, great gas mileage and I still get compliments on it's appearance. Never had any replacements other than normal wear and tear. Power is never lacking when you need it for passing on the highway. Motor is still quiet after all these years. My over 6' grandson has no problem sitting comfortably in the back seat. Trunk is very large. I love it."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great quality. Will buy another Avalon

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality, Reliability, Great Ride,"

Cons: "paint quality, CD Changer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Saturday, February 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable. Plenty of power, good on gas, NICE amenities"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Amazing Deal

By on Sunday, January 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, Front bucket seats, powerful engine"

Cons: "Great Car! Front end rattles a little."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I recently bought a 1998 Toyota Avalon from a dealership with 73k miles (that's about 5000 miles a year! Unheard of!) The car has one previous owner who babied it with some sort of OCDness (CarFAX!!) and everything on it works like new. Its pretty unbelievable how nice this car is compared to MANY other cars i looked at for $5000-$5500. Of course, the dealership wanted more, but by paying cash and haggling with him for a few days, I spent my money well. For just over $6000, I made away with an extremely nice car and I look forward to an easy 100k to go. Thanks for making my year Toyota!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my Avalon

By on Sunday, January 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This comfortable car fit my family of five without crowding. It has been reliable for 12 years with minimal repairs. The CD player died early. I will replace the Avalon with another in a few tens of thousands of miles, hoping Toyota has ironed out its recent quality issues."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable, roomy, smooth

By on Saturday, January 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, quality, interior room, comfort"

Cons: "none."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"As long as you maintain it properly, it just keeps spinning without a hitch. Everything works like new, after 15 years. It's very roomy - leg room is great for all, back seat seats 3 adults comfortably for long trips. Powertrain is smooth and powerful. V6 goes uphill with a slight hum. Confident handling."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I would BUY this car TODAY

By on Thursday, January 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 226,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable as the day it was built"

Cons: "Cloth seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I acquired this car with 120,000 miles and since have added 100,000. With regular maintenance, the engine purrs like new, the transmission is solid and smooth, all power accessories work like new. I did replace the factory radio with an aftermarket CD player. AWESOME means of transportation"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car. Still drives like a new one.

By on Friday, December 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable. Great gas mileage(22mpg). Dreamy ride"

Cons: "Getting some age on it. I still love it though."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If I were not turning 65 this year, I would continue to drive this car till the wheels fell off. But I feel like I need to go ahead and get a new one to retire with. The car still drives like a new one and gets great gas mileage (22 mpg - in town)."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

top notch, well worth the investment

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my third Avalon, a 1998 in 2006 when we needed a car for running errands, we purchased it with 130k and have driven it cross country three times and have never had one issue with it, like I said its our third Avalon and the oldest one we have owned, however it is our least costly one to keep on the road, I would say to anyone wanting a good used car, reliable, fuel economy, roomy, power, and any other adjective you want to throw in; buy a Avalon and buy peace of mind."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Still runs like new

By on Monday, December 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable, very roomy"

Cons: "Older models are prone to strut/front end problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Even after 200k miles, this car still runs like it's new (approx. $1,100 spent on struts"

Best car I ever owned

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Rides"

best car I have owned

By on Friday, December 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort and reliability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven over half of the US and never had any trouble, rides well in town and on the highway, is VERY comfortable inside, has been a wise investment"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best car i ever owned

By on Wednesday, December 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great car"

Cons: "after 12 years the green paints not holding up ha!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best car I ever owned have 160,000 had to have the timing belt changed and got a 2011 avalon as a loner from the dealer it was nice and had some nice features like rear view camara but did not come close to getting the gas milage that my 99 got. Toyota you need to go back to the 99 engine or what ever it was that you changed but until then i will drive this one until the wheels come off. I love my '99."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great running car, good gas mileage and dependable

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Freezing cold ac, 27 mpg, everyone who rides in it can't believe it isn't a lexus. Toyotas are GREAT!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned, @ 270,000 mies still going

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"still runs like new @270k miles"

I love this car still. It runs great.

By on Tuesday, November 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 283,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive and park."

Cons: "My CD does not work ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"New paint job, Interior seats redone."

Fantastic Car

By on Tuesday, November 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy (very comfy for 6 hour drives)"

Cons: "Small Cup Holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got my '97 Avalon as a college graduation present with 99K on it. I'm right at 240K miles and haven't had any kind of issue with it that wasn't general maintenance related. My mechanic told me he expected me to get another 100K out of it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best car ever own

By on Friday, November 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,436

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very nice ride"

Cons: "High miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One of the best cars I owned also have a chevy malbui and the avlon can beat the chevy any day of the week."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever owned!

By on Friday, November 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great ride"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car worth owning."

Hard to give up

By on Thursday, November 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Bench seat, who makes those anymore?"

Cons: "Could be a little more stylsh"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still driving after all these years cause hard to give up, amazing comfort and reliability"

the best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Monday, November 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 255,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for an approximate of 10 yrs now and it has been the best experience I have had with any other vehicle. This car runs great no major issues right now it has 255000 miles on it and I'm thinking to leave it to my son in five more years for him to drive it as his first car. I have no issues what so ever. Excellent car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Have owned over 50 vehicles, this is the best

By on Sunday, November 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best price for used luxury LOW maintenance"

Cons: "It's getting old"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned over 50 cars and I like this one the best for reliability, comfort and gas mileage for the size. Hve owned 4 Avalons so far and will continue with this model. Only reson I have had so many Avalon is because peopl I let drive, wreck them. They are getting harder to find. Don't know what I'll do when this one is trashed by someone else. At 180,000 miles I felt more comfortable and safer driving cross country in this car than my wifes 2004 Optima."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals