Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1998 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 313 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next

outstanding...will buy another avalon to replace

By on Wednesday, October 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"BEST CAR I EVER OWNED"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

loving it for over 265,000 miles - best car ever

By on Thursday, September 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable and reliable"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"When, as, if it dies, I'm afraid I'll never get another car this good."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Overall an amazingly designed vehicle.

By on Monday, September 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, price, resale value, great investment"

Cons: "Minor-Exterior appearance,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Its not a Lexus but it sure feels like it, which makes sense because its designs and mechanics are very similar if not exact. For its price, the consumer is getting outstanding reliability, great fuel efficiency (considering the size of the family car, and size of the engine), a comfortable smooth ride, in a classy spacious interior, equipped with an award winning engine. It's outdoor appearance it's deceiving, but the xls provides a leather, wood trim, and electrical everything including a moonroof which comes in handy every time."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Been greatest for 15 years

By on Tuesday, July 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "No problems ever."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car. Never been as pleased with anything else."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Amazing car

By on Monday, July 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been driving this car from 1 year, No problem at all."

The love of my life!

By on Tuesday, July 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Spacious and smooth riding"

Cons: "Bad speakers and square (?!) cupholders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car used a few years back for a steal, and I have completely fallen in love. He drives like a luxury car. The Avalon is road-quiet, roomy, and comfortable on long drives. No matter your size, or the size of your cargo, there will be plenty of room. Friends even call "backseat!" instead of "shotgun!" because of the incredible roominess. My Avalon still gets between 27-30mpg (yes 30!) on the highway. I can't wait to get another one!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Better than perfection

By on Thursday, May 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, comfort, acceleration"

Cons: "Bland exterior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car 6 years ago with 120,000 miles. I am the third owner. It has served me far better than I ever could have imagined with no unexpected maintenance costs. In the time I've owned the car I've put another 116,000 miles on it, driven it cross country several times, taken if off-roading in Arizona, on the beach in Florida, and cruised at 115 mph all day long in South Dakota. After all this I've replaced only breaks, break lines, CV axles, and a few suspension bushings and. This car has not been babied, and it continues to impress. Other than some minor rust issues this car is built to an incredible standard of quality."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Still going strong

By on Tuesday, May 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the car new and then gave it to my daughter. Has 205,000 and has had minimal mechanical problems. Enginewise, no problems and still gets 29MPG. Currently have to replace the temp. rheostat and the floor/defrost deflector switch. I am now a loyal toyota customer...currently in a Camry SE"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

98 Avalon keeps going, and going, and going

By on Saturday, May 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 337,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, roomy, comfortable"

Cons: "No complaints"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"1998 Avalon XLS owner and enthusiast. Currently 337,500+ plus miles with the original engine, and she still purrs like a kitten. I had the transmission rebuilt at 220,000 miles and friends and family thought I was crazy. I bought the lifetime alignment at Firestone at almost 300,000 miles. Who knows how many more 100's of thousands of miles I can get :-) I hear people say "You're STILL driving this thing." Hahahaha"

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Excellent Auto for Auto Enthusiast wanting comfort

By on Saturday, May 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Executive Style Car Gold Pearl Exterior Gold Trim"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent auto for auto enthusiast who wants to use personal touch to keep in excellent shape and enjoy a comfortable ride. 2nd Owner [ 1st Owner Retired Lady ]as I am. Excellent gas mileage, closer to 19 miles in city. Low maintenance, Oil changed every 3,000 miles. New Tires drives well. Easy to handle no strain [ I have been in Therapy for 2 years after previous Auto accident.] Brakes easily. Interior luxury Leather seats very conmfortable with Lumbar [ My back injuries never caused me pain ]. Heater works well in cold weather. Beautiful color and trim, shows off well at night reflects light well for safety. SunRoof shade gives good airflow without being uncomfortable in warm weather."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

It always gets you there and back home. Reliable!

By on Friday, April 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 423,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable. Excellent legroom front and esp. rear."

Cons: "Rides low and exceleration is moderate."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the 1995 Avalon XLS new in '95. I currently have 422,000 plus miles with the original engine and original transmission.Friends still cannot believe that I still have this car and use it everyday. No one believes the miles on it until they look at the odometer. I always hear,..."You got your monies worth.""

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

This is a GREAT, extremely reliable car

By on Sunday, April 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 264,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliabilty, low maintenance cost, comfort, safety."

Cons: "None - love it!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a used '98 Toyota Avalon XLS in 2005 with 70,000 miles on it. Eight years later it has 262,000 miles and the engine in still running beautifully. I finally needed to replace the transmission at about 240,000 miles, but who can complain about that? I was looking for a used car for my teen-aged daughter and found another '98 Avalon XLS with only 58,000 miles on it and bought it - she is thrilled with the car. It's comfortable, safe and reliable, and with just routine maintenance it appears it will go forever. I am so impressed that I can't recommend this car highly enough."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

2nd Avalon I've owned and both great

By on Monday, February 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Been driving for 35 years and have owned numerous vehicles and the Avalon beats them all by far."

I'd buy this car again in a hearbeat

By on Wednesday, January 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "1 speed intermit. wipers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'd buy this car again in a heartbeat; that's why I'm am looking here. Legendary Toyota reliability, better-than-average rust-belt corrosion protection. Incredibly reliable 4 door sedan. Fairly priced new and used."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Just topped 300k and still rolling.

By on Sunday, November 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i like to drive this car."

Great ride, comfort, gas mileage, reliabillity

By on Wednesday, October 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Definitely a delight to drive"

Cons: "static on the radio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Plan on keeping this vehicle. By holding the speedometer between 60 and 65 the rpms stay low and mileage averages 33 on hiway. Ride is quiet and smooth. I see no reason to sell or trade. I do have a problem with the radio in that there is a lot of static at times. It's wonderful to drive."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I love this car, runs great, nice looking,

By on Wednesday, September 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good price for what i paid for it, love driving it"

Cons: "Nothing really bad to say about this car,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Front view

"I had this car for two months and been great, having trouble with the oil pump i think if i could afford to get it fix i would keep but been on a fix income not possible, i love this car and hate to have to sale it, there's nothing like a Toyota and looking for anther one. this runs smoothly, good on gas, fully loaded i love this car going to miss my avalon. Hoping to be able to find another one."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Front view

Good value, dependable, comfortable, its a keeper!

By on Saturday, September 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "never failed to start, very comfortable,benchseat"

Cons: "cup holder in arm rest, seat divider is not secure"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has given us excellent service for the past 11 years, bought from a person who passed away and was to big for his wife, at 8500 miles, I wasted 11 years of motor club payments because I never needed them the car always started even after being out all night the the Wisconsin weather. My wife and I are now 82 & 82 yrs old and we love the bench seats, bucket seats are to hard to get in and out of. The paint is as good as the day it came out of the showroom,just the AM_FM would have been enough, very easy to handle, seeing we don't drive in rush hour and after dark unless we're stuck out, I think I just talked myself into keeping this car, we both respect and love our dependable transportation."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

just brought this car

By on Wednesday, August 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "i love to drive this car, rides great,"

Cons: "i really don't have nothing bad to say about this"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"when i got this i had to have the the engine clean of all the oil sludge that was build up (engine flush) but after that it runs ok, but i sill here knocking.but think i am going o sell it because don' have the money to fix it. but i love m Toyota's wouldn't take anything for them."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Reliable "Insiders Secret" Toyota

By on Sunday, July 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 202,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned and sold (1) 1997 and (2) 1999 Avalon XLS cars. These cars have varied in mileage from 40K ( 1997 bought in 1999 ) to 230000 miles. I suggest “Insiders Secret" because I am always made to realize that the Toyota Camry is, if not the one of the, most popular and recognized cars on the planet. So it becomes interesting to see that the same year/mileage Avalon will not fetch more resale dollars than the Camry. That said you will get: More luxury, features, reliability, room, and build quality with the Avalon hands down. This is good news for the buyer – not so great for the owner wanting to get a fair value amount for the sale of his/her likely beloved Avalon. The Avalon XLS is arguably twice the car of the Camry especially if you are looking for room and luxury. If one can get passed the Blah exterior design and the Plastiwood interior that can fade out all too soon this could be in my opinion considered one of the used car industry’s 10 best values especially in the budget minded < $4000 range cars available. Great leather, paint quality (unless abused or not maintained) - these should still be humming along like new 12 – 15 years later and on and on and on… If I do not rate all areas a solid 10 it is because I compare all cars to the benchmarks; Lexus, BMW . Mercedes and Audi’s. This car may not get you to the pool area of the Best Luxury Car party – but it will get you in and for the price of a Camry which won’t get you into the neighborhood. Not to put the Camry down – great little car and depending on the time of day; people’s choice but have these people driven the Avalon before they made their decision? – In my experience it never occurred to them. Toyota marketing team got too comfortable in their Avalon and fell asleep at the wheel."

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Great car, powerful and reliable

By on Wednesday, July 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my first car. I got it when it had 135000 miles on it. Although the check engine light was on (misfire code),it did not give any problems. But gas mileage is not that good, especially on local roads."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

True Blue

By on Tuesday, June 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best riding vehicle I have been in."

Cons: "Strut noise early on in car's life. Had to replac"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is the best car I have ever owned. Purchased it new and will keep it forever. Only have done routine maintenance with timing belt at 100K and strut bearing replacement at 80K. This is a car made for a comfortable ride and drives like dream. Cruises easily at 80 mph."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned

By on Tuesday, June 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, spacious"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car used in 2005 with 87,000 miles on it and have have run the mileage up to 205,000 with no major problems. I've driven it from Los Angeles to Toronto and back and it ran perfectly. It is extremely reliable and very comfortable. I feel like I'm in a luxury car and enjoy driving it every day. I hope I'm as happy with my next car. MPG is not too bad at 21 for a V6."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Awesome car in the history

By on Monday, April 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Luxury, Fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is like a dream. I feel like floating in air while driving this amazing car. I did not experience any issues with this car."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned this car for years and loved it"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals