Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1998 Toyota Avalon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 319 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next

THIS AVALON HAS EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS!!

By on Sunday, March 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "RUNS REAL GOOD"

Cons: "NEEDS SOME WORK"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"THIS CAR RUNS GREAT. LEATHER INTERIOR. PHENOMONAL SOUND SYSTEM WITH AM/FM RADIO AND CD PLAYER. IT WON'T LAST LONG AT THIS PRICE. READY TO HELP YOUR FAMILY. AM/FM RADIO AND CD PLAYER. MY FAMILY REALLY ENJOYS THE COMFORTABLE RIDE. THIS IS BASICALLY A LEXUS. GREAT FUEL MILEAGE. 25 MPG. $2,500"

NO WREAK HISTORY, VERY CLEAN IN & OUT

By on Wednesday, February 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,729

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "QUITE & SMOOTH RIDE"

Cons: "NO REAR CUP HOLDERS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2 OWNERS ONLY. 79,729 ORIGINAL MILES. EXCELLENT BODY"

The Avalon that never ends

By on Thursday, February 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 312,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Will not die"

Cons: "Will not die"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"312000 miles and keeps on driving! Past 7 years 2 batteries, 1 used strut, and 2 sets of tires = $1500. Mileage is great for an older car."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great road car. Smooth ride. Dependable.

By on Tuesday, February 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Newer 4-wheel gas struts, battery, tires, 120,000 mile double tip iridium spark plugs Regularly serviced. garage kept. Burgundy color. Original owner. Purchased new."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

This has been the very best car I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, February 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "It's just a great car!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE my car. Don't think I could ever really sell it. I have taken good care of it and it has taken good car of me!!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

new timing belt and water pump. New tires

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth riding, comfortable, enough power, peppy."

Cons: "auto. antenna does't work. Paint coming off RH mir"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Some small paint chips and paint coming off RH side mirror. Tinted glass."

Love this Car and looking for another one!!

By on Thursday, December 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "About everything."

Cons: "A little wind noise near driver's window"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned a 99 Avalon for nearly two years. This car runs, drives and handles EXCEPTIONALLY well. I prefer to drive this car over my 2012 Kia. Only issue I have had is one of the rear calipers started to stick and my check engine light came on. The light was easily fixed by putting a new $20 Toyota OE gas cap on. And, when I bought the car the sunroof would only pop up and wouldn't slide. No biggee because I dislike sunroofs anyway. I am constantly looking to buy another one that has been take care of. I honestly believe this 3.0 Engine will go over 300k miles. I get around 29 mpg on the highway."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great engine and good gas mileage

By on Saturday, November 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 244,730

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "The car is spacious and engine in good shape"

Cons: "rack and pin needs a little work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"The car still runs and has already been smogged and registered!!!!!!!!!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great investment

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Hold it's value after all these years."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my everyday car I've had it for a loooong time and it has really been good to me! I would never part with this vehicle willingly. Great on gas, minimal maintenance, very reliable, and still a nice looking car! If I had to do it all over again, I would do it in a heartbeat!"

13 people out of 19 found this review helpful

wonderfully dependable car!!

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So few issues over 17 years. Batteries and wiper blades. No serious problems. I will keep this car forever!"

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Avalon near Honolulu. See local deals