Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2006 Toyota 4Runner

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 871 Ratings for the 2003 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next

Smooth ride looks new inside and out

By on Saturday, May 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"SUV drives smooth clean title looks as new"

Excelllent SUV, Can't beat Toyota

By on Monday, April 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2003 bought 9/2/03 with 38 miles on it. Still runs fantastic, rides like a dream and very quiet on the road. All doors and windows are tight with no wind noise."

Last Forever

By on Tuesday, April 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "love having four wheel drive"

Cons: "no power seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car had never been to shop for anything except regular maintenance. had original spark plugs after 10 years and still was running Great. My husband changed them out because he was changing them in his own truck. when he realized they were the originals he was impressed with the car. everything is so smooth. you are always in a reliable car. and don't have to worry about breaking down. I would recommend this car to any moms out there!!!"

Pry it from my cold/dead hands!

By on Friday, April 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, (4x4) never stuck, good on road trips"

Cons: "Maybe gas mileage 18/23"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it brand new back in 2008 and 134K miles later, still going strong! I've kept up with all the fluid changes and preventive maintenance...have no doubt WHATSOEVER this SUV will give me yet ANOTHER 134K miles. The only maintenance I've ever done to this truck is a change in the front wheel bearings (at 133K) and a new battery (in 2014). Who can complain about that? Why can't they make wives this reliable and low maintenance? ;)"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best car i ever owned

By on Tuesday, April 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safe fun to drive reiable"

Cons: "gas can get pricey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best car i ever owned ,comfortable seats, great pick up, safe,fun to drive. reiable"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent SUV

By on Friday, April 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good riding, nice style, low maintenance"

Cons: "front cloth seating should more comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had the 4 runner for 7 yrs and only has 38000 miles, all scheduled oil changes have been done by Dealer and the only major expense was 4 new Michelin tires. It has an excellent ride and I like that year styling compared to the 2015 models. Also it does have a high trade in value among SUVs."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've ever had.

By on Thursday, March 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable, easy to drive, dependable"

Cons: "Expensive, paint has faded in places."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my 2003 4Runner new and still love it as much as the day I bought. I was hooked from the moment I test drove it. Most comfortable vehicle ever. In all these years only had a couple of minor issues. It has 178,000 miles and still runs great. Because of it's age and driving between FL & NC several times a year, I have thought about trading for something smaller but really hate to give up such a great (paid for) vehicle. Hate I've never got to try it out in the snow. Only regret is that I didn't get a V-6 instead of V-8 because of gas mileage. Highly recommend 4Runner."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Energizer Bunny

By on Sunday, March 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Consistent and reliable"

Cons: "Front seat leg room & driver comfort for a big guy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This vehicle is tremendous in the snow! Three feet is nothing for this vehicle to get through. It has power and decent comfort. Gas mileage is average for this type of vehicle and overall a great value."

14 people out of 22 found this review helpful

love this car and the ride has been very good.

By on Thursday, February 19, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: downsize

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great price and lots of fun to drive, outstanding."

Cons: "wouldn't change a thing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"car rides good, very dependable, comfortable on long trips. responds very well to upgrades."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

115,000 miles and we still love our 4 Runner

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great carry capacity."

Cons: "Not enough power outlets."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Excellent road vehicle and it is adaptable for carrying lots of luggage,landscape supplies and even appliances and furniture. Holds 5 people and luggage for them but vehicle is filled to capacity. We especially love the boxy shape because it hold much more than most SUV's which are not as boxy. We've carried stoves and furniture for ourselves and grown children. Ours has factory tow package which we've used a few times. 4 Runner performs very well when towing a trailer or another vehicle across country. We've easily kept up with traffic on the highway and have usually achieved 22 - 23 MPG without trailer and about 18 MPG with trailer. These are better values than other SUV's we've owned."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Will own 4Runners forever.

By on Saturday, January 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, exterior look, functionality, quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has been incredible. You cant put a price on getting into your truck and never having to worry if it is going to start. I do basic maintenance and have never had a problem."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best Truck Ever: Will Drop From Under Me :)

By on Monday, January 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Truck....great mileage..."

Cons: "None..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I brought my 4runner with about 40,000 miles on it in 2007, so it was used but was a lease so all of the maintenance was by the dealer. I have had zero issues with this truck and only had to replace the exhaust which was costly but over the years that I have had it, which eventually paid for itself. I have taken great care maintenance of this truck and believe that you take care of your automobile it will work and take care of you too :0) I am from a family of Toyota owners and had my first one 1999 new Toyota Corolla and put 200,000 miles and gave it to my unlce and she (grey daisy was her name) is still running great and now my 4runner is doing the same. I will always have a Toyota in my driveway and swear by the brand too :) Thanks Toyota!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

love this car.

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "a steady, stable workhorse"

Cons: "AC not the best"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"would retire this to Nantucket, but it is bigger than our garage. I am so comfortable driving this car!"

8 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Absolutely great car.......Zero problems ,

By on Sunday, January 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2nd 4runner and will buy a third. V8 with good mileage and plenty of power. overall 17 mpg on regular gas. upgraded the tires to 275/60/17 BF Goodrich. Rides like my Lexus."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Average reliability but costly for repairs.

By on Friday, December 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "easy on gas,good power"

Cons: "expensive to fix, parts,plugs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Parts are very expensive for this vehicle. The electronic brake modular went out and the part cost 2,800.00, with labor and tax the bill was 3,500.00. good gas mileage but the cost of the parts ate the savings up."

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

GREAT VEHICLE PERFECT 10

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride, looks, power reliability"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This 2008 4 runner is the best vehicle i have ever owned. The 4.o v-6 has plenty of power six yrs old with 62000 and have no intention of trading for many years. Same quality as the previous camrys I have had. GREAT VEHICLE!!!!"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

One tough SUV!!!!!!!!

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality, longevity, drivability, and value."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Toyota's quality is unmatched, no matter what Detroit says. Have had 4 Toyota's and now won't purchase anything else. Do you want a vehicle that will last 15 years and 200,000 miles??? - Get a Toyota, you won't be sorry."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

This has been a very good vehicle

By on Monday, December 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "dependable and roomy, comfortable and fun to drive"

Cons: "no automatic hatch release/no heated seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"While I did not get all the bells and whistles on this model/ it has provided me with the dependability I was looking for. It fits me perfectly for a higher off the road vehicle but not big and bulky to drive. It is fun yet provides the necessary space I need for dog cages to child safety to adequate room for all my 'stuff'. I hope to have this vehicle for a very long time and have no desire to get rid of it as long as it continues to serve me as well as it has. I really do enjoy this vehicle a lot."

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Safe,Reliable,Comfortable,yet rugged.Good mpg

By on Wednesday, November 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Safe,Reliable,Comfortable,yet rugged.Good mpg"

Cons: "Short warranty with Toyota"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love love love it. When it is time I will replace with another 4runner. Reliable, safe, comfort, yet rugged. Never have been stuck, and I live in Michigan. The rear window goes down, allowing more space for hauling without having to leave the rear hatch open. Good gas mileage compared to vehicles in its class. Does not nickel and dime with repairs. Built to last. Many sissy bars, easily accessible for elderly."

13 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have own

By on Friday, November 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "It is not a sports car,but overall its a great car"

Cons: "plastic trims needs to be a better grade"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Never had any trouble with this SUV for the past 8 years.The only time it was in the garage was for service."

10 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Another great Toyota!

By on Friday, November 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent in the winter. Comfortable. Reliable."

Cons: "I can't seem to come up with anything."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle used (one owner), with about 50k miles. My wife has used it as a daily driver for over four years, and it now has 110,000 miles. I can honestly say that the vehicle has never been in the shop. I have owned nine Toyota vehicles now, and I am just as happy with this one as I was with all the rest."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I bought this car brand new in 2003.

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm just sick and tired of it, I want something new. This car doesn't let me think of a new car, it just keeps going and going as reliable as ever. The only thing I spent on this car was car wash, oil change, and tires... that's it. It will still go for another 200 thousand miles with no problems maybe, but I don't This car worth every penny and more. I wish American cars weir as close to this in reliability."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

2005 4runner SR5 is SOLID!

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "solid, reliable SUV, low cost of ownership"

Cons: "wish it had more tech, less road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my runner when it was 4 yrs old (off lease) and it's been by far the most reliable, capable vehicle I've ever had and I've owned a lot of cars over the years. it's the first one that I've committed to keeping long term. It's a work horse and has had NO mechanical issues in the 5+ years I've owned it other than normal wear/tear. Even the guy at the dealership told me that I had an awesome year/model and I agreed. I hope to have this runner in the fam until the wheels fall off!"

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

this is very nice car and drive so so so great.

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,570

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My 4runner runs so so so great.there is no issues in this car .the only thing is there are little scartches on the dashboard,thats it.there is no more work in it.i just changed the routers like a month ago."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Sunday, November 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Just fun to drive/dependable/great height."

Cons: "No memory seat for driver side."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hands down the best vehicle I have ever owned (driving 35 years). Very dependable; never feared rain or snow which there was plenty of here in southern New England. Very comfortable driving highway, backroads and city. Liked being higher than a sedan. Size is perfect for family lifestyle. It fit family of 5 (but often one away in college); ski equipment in the winter, golf equipment in the summer. I commuted 40 miles/day non highway and averaged 20-21 mpg first 5-6 years. Last 1-2 years, average 19-20 mpg. Very good about recommended oil changes every 5000 miles, did not need breaks until over 135,000. Would like very much to give car to kids and get new 4Runner for updated technology gadgets only. We'll see!"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota 4Runner near Honolulu. See local deals