Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 865 Ratings for the 2003 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Best vehicle I've ever had.

By on Thursday, March 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable, easy to drive, dependable"

Cons: "Expensive, paint has faded in places."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my 2003 4Runner new and still love it as much as the day I bought. I was hooked from the moment I test drove it. Most comfortable vehicle ever. In all these years only had a couple of minor issues. It has 178,000 miles and still runs great. Because of it's age and driving between FL & NC several times a year, I have thought about trading for something smaller but really hate to give up such a great (paid for) vehicle. Hate I've never got to try it out in the snow. Only regret is that I didn't get a V-6 instead of V-8 because of gas mileage. Highly recommend 4Runner."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Energizer Bunny

By on Sunday, March 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Consistent and reliable"

Cons: "Front seat leg room & driver comfort for a big guy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This vehicle is tremendous in the snow! Three feet is nothing for this vehicle to get through. It has power and decent comfort. Gas mileage is average for this type of vehicle and overall a great value."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

love this car and the ride has been very good.

By on Thursday, February 19, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: downsize

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great price and lots of fun to drive, outstanding."

Cons: "wouldn't change a thing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"car rides good, very dependable, comfortable on long trips. responds very well to upgrades."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

115,000 miles and we still love our 4 Runner

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great carry capacity."

Cons: "Not enough power outlets."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Excellent road vehicle and it is adaptable for carrying lots of luggage,landscape supplies and even appliances and furniture. Holds 5 people and luggage for them but vehicle is filled to capacity. We especially love the boxy shape because it hold much more than most SUV's which are not as boxy. We've carried stoves and furniture for ourselves and grown children. Ours has factory tow package which we've used a few times. 4 Runner performs very well when towing a trailer or another vehicle across country. We've easily kept up with traffic on the highway and have usually achieved 22 - 23 MPG without trailer and about 18 MPG with trailer. These are better values than other SUV's we've owned."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Will own 4Runners forever.

By on Saturday, January 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, exterior look, functionality, quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has been incredible. You cant put a price on getting into your truck and never having to worry if it is going to start. I do basic maintenance and have never had a problem."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best Truck Ever: Will Drop From Under Me :)

By on Monday, January 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Truck....great mileage..."

Cons: "None..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I brought my 4runner with about 40,000 miles on it in 2007, so it was used but was a lease so all of the maintenance was by the dealer. I have had zero issues with this truck and only had to replace the exhaust which was costly but over the years that I have had it, which eventually paid for itself. I have taken great care maintenance of this truck and believe that you take care of your automobile it will work and take care of you too :0) I am from a family of Toyota owners and had my first one 1999 new Toyota Corolla and put 200,000 miles and gave it to my unlce and she (grey daisy was her name) is still running great and now my 4runner is doing the same. I will always have a Toyota in my driveway and swear by the brand too :) Thanks Toyota!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

love this car.

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "a steady, stable workhorse"

Cons: "AC not the best"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"would retire this to Nantucket, but it is bigger than our garage. I am so comfortable driving this car!"

8 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Absolutely great car.......Zero problems ,

By on Sunday, January 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2nd 4runner and will buy a third. V8 with good mileage and plenty of power. overall 17 mpg on regular gas. upgraded the tires to 275/60/17 BF Goodrich. Rides like my Lexus."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Average reliability but costly for repairs.

By on Friday, December 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "easy on gas,good power"

Cons: "expensive to fix, parts,plugs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Parts are very expensive for this vehicle. The electronic brake modular went out and the part cost 2,800.00, with labor and tax the bill was 3,500.00. good gas mileage but the cost of the parts ate the savings up."

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

GREAT VEHICLE PERFECT 10

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride, looks, power reliability"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This 2008 4 runner is the best vehicle i have ever owned. The 4.o v-6 has plenty of power six yrs old with 62000 and have no intention of trading for many years. Same quality as the previous camrys I have had. GREAT VEHICLE!!!!"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

One tough SUV!!!!!!!!

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality, longevity, drivability, and value."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Toyota's quality is unmatched, no matter what Detroit says. Have had 4 Toyota's and now won't purchase anything else. Do you want a vehicle that will last 15 years and 200,000 miles??? - Get a Toyota, you won't be sorry."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

This has been a very good vehicle

By on Monday, December 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "dependable and roomy, comfortable and fun to drive"

Cons: "no automatic hatch release/no heated seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"While I did not get all the bells and whistles on this model/ it has provided me with the dependability I was looking for. It fits me perfectly for a higher off the road vehicle but not big and bulky to drive. It is fun yet provides the necessary space I need for dog cages to child safety to adequate room for all my 'stuff'. I hope to have this vehicle for a very long time and have no desire to get rid of it as long as it continues to serve me as well as it has. I really do enjoy this vehicle a lot."

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Safe,Reliable,Comfortable,yet rugged.Good mpg

By on Wednesday, November 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Safe,Reliable,Comfortable,yet rugged.Good mpg"

Cons: "Short warranty with Toyota"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love love love it. When it is time I will replace with another 4runner. Reliable, safe, comfort, yet rugged. Never have been stuck, and I live in Michigan. The rear window goes down, allowing more space for hauling without having to leave the rear hatch open. Good gas mileage compared to vehicles in its class. Does not nickel and dime with repairs. Built to last. Many sissy bars, easily accessible for elderly."

13 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have own

By on Friday, November 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "It is not a sports car,but overall its a great car"

Cons: "plastic trims needs to be a better grade"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Never had any trouble with this SUV for the past 8 years.The only time it was in the garage was for service."

10 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Another great Toyota!

By on Friday, November 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent in the winter. Comfortable. Reliable."

Cons: "I can't seem to come up with anything."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle used (one owner), with about 50k miles. My wife has used it as a daily driver for over four years, and it now has 110,000 miles. I can honestly say that the vehicle has never been in the shop. I have owned nine Toyota vehicles now, and I am just as happy with this one as I was with all the rest."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I bought this car brand new in 2003.

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm just sick and tired of it, I want something new. This car doesn't let me think of a new car, it just keeps going and going as reliable as ever. The only thing I spent on this car was car wash, oil change, and tires... that's it. It will still go for another 200 thousand miles with no problems maybe, but I don't This car worth every penny and more. I wish American cars weir as close to this in reliability."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

2005 4runner SR5 is SOLID!

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "solid, reliable SUV, low cost of ownership"

Cons: "wish it had more tech, less road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my runner when it was 4 yrs old (off lease) and it's been by far the most reliable, capable vehicle I've ever had and I've owned a lot of cars over the years. it's the first one that I've committed to keeping long term. It's a work horse and has had NO mechanical issues in the 5+ years I've owned it other than normal wear/tear. Even the guy at the dealership told me that I had an awesome year/model and I agreed. I hope to have this runner in the fam until the wheels fall off!"

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

this is very nice car and drive so so so great.

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,570

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My 4runner runs so so so great.there is no issues in this car .the only thing is there are little scartches on the dashboard,thats it.there is no more work in it.i just changed the routers like a month ago."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Sunday, November 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Just fun to drive/dependable/great height."

Cons: "No memory seat for driver side."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hands down the best vehicle I have ever owned (driving 35 years). Very dependable; never feared rain or snow which there was plenty of here in southern New England. Very comfortable driving highway, backroads and city. Liked being higher than a sedan. Size is perfect for family lifestyle. It fit family of 5 (but often one away in college); ski equipment in the winter, golf equipment in the summer. I commuted 40 miles/day non highway and averaged 20-21 mpg first 5-6 years. Last 1-2 years, average 19-20 mpg. Very good about recommended oil changes every 5000 miles, did not need breaks until over 135,000. Would like very much to give car to kids and get new 4Runner for updated technology gadgets only. We'll see!"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Sunday, November 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Just fun to drive/dependable/great height."

Cons: "No memory seat for driver side."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hands down the best vehicle I have ever owned (driving 35 years). Very dependable; never feared rain or snow which there was plenty of here in southern New England. Very comfortable driving highway, backroads and city. Liked being higher than a sedan. Size is perfect for family lifestyle. It fit family of 5 (but often one away in college); ski equipment in the winter, golf equipment in the summer. I commuted 40 miles/day non highway and averaged 20-21 mpg first 5-6 years. Last 1-2 years, average 19-20 mpg. Very good about recommended oil changes every 5000 miles, did not need breaks until over 135,000. Would like very much to give car to kids and get new 4Runner for updated technology gadgets only. We'll see!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

See Below

By on Friday, October 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the original owner - car has always been kept in a garage. Original mileage - Was protected by Butler Service regularly.... Silver Grey - Very smooth ride - Holds the road well..."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

GOOD VALUE FOR THE MONEY

By on Sunday, October 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,540

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"its hard to fine much thats wrong with this truck. i bought this 2005 sr5 in 2011 with 89k. i wanted an suv and as soon as i saw it at dealership i knew would be a good buy. the ride is great i like those huge mirrors. i have put about 21k in almost three years. went from harrisburg,Pa to Ocean city 3 times and this thing just keeps running. with the V6 engine the accelaration is great. im sure it will running much longer than some those newer suvs i see on the road. i would definitely recommend this truck to anyone looking for a great value."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

excellent car all around.own it for 10 years 0 pro

By on Saturday, October 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "excellent car overall"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excellent quality ,performance,power,craftmanship."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

best suv tha tit is fun to drive

By on Tuesday, September 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, safe to drive,"

Cons: "mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would recommend this SUV to anyone"

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

definitely a great recommendable vehicle

By on Sunday, September 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My 4runner has been the best investment for me. I've kept up with the maintenance and that has helped with the longetivity of the vehicle ... I definitely would recommend this vehicle! Great family SUV."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota 4Runner near Honolulu. See local deals