Go

2001 Toyota 4Runner

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 855 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 171 | Next

Excellent vehicle, very reliable!

By on Saturday, August 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 171,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent and reliable vehicle from all points of view"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own this car now for 11 years and is driving like new. Excellent engine and pretty good on gas comparable with newer models!Never have any issues other that normal tear and wear (tires, brakes, belts). High value retention, too. Highly recommended."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

A good running vehicle

By on Thursday, May 5, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable and safe"

Cons: "check out design defect on 2wd 2 piece drive shaft"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The 2wd 4runner has a design defect in the drive shaft. It will cause the rear axle wheel bearings and aventually cause the tranmission to go out if the drive shaft is not replaced. Other than this it's a great vehicle."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

The Perfect Vehicle

By on Tuesday, June 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great safety record, very high value retention, very well built and doesn't need repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 4Runner new in 2000 and am still driving it 11 years later. I've only ever had to make very minor repairs to it. I can't believe how well this car has help up. Only repairs needed in 11 years: - replaced electrical antenna (approx 4 yrs after purchase) - replaced molding under driver seat that came dislodged from pressure of sliding in and out of drivers seat. (6 yrs) - A/C fan no longer blows on lowest setting, but still functions on all other setting (11 yrs) - turn signal occasionally needs to be turned off and turned back on to blink (11 yrs)"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very dependable vehicle

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 203,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very enjoyable to drive still with high miles"

Cons: "Driver seat wears too much . no other complaints"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle has been the most reliable vehicle I have own ed. Even with 203000 miles it still runs and drives great. Right now I am getting a major check up by a reliable mechanic to maintain its condition and keep it running for another 100k miles. Body and interior are still in excellent condition except for drivers seat showing wear."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

LOVE my 4runner

By on Tuesday, October 1, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, Utility"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my 96 SR5 from my old man in 2005 when it had 90K miles and it has treated me very, very well. Only problems I've had were EGR valve and a radiator leak. All the rest has been preventive maintenance. Doesn't have a ton of power and doesn't get the best mileage in the world, but it's an older SUV, so I shouldn't complain. Does great on and off road, and pulls my 6x12 enclosed trailer full of stuff just fine. Blue book probably says its only worth 4500, but there's no way I'd sell it for that."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 171 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota 4Runner near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement