Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2001 Toyota 4Runner

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 793 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
 

Best car I ever owned. 12 years! Can't let it go!

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Never ending reliability"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Seriously, the best car I have ever owned. 12 years and not a single problem. So low maintenance. I've had a BMW and a LEXUS and a Jeep (never again) and am completely devoted to the 4Runner. Big, but not enormous. Ok, gas mileage isn't great but it is a fair tradeoff for the safety of a heavy vehicle."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned other than my Supra

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The best,"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very dependable vehicle

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 203,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very enjoyable to drive still with high miles"

Cons: "Driver seat wears too much . no other complaints"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle has been the most reliable vehicle I have own ed. Even with 203000 miles it still runs and drives great. Right now I am getting a major check up by a reliable mechanic to maintain its condition and keep it running for another 100k miles. Body and interior are still in excellent condition except for drivers seat showing wear."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle new off the show room

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 274,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very dependable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"floor. I have absolutely no problems with this vehicle. I have made a point of getting the routine and needed maintenance, as a result I have been worry free for 15years. Thank you Toyota!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Indestructible

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Indestructible, reliable, roomy interior"

Cons: "Bad cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It won't die, no matter what I do to it. When I bought it several years ago, it needed quite a bit of work. I did the mechanical and ignored the cosmetic, so the running boards are covered with duct tape, and the radio's volume knob is missing. My two objections: it's a little top-heavy and wants to slide on wet pavement, and the cup holders suck -- they put the beverage in front of the vents, and the beverage blocks my view of the radio and AC/heat controls. My favorite small but fabulous feature is the AC/heat vent that aims into my lap from under the steering wheel. I plan to drive it until it won't drive anymore, which should be forever. After all, it only has 212k miles on it."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great SUV. Its a tank. You will own this forever.

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 320,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, cool, off road ability"

Cons: "Mileage (kinda), cup holders...... that's it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Just welded a home made bumper on it.

"Seriously just keeps on rolling. I named mine tumble weed for that reason. I have abused my yota, and it keeps ticking. As long as you keep up with the timing belt maintenance, you will never break down. The only bad thing about them is the cup holder situation. Mine is a 97 and the 4runner didnt get better cupholders until about 2001. Other than that, you can drive it anywhere and back without a worry in the world."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Just welded a home made bumper on it.

Great Vehicle

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great vehicle"

Cons: "kinda soft suspension for a truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"All I have to say is it has been a very, very good and reliable vehicle. I do all my own repairs. All parts a still available and are only maybe 5 to 10% more than the equivalent Chevy or Ford part."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Absolute best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 450,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best reliability ever."

Cons: "Still rides like a truck, but not bad."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the vehicle in 1999 with 52K miles on it. Have had the vehicle now 15 years and have added approximately 400K more. My maintenance consists primarily of oil changes for high mileage vehicles, fluid top offs and the occasional radiator flush and AC service. It has never let me down. At roughly 450K miles, I'm about to have my first major repair, having several engine oil leaks repaired at a cost of $1300. The vehicle still runs well inspite of the small leaks. Not bad for a 17 year old vehicle, and physically, it still looks almost new. I have told friends and family many times, I will never not own at least one Toyota."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I've loved my 4runner for 12yrs. Been a great ride

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 216,150

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
2/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Very nice suv for a long time....moved a lot of stuff and drove well n it easy to handle."

outstanding automonile!!!

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dollar for dollar can't beat it!!!"

Cons: "location ofcup holders and floor lighting NONE!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck when I worked at a Toyota dealership w 188000 miles on it and just one owner and knowing the mileage I still bought it and paid $7800 for it and it has been worth every penny!!! Rides like a dream, not a single rattle and is loaded with every option available at that time and there is not one single thing that doesn't work, even the rear heater is great! In this case mileage made no difference to me, I would by it again. Since I I still own it I don'nt have to...lol... Great job Toyota!!! P.S. the only thing I don't like is the cup holders.. very stupid to put them right in front of the air-vent, and no floor lighting is also a real drag!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This is my fourth 4Runner!!

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this model so much that I refuse to purchase new-instead I intend to put all of my energy into getting my 'Jade Runner' back to new."

A very reliable vehicle.

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable and rugged."

Cons: "Fuel economy is not among its best attributes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this SUV since new and never had a major repair, just the usual service items. It has been very reliable but it is time to move on to a new vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best suv ever

By on Sunday, April 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives great"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love this car and would advise everyone to own one"

Excellent vehicle. Quality is tops.

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,023

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality."

Cons: "Trucky handling and ride, but it is a work horse"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned this 4Runner 14 years and have had excellent service. It still uses no oil between changes and everything works. I did replace the starter on it once but other than the maintenance schedule, have done nothing to it other than the normal wear items of brakes and tires."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this truck

By on Monday, April 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Feels reliable and safe"

Cons: "The newer trucks are not the same"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this truck. I test drove a new one and it was not the same as my 2002 4runner."

Absolutely best ever

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable -always starts - classic look - good ride"

Cons: "gas mileage - can be tippy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"When my granddaughter told me I needed a new car, I said to her, "Darling, cars are like men. When you find a good one,that gives you little trouble, doesn't cost much, keep it - even when it goes out of style." That's this car - the best, most reliable, steady-Eddy I ever owned. 8000miles/yr - very low maintenance - It's a long-term winner."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Very Reliable, Strong, Powerful SUV

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 231,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Engine is excellent, ETC power, alloy wheels"

Cons: "Gas mileage, and position of cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am the orignal owner of my '97 4Runner SR5/4WD. I have high expections and it deliveries. I have had no major engine or component issues. Timing belt was replaced twice each 80K. Gas mileage could be better I am aveaging about 18 mpg combined, it better on the highway. It has pretty much kept it's value."

Like a loyal friend

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "4wd setup, rear window, reliability, durability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this 4runner in 2002 with 20k miles. Put some Old Man Emu shocks and springs on it and have been happy every since I've owned it. The harder I drive it the better it runs. I take it off road every chance I get and have dogged the heck out of it and it just keeps going. I still smile everytime I get in it to drive it. Love the 2wd, permanent 4wd, 4hi /4lo set up. Don't know if I can own a vehicle without a power back window ever again. It's the perfect size; small enough for trails and parking lots but large enough to lay the back seats down and sleep in during camping trips. Tows a 19ft boat with ease and has withstood Labrador Retrievers pouncing on the seats for 12 yrs. Bottom line: it tows, it hauls, has good road manners and very capable off roading straight out of the box."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Toyota 4Runners and 4 wheel drive trucks AAA+.

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,180

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "4+4's pricey but best,Cars best in all catagories."

Cons: "I perfer the 1979 price than the 2014 price."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned 3 Toyota 4Runners all 4+4's but one, four Toyota 4+4 trucks, 3 Toyota cars, Celica, Avalon and Camry most exceeding 100,000 to 200,000 thousand miles. Not one has ever failed, not even a flaw. My wife loves her Toyota for handling, sporty, most of all reliability. I perform routine servicing, oil & filter change, air filter, antifreeze, lube, cleaning interior and exterior. I do purchase extreme off-road tires for hunting, keep original tires for driving. I purchased a 1979 Toyota 4+4 truck and have owned one ever since. They are extremely durable and reliable. As an avid outdoorsman, hunting, fishing locally and abroad, Toyota is all I will buy. I've owned 5 other manufacturers 4+4's, a couple high end models, all left me stranded. You maintain your Toyota they will maintain you."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

WORTH WAAAAY MORE THAN $5000!!! Way More!!!

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "EVERYTHING!!!"

Cons: "Wished I bought one sooner."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The TRUE VALUE of your Toyota 4Runner is based on the TRUE VALUE and what people are WILLING to pay for it. Because it is such an AWESOME, RELIABLE, GREAT Truck, it is worth waaaaay more than this Blue Book says in my opinion. Just ask any 4Runner owner that stops by you. In the WA state area these are selling for $8-10k with ease."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Read Consumer reports before purchase in 2002

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable. Well built. V-6 gets down the road"

Cons: "Location of cupholder."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2nd owner of my 97 V-6 SR5. Purchased in 2002 with 45K miles for 22,000.00 from dealership. Never a problem and now has 156000 miles. At 90K I had the timing belt done and my Toyota mechanic ( who is a friend ) said it did not need to be replaced-that the belt was fine. There was a recall on the rear coil spring that Toyota covered in 2002. We Change oil every 3000 get tires rotated and I keep garaged and clean. Runs like new and truck is still tight. The only complaint I have is the location of the cupholder. I have had people ask me what year it is as they want one. I will never sell it and to me it is worth way more than KBB shows."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I WILL NEVER SELL THIS CAR SO DON'T ASK

By on Sunday, March 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great investment and a pleasure to drive."

Cons: "not new"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Kelly valued my car at $4,036, I paid about $15,000 second hand off a dealership and I will never sell my car! Men have asked to buy my car and I wonder why they want it; I know why I won't sell it. My car is worth more than $4k, it's 4 cylinders and it's the best money I ever spent. What ever my car needs I get it and give it to her. She is parked all year in doors. I use her for my cake deliveries and she has taken me to Key West Florida 4 times with no problem, My foot already knows how fast we are doing, I love my car if I buy or want another car I will have two because she is mine until death do us part."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My video 

My Toyota rides nicer than the scenery looks.!!!!!!!!!

This is an excellent SUV

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Extremely low maintenance for 210000mi"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Rain or snow or freeway this Forerunner works just fine."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Daily Driver, Great Off-road, Very Reliable

By on Tuesday, February 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 305,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great off-road, very reliable."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a very reliable vehicle. No matter how many miles are on it. As long as it's been taken care of, it will run forever. It's great off-road. It's great in the snow, it's great on any terrain. Even stock, it will get you through any terrain. Mine has 305k miles and runs like new. The 3.4 liter V6 is one of the best engines Toyota has ever made. The only thing I don't like about this vehicle, is the front suspension. Toyota should have put a solid axel in these, instead of IFS."

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

good condition, only one owner

By on Thursday, January 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,651

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"good condition, only one owner"

 
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota 4Runner near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details