Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2001 Toyota 4Runner

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 825 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Best Vehicle I have ever owned

By on Saturday, April 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, quality and value"

Cons: "radio antenna, cup holder, gas mil low 20's hwy?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a reliable well running vehicle. I've owned a few other autos and this has been the best ever. I keep it because it just keeps going. Just traveled cross country with out a hitch! Just do the maintenance on this vehicle and you will have a truck that will last easily over 300,000 miles. This con is the cup holder and the antennae for the radio. Other than that it seems to run as smoothly as the day I bought it. No transmission or engine issues other than old age ( alternator changed, and one fuel injector) in over 15 years. Thats it!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best and Most Reliable Vechicle I have ever owned

By on Friday, April 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun ti drive and reliable"

Cons: "little narrow to cram 3 wide into the back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2.7 4 Cylinder Engine is the most reliable I have ever seen and will run for ever"

- great 4WD vehicle in every way

By on Tuesday, April 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, great value"

Cons: "High mileage, but still runs as new."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am the original owner of this fine vehicle. It still looks and runs wonderfully!"

Superb vehicle

By on Monday, April 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 335,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, durable, capable, great off road, hauls"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Incredibly reliable and durable truck. Have taken it on many touch four wheel drive trails and thousands of miles of general rough roads with great performance. Has never stranded me. The only issues have been expected for the mileage, such as a wheel bearing. Hauls a lot of gear and people. Spacious yet maneuverable. Easy to take the rear seats out for a little over 6 feet of room to sleep or haul boards, appliances, furniture, and other large items. The sliding rear window is nice for this too and is a great feature."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Monday, March 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love my Toyota. Never had a problem in almost 13 yrs. It's just time to move on. I want to get something smaller. Bought new, only owner. Great SUV!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best truck I've ever owned.

By on Sunday, March 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Lasts forever, great 4X4 handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never had any major problems with this vehicle."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Drove her off the showroom floor... LOVE HER!!!

By on Monday, March 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle I have ever owned!!! The picture submitted was taken in the fall of 2014. I know it sounds weird but I tell her every time I wash her how beautiful she is which is very often. She still looks brand-new and runs like a champ."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I LOVE MY 4 RUNNER!

By on Saturday, March 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,400

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easy drive, solid, fun."

Cons: "Could use paint touchups where sun has faded it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle when it was a year old and have lovingly taken care of it. Great for car camping, hauling bikes, carrying kids and is solid. I have used a Toyota dealer to have it serviced and never taken it anywhere else. All service records are available if desired. The age appropriate wear and tear such as fading roof and some fading on hood as it is burgundy in color. Minor scratches and dings from doors. Factory installed radio died about two years ago and I had CD/Radio/Blue Tooth installed by Best Buy. Back rear taillight is cracked; I have a new one but just haven't put it in...included with the car. Factory rack is installed. Has tow package and is ready to tow."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Worth every penny spent!

By on Sunday, March 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Value, dependable and style"

Cons: "cup holder but newer models fix this!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Such a great SUV with style! Very rugged, reliable and it keeps on ticking! I will definitely invest in another one just like this one. This vehicle will NOT let you down."

13 people out of 28 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Thursday, February 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,892

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No comment needed. I could go on forever. Best truck ever."

Bullet Proof

By on Monday, February 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 171,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Dependability, style. Great in snow."

Cons: "Less than smooth ride, low gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2000 4Runner with 100,000 miles on it. It now has 171,000 and still runs strong. Great in snow and has survived two teenage drivers! Can't say enough. Just do routine maintenance and it just keeps running."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

1999 Toyota 4Runner is the best car ever made

By on Friday, February 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 285,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Stable, reliable, safe"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new in 1999 and have driven it every where. My 4Runner has traveled 285,000 miles. It is a high-clearance 4-wheel drive and I love it. It is reliable and has never let me down. I love sitting up high where I can see everything on the road ahead, behind and beside me. Since the car sits so high, the driver must not make any quick turns, but that has not been a problem for me for 15 years. I am aware and avoid doing this. I have the 4Runner serviced at the dealership where I bought it. The service representatives always try to buy it from me. After reading the reviews of other owners, I know why. A few months ago I was at a dinner and met a man who previously owned the Toyota dealership in Santa Fe, NM. I told him how pleased I was the my 4Runner. He said I could probably get 700,000 miles on it before buying a new vehicle. I could not be more pleased with any car."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I ever had

By on Thursday, February 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck holds up to rear end crash, front end crash and side door very well. Although my airbags have never gone off, but the people who have hit me have been going 45 to 55 MPH and the vehicle due to being metal and not plastic does more damage to the persons car hitting me then my Toyota. Im looking for the same year to replace the one that was just totaled because I was hit on the freeway from rear corner and broke the back axle. If axle hadnt of broken I would push to get it fixed."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Saturday, January 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "overall great rig"

Cons: "power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned a 2000 4runner since it was new. No problems with this rig."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

2000 4Runner--GREAT vehicle!!

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything is a POSITIVE with the 4Runner!"

Cons: "No side airbags..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable, comfortable, strong, beautiful, classy style--what a great ride!!"

Dependable quality ride

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Substantial Could take a lick in a crash"

Cons: "High center of gravity"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Owned this 1999 unlimited for 8 years. Safe heavy dependable substantial comes to mind. 260k currently on odometer. High center of gravity must be considered therefore would not recommend for a new driver."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Wonderful Vehicle

By on Monday, December 22, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: time for a new car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only complaint I ever had about my 1999 4runner is that the AC could barely be felt when I had it set at low, but when I put it on the next setting up (1) it was like I was in a refrigerator. Anyway, I loved this car for 15 years, never had any real problems. It is going to a good home tomorrow. Sad to end this stage of my car life. Such an awesome car."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

new P 265 70 R 16 Firestone LE 2 Tires

By on Friday, December 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive in deep snow! Seems un stopable!!"

Cons: "Ride is a bit branny but exspect that on rugged fr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Rebuilt drive shaft with all new bearings"

this a good conditions car and don't have any mach

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,674

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I can recomended for a y person ego want to buy"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best vehicle

By on Friday, November 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great car"

Cons: "front seat adjustment not too good"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very good suv"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

this rEALLY IS the best vehicle I've ever had.

By on Tuesday, November 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,549

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Just LOVE the whole look and operation."

Cons: "uses a lot of gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I don't know the value of my truck for the rating above, that is why I am on this site. It has the power of a truck, but the smooth ride of a car. I always get comments on how great the "ride" is. Am thinking of upgrading, so need help putting a value on this truck. It has been "A GOOD ONE" for me over the past years. I love my 16" wheels so I can see over cars on the Interstates, and spot signs."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

These Used Toyota 4 Runners are BULLIT PROOF !!!

By on Friday, November 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "It will get you there and back safely !!"

Cons: "Rides like a Truck,a bit under powered !!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you are in the Market for a Terrific 4 Wheel drive Vehicle, You cant do better than a Toyota 4 Runner no matter what the miles on it !! Do a search and try and find one used,from 1995 to 2005 there just are not any around !! There plenty of Jeeps,Ford Explorers,a ton of GMC's and Chevys 4X4's and only a few 4 Runners,that in it;s self should tell you something !"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

an owesome sport vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 391,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "awesome"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No words can describe what this vehicle has meant to me.Been with me for 13 years."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

One of the best built vehicles hands down!

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 248,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very dependable, long lasting, and great value!"

Cons: "No rear air, tight interior."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 4Runner in 2003 with about 26,000 miles on it and have been driving it ever since. Tons of big mileage trips loaded with gear, easy 4x4ing, and plenty of hauling, this car has done right by me! Eleven years later with a total 248,000+ miles and it's still running well. Aside from the regular maintenance, over the years I've replaced all the shocks/struts, brakes, inner/outer tie rod ends, sway bar & steering rack bushings. The only major repairs which all seemed to happen in the same year included replacement of the transmission at 230,000 miles (when it finally gave out), a new cat, and a total cleaning of the fuel intake system which had years of carbon build up. It's lost some of it's fuel efficiency and you can tell the power isn't what it used to be, but it still a dependable driver and fully capable road trip/camping vehicle. I've owned some great GMC & Ford 3/4 ton pickups as well as my share of cars from VW, Ford, Mazda, Pontiac, and Dodge but have to say that Toyota did it right with the 2001 4Runner. It is a well made, dependable, long running vehicle and I will keep on driving it to at least 300k!"

23 people out of 34 found this review helpful

BEST I'VE EVER OWNED

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 471,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable Reliable Reliable"

Cons: "Could have more leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased this new with 52 miles showing. 471,000 miles later I still take it on trips under 250 miles. I drive 110 miles round trip to work 5 days a week. Never had an issue other than changed starter (2006) and alternator (2012). Going to buy another to replace it shortly."

20 people out of 34 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota 4Runner near Honolulu. See local deals