Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2000 Toyota 4Runner

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 803 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 33 | Next

an owesome sport vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 391,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "awesome"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No words can describe what this vehicle has meant to me.Been with me for 13 years."

One of the best built vehicles hands down!

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 248,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very dependable, long lasting, and great value!"

Cons: "No rear air, tight interior."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 4Runner in 2003 with about 26,000 miles on it and have been driving it ever since. Tons of big mileage trips loaded with gear, easy 4x4ing, and plenty of hauling, this car has done right by me! Eleven years later with a total 248,000+ miles and it's still running well. Aside from the regular maintenance, over the years I've replaced all the shocks/struts, brakes, inner/outer tie rod ends, sway bar & steering rack bushings. The only major repairs which all seemed to happen in the same year included replacement of the transmission at 230,000 miles (when it finally gave out), a new cat, and a total cleaning of the fuel intake system which had years of carbon build up. It's lost some of it's fuel efficiency and you can tell the power isn't what it used to be, but it still a dependable driver and fully capable road trip/camping vehicle. I've owned some great GMC & Ford 3/4 ton pickups as well as my share of cars from VW, Ford, Mazda, Pontiac, and Dodge but have to say that Toyota did it right with the 2001 4Runner. It is a well made, dependable, long running vehicle and I will keep on driving it to at least 300k!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

BEST I'VE EVER OWNED

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 471,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable Reliable Reliable"

Cons: "Could have more leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased this new with 52 miles showing. 471,000 miles later I still take it on trips under 250 miles. I drive 110 miles round trip to work 5 days a week. Never had an issue other than changed starter (2006) and alternator (2012). Going to buy another to replace it shortly."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Does everything I need in a vehicle and is reliabl"

Cons: "hitch rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle does everything I need in a car, is reliable, can tow, can handle snow and ice, and has great cargo space. I also like its rugged look."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very reliable and trouble free

By on Sunday, September 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Original owner... Most reliable vehicle we have ever owned!"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best bang for your buck

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comparatively a good price, safe, 4wd, power"

Cons: "no rear a/c, poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the second 4Runner I've owned and I love it. My first Runner was an 83; the 99 definitely has many improved features. It drives nice- very smooth with a good view and minimal blind spots. Interior is spacious and comfortable with lots of storage space. The back would be more breathable however if it had rear a/c along with the heat that already comes stock. The speakers are stock and still sound great. Gas mileage isn't that good which is expected from this size SUV. Everything is power operated, has a nice sun roof, temperature control, and a rear diff lock- just a few of my favorite features. I've only had to perform regular maintenance and the vehicle is still in very good shape with no major repairs needed. I highly recommend the 4runner to anybody in need of extra space, car-pooling, high viability, a great drive-train with excellent 4WD capability."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Forever car

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "long life, V6 best engine made"

Cons: "short wheel base; rougher riding in rear seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Toyota 4Runner best, most reliable car I ever had. I've owned it for 14+ years and still going strong. Never had any engine trouble or any other mechanical problems. Just change oil and do maintenance as suggested and it pays you with long life. I'll never sell this car -- hundreds of thousands of miles to go!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

It's almost as good as my 1982 4X4

By on Saturday, August 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

ablosutely magnificent

By on Saturday, August 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "love to drive. dependable good looking."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"about to give to nephew. would never sell it . drive it more than my 2013 Avalon.going to miss"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

It never gives up, keeps on going!

By on Friday, August 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Legendary bullet proof reliability!"

Cons: "Gas mileage and the bad cup holder design."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you where too choose a vehicle to fight a war in. The 1997 Toyota 4runner would be that vehicle. This is the best truck I've ever owned, it is bullet proof. It just keeps going, and going, and going, and going, and even after 240,000 miles, it still keeps going. This truck was built to last and to take abuse but it will never give up. It never breaks down, it never complains, it just keeps on running. I bought it brand new in early 1997 with just 8 miles on the odometer, and now 17 year later and 240,000 miles later, it still never gives up and always keep running. It is comfortable with plenty of room for the whole family, has tons of cargo space, and its legendary bullet proof reliability."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned. 12 years! Can't let it go!

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Never ending reliability"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Seriously, the best car I have ever owned. 12 years and not a single problem. So low maintenance. I've had a BMW and a LEXUS and a Jeep (never again) and am completely devoted to the 4Runner. Big, but not enormous. Ok, gas mileage isn't great but it is a fair tradeoff for the safety of a heavy vehicle."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned other than my Supra

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The best,"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Very dependable vehicle

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 203,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very enjoyable to drive still with high miles"

Cons: "Driver seat wears too much . no other complaints"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle has been the most reliable vehicle I have own ed. Even with 203000 miles it still runs and drives great. Right now I am getting a major check up by a reliable mechanic to maintain its condition and keep it running for another 100k miles. Body and interior are still in excellent condition except for drivers seat showing wear."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle new off the show room

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 274,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very dependable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"floor. I have absolutely no problems with this vehicle. I have made a point of getting the routine and needed maintenance, as a result I have been worry free for 15years. Thank you Toyota!!!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Indestructible

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Indestructible, reliable, roomy interior"

Cons: "Bad cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It won't die, no matter what I do to it. When I bought it several years ago, it needed quite a bit of work. I did the mechanical and ignored the cosmetic, so the running boards are covered with duct tape, and the radio's volume knob is missing. My two objections: it's a little top-heavy and wants to slide on wet pavement, and the cup holders suck -- they put the beverage in front of the vents, and the beverage blocks my view of the radio and AC/heat controls. My favorite small but fabulous feature is the AC/heat vent that aims into my lap from under the steering wheel. I plan to drive it until it won't drive anymore, which should be forever. After all, it only has 212k miles on it."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great SUV. Its a tank. You will own this forever.

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 320,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, cool, off road ability"

Cons: "Mileage (kinda), cup holders...... that's it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Just welded a home made bumper on it.

"Seriously just keeps on rolling. I named mine tumble weed for that reason. I have abused my yota, and it keeps ticking. As long as you keep up with the timing belt maintenance, you will never break down. The only bad thing about them is the cup holder situation. Mine is a 97 and the 4runner didnt get better cupholders until about 2001. Other than that, you can drive it anywhere and back without a worry in the world."

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Just welded a home made bumper on it.

Great Vehicle

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great vehicle"

Cons: "kinda soft suspension for a truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"All I have to say is it has been a very, very good and reliable vehicle. I do all my own repairs. All parts a still available and are only maybe 5 to 10% more than the equivalent Chevy or Ford part."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Absolute best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 450,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best reliability ever."

Cons: "Still rides like a truck, but not bad."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the vehicle in 1999 with 52K miles on it. Have had the vehicle now 15 years and have added approximately 400K more. My maintenance consists primarily of oil changes for high mileage vehicles, fluid top offs and the occasional radiator flush and AC service. It has never let me down. At roughly 450K miles, I'm about to have my first major repair, having several engine oil leaks repaired at a cost of $1300. The vehicle still runs well inspite of the small leaks. Not bad for a 17 year old vehicle, and physically, it still looks almost new. I have told friends and family many times, I will never not own at least one Toyota."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

I've loved my 4runner for 12yrs. Been a great ride

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 216,150

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
2/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Very nice suv for a long time....moved a lot of stuff and drove well n it easy to handle."

outstanding automonile!!!

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dollar for dollar can't beat it!!!"

Cons: "location ofcup holders and floor lighting NONE!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck when I worked at a Toyota dealership w 188000 miles on it and just one owner and knowing the mileage I still bought it and paid $7800 for it and it has been worth every penny!!! Rides like a dream, not a single rattle and is loaded with every option available at that time and there is not one single thing that doesn't work, even the rear heater is great! In this case mileage made no difference to me, I would by it again. Since I I still own it I don'nt have to...lol... Great job Toyota!!! P.S. the only thing I don't like is the cup holders.. very stupid to put them right in front of the air-vent, and no floor lighting is also a real drag!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This is my fourth 4Runner!!

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this model so much that I refuse to purchase new-instead I intend to put all of my energy into getting my 'Jade Runner' back to new."

A very reliable vehicle.

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable and rugged."

Cons: "Fuel economy is not among its best attributes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this SUV since new and never had a major repair, just the usual service items. It has been very reliable but it is time to move on to a new vehicle."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best suv ever

By on Sunday, April 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives great"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love this car and would advise everyone to own one"

Excellent vehicle. Quality is tops.

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,023

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality."

Cons: "Trucky handling and ride, but it is a work horse"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned this 4Runner 14 years and have had excellent service. It still uses no oil between changes and everything works. I did replace the starter on it once but other than the maintenance schedule, have done nothing to it other than the normal wear items of brakes and tires."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this truck

By on Monday, April 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Feels reliable and safe"

Cons: "The newer trucks are not the same"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this truck. I test drove a new one and it was not the same as my 2002 4runner."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 33 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota 4Runner near Honolulu. See local deals