Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1999 Toyota 4Runner

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 808 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 31 32 33 | Next

Happy Owner (2nd time!)

By on Friday, August 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I was so happy with my first 4Runner ('95) that I bought another one ('02). After about 5 years, I have put on 116,000 miles with almost no mechanical problems. I have the itch to get a new car again, but its hard to beat having a vehicle with no loan payments and no repair bills."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

loved it

By on Thursday, August 02, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"i bought it not worried that it had 130,000 miles already because i knew that would not be an issue. we have been through some fun times together including hurricanes, camping trips, and sleep overs. the dogs loved it too."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Reliable TROOPER

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"My 4 Runner is the best vehicle ever. We first met in 1997 and I have had the SR5 for the last 11 years. I am currently at 190,000 miles and haven't had to have any other work besides maintenance on the vehicle. It's not really too comfy (also stated by family/friends) for looong car trips b/c it rides similar to a jeep however, it's very dependable and I love my truck! It's a great vehicle that got me through high school, college, and many years beyond."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

4Runners Rock

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had my 97 4Runner for almost 5 years now. It is the best vehicle out there. Handles well on the road and can handle 4 wheeling too. Over $150K miles and still running strong."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A Car You'll Never Regret Owning

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My dream car when I bought in 99 and it's never disappointed me and we're now at 107k miles. Typical maintenance has been required but I never hesitate to drive this long distances and remote areas. With a lead foot, had to strap on the TRD supercharger and absolutely love it! Great in all the weather that Colorado has to offer and the off roading is great even at stock. I will never sell this car, but knowing that the resale is so high, gives a great peace of mind in knowing I have the best SUV out there."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

4 runners rule

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Have always wanted one and finally found this one and we are very pleased."

By on Tuesday, July 24, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Buy yourself one!

By on Tuesday, July 24, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've had my 99 SR5 for 3 1/2 yrs now and it's great! I was upside down in my previous car so the cost of my 4Runner was higher, but now the value is equal to what I still owe due to the great resale values. I've put 92,000 miles on it in the time I've had it and I just had my first real maintenance upkeep. My antenna mast has also broken but that was my fault in a car wash! The only thing I wish is that I had it sooner! I'll drive this baby until it stops. See if we can squeeze 400K or more out of it."

The most awesome....

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This truck/suv is the best. I am a single mom, under 30 and never dreamed that my Rav4 would actually grow up to be a 4runner! It is actually affordable and really lasts the long haul. Mine is currently own a 2000 model, and with basic upkeep and a little love, my truck is almost at 200K miles and is going strong! My two kids love the room for friends and my dogs, both over 100lbs, never fight for room in the cargo area and the power roll-down back window offers them hours of enjoyment on long road trips. Wouldn't trade my 4runner for anything...except maybe a 2003 version! I also feel safe to say that my kids will be sharing this car in just 5 more years when they learn how to drive. Rock on Toyota!"

why buy anything else!!!??

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My '97 4Runner is the best vehicle I have ever owned! It is reliable and economical while handling like any car half it's size. It is also very user friendly, general maintenience on the 4Runner can be done by anyone with even the most general mechanical knowledge. I can't think of a reason to buy anything else."

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Love my 4-Runner

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"My family was a GM family for years, until my father did dealer trades for a local Toyota dealership back in the early 1990s. He fell in love with Toyotas overall and convinced me to trade in my 1989 Cutlass for a 1998 4-Runner. Hands down, this is the best car I've ever owned. I absolutely love it -- it has pulled a loaded U-Haul trailer from NY to Texas without any problem, survived an unavoidable highway collision just this year (thanks to the great trade-in value for Toyotas -- insurance fixed it without question, keeping me from crying over losing this great car), safely driven me through many flooded Houston streets, and has never given me any mechanical problems other than (yes, me too) a broken power antenna and some pesky rear lights that took a while to fix. My two 80-pound dogs love it as well, since they have all the room in the world with the back seats folded down. The only very small complaint I would offer is the cup holders -- they work fine, but aren't positioned in the best place in the top front of the dash -- they get in the way of adjusting the AC and checking the clock. Minor, minor issue. I've owned five cars so far in my life, but I've never been able to keep one past 90,000 miles before due to mounting problems and costs. All I do is keep current with the recommended maintenance packages from my dealership -- for every 5,000 miles on the car. My friends who've never owned a Toyota think I'm nuts, but I plan to drive my 4-Runner for a long time! I just recently convinced my best friend to buy a Toyota Camry since she's heard me rave about my 4-Runner for so long..."

best auto investment made

By on Thursday, July 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"175,000mi and only replaced tires, brakes and timing belt. I can't say enough about Toyota quality, well worth the extra purchase price if you plan on keeping it any length of time and trade in value remains higher than any other line out there"

Great SUV

By on Wednesday, July 18, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I've owned 2 Jeep Grand Cherokee's prior to buying my 2002 Sport 4runner and the Toyota is a superior car. I've tracked my expenses for the car and through 5 years have spent a total of $13K on gas, general maintenance, new brakes and 2 new sets of tires. Gas mileage has averaged 17.1 MPG over 97K miles and the truck runs as well today as it did the day I bought it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nicest Truck ever!!!

By on Wednesday, July 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had my 98 4Runner after having tons of luck with a 95 Tacoma. Wheel seal is the only "issue" as of yet. Oh yeah, I am pushing 150,000 now and plan on getting to around 400,000 before I retire it. Then it will turn into a strictly "off road" vehicle. I am never selling it. Oh yeah, I still have the Tacoma too. Viva la Toyota!!!"

1997 4RNR SR5

By on Tuesday, July 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought in 2000 off brother-in-law's 3-yr lease. Had 40K mi on it then, I am at 110K and going strong. V-6 doesn't use oil (knock on wood) and stays real clean. Have driven it in OH, OK, and IL. No problems towing a U-Haul trailer from OK City to St. Louis, MO. Longest XCountry trip from St Louis to Norfolk, VA. with no problems handling the App. Mtns. Normal maintenance keeps it running fine. Did have power antenna break...two years ago...now it's no longer a power antenna and the radio waves are fine...okay maybe I'll replace it when the tunes stop coming in! Only complaint: Ride in rear passenger seats is rough, but the '97 is built on a truck frame so it should not be a surprise. Even so, I plan to drive it for at least 5 more years...or 200K...whichever comes first...where's that wood again?"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

1996 4Runner 223k miles

By on Monday, July 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This truck is awsome, very durable ( jumped it 3ft high, 40-50 mph across the desert ) very stable and comfortable on pavement for a suv."

Most reliable vehicle EVER

By on Monday, July 16, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I would drive this SUV across the US without worry about anything major going wrong."

By on Monday, July 16, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Very Reliable

By on Sunday, July 15, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

"Only problem ever was that the automatic radio antenna broke and they used plastic teeth on the antenna to automate."

My 96 runner

By on Sunday, July 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"MY 96 4-runner is GREAT!!! I've had her for 8 years & the ONLY problem I"ve had is to replace the cable for the antenna TWICE!! Other than that, she's reliable & gets me where I want to go. I wouldn't hesitate an instant to take her cross-country if I ever had to!! I don't make many long trips and only live less than 5 miles from my work, so, she doesn't have very many miles on her. Only 119,000!! I"m quite sure I'll drive her until she falls apart!!! I fell in love with her when I 1st saw her. And, especially after I test drove her. I really like the way she handles!!!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 31 32 33 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota 4Runner near Honolulu. See local deals