Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

1999 Toyota 4Runner

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 819 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 31 32 33 | Next

simply maavelous dalling

By on Wednesday, September 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The most unbelievable beautiful comfortable vehicle I have ever owned. It is simply maavelous dalling. Can climb the highest mountain and swim the the deepest ocean in a split second. hahahaha"

4EverRunner

By on Saturday, September 01, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Excellent Value for Money & Style. Comfortable seating in the rear, Good Road manners and driver feedback. Robust Design Built to Last."

By on Friday, August 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

No regrets!

By on Wednesday, August 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned my 2000 Limited for 4 years and am currently at 105K for mileage. No problems whatsoever. Does really well on snowed in mountain passes and all kinds of weather. I love this vehicle and have been astounded by its performance and reliability. I wish the mileage were better and the fuel tank capacity somewhat larger for extended trips but these are more than compensated for by the 4Runners amazing versatility and dependability."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, August 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great vehicle

By on Wednesday, August 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned 3 Toyotas and I recommend the 4Runner. It is reliable and comfortable to take trips in."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

1999 4-Runner

By on Monday, August 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this vehicle new in 1998. I have enjoyed it in every way. The ride, handling, gas mileage, reliability, comfort, body style, quietness and overall performance are all EXCELLENT!! You can't beat the value anywhere!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Beautiful Machine

By on Sunday, August 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased my 01' 4X4 4 Runner in Winter of 2006. It's a great truck all around. Run's strong, hasn't required any serious maintenance and even handles well on off road trails. Highly recommended."

80% good

By on Sunday, August 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had my 4Runner for 5 years putting 22,000 miles on per year. Much of that was stop and go driving. It has been a great truck with two exceptions. The right passenger door seal has never fit right. It was replaced twice by the dealer and is still too small to stay in place. Also the water pump and radiator went out at 70,000 miles which was a shock for a Toyota!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

a work horse

By on Friday, August 24, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I would love to go back to the year 2000, and buy 2 or 3 more of these dynamic suv's. I have kept up the maintenance on my 4runner and it is runnin smooth. I highly reccommend this vehicle to anyone."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I Ever Owned

By on Thursday, August 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 1999 4-Runner new and have had no problems until the starter went at 100,000 miles. It still looks and runs like new."

This Truck Rocks

By on Thursday, August 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owed many vehicles over the last 30 years. This is the best vehicle I ever owned. A little heavy on the gas mileage, but the truck has been in the shop twice in the last 10 Years(140,000 miles) for Clutch and Rear axle seals(I live on in a town with all uneven, bumpy brick streets.) I will own this truck forever!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

most reliable vechile i've ever owned

By on Wednesday, August 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"BOUGHT THIS R4UNNER NEW IN 98. BEEN DRIVING IT DAYLY SINCE. WITH 75k,I'VE ONLY REPLACED OEM TIRES. NEVER HAS LET ME DOWN IN SNOW,MUD OR HEAT."

Good Value

By on Sunday, August 19, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought a 2000 model used and it has been a great vehicle - did have to replace the water pump but other than routine maintenance, nothing else."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great SUV!

By on Sunday, August 19, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"A very handsome,and dependable SUV! There is almost no room for improvement,with the exception of the mpg.Other than that...the pros far out-weigh the cons!"

Big Performance in a small package

By on Friday, August 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I Own a 2000 SR5 4Runner and i love it! I bought it used 1 yr ago for 14k and since then it has only depreciated 1k. Awesome resale value! It is roomy enough for my family of 3 (soon to be 4) It is very sturdy, reliable and strong. My wife accidentaly lost control of it once and it went over a side walk, into a dich and trough a brick wall. My son and my wife walked away WITHOUT a scratch and the truck suffered ONLY a dented bumper! Still drives like new! Only downside i can think of is the 18 MPG on the city, but well worth every penny!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, August 16, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Best so far

By on Thursday, August 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The only downside is the mpg, but is definitely worth the price of gas. Is my hobby. I love driving this truck, and all my friends enjoy the ride in it as well. It does well in the city, off road, and the highway. Plenty room to haul stuff, and when I used the trailer I don't feel much difference. Lots of power. "Great SUV""

4 Runner Owner

By on Wednesday, August 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I just picked up my 2001 4 Runner about a week ago, I can't find anything on it that I don't like. The 3.4 V6 is more than average, plenty of space and just a great all around suv to have."

By on Wednesday, August 15, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great SUV

By on Wednesday, August 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is the 2nd 4-Runner I've owned..first was a '97 that was totaled in an accident. I walked away with just scratches so I bought an 2001 to replace. Currently at 100K and just getting broke in - no major repairs or problems."

Reliable, Durable, Dependable

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"My friend drives a 4Runner and that is how I came to like them. I bought mine a year ago, it was 5 years old at the time and it looked and drove like brand new. Today I am still extremely glad I bought it, I have had no trouble with it at all and I would say to anyone, in researching a used vehicle, it is important to look at how reliable the vehicle is, you should be able to find a rating that is derived from something like insurance and warranty claims per a certain number of vehicles like per 100 or per 1000. You will see that Toyota makes a very dependable vehicle, they are overbuilt, and they will not brake down on you, they are worth the money."

Best Truck ever!

By on Sunday, August 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"If I could buy another with low mileage and keep it garaged until this one has met its last day, I would! I love everything about it! Toyota went wrong with the newer models and made them look like luxury vehicles instead of trucky looking off road vehicles, which a 1999 looks like. I won't buy a new body style, they just don't look right for an off road 4 x 4. I have never taken mine off road, but I know it would get me through anything ahead of me. It gets me through the worst New England winters."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

AMAZING

By on Sunday, August 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the #1 competition for Jeeps in my mind. With Jeeps you have to spend THOUSANDS in upgrades for one to be a good 4x4 and do some rock crawling. Not with the 4runner! The ones with TRD locker can do anything a jeep can. My 4runner still runs like new at 160k miles! Those 4 Cam engines go like 250k with good matainence but I used Synthetic oil every 2500 miles and it should go 400k+, too bad the tranny won't. So far no one has made a transmission that will last that long so I don't blame toyota."

buy one IF you get the chance

By on Sunday, August 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"97 135000 sr5 words cant decribe it. test drive one. then buy it."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 31 32 33 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota 4Runner near Honolulu. See local deals