Go

1998 Toyota 4Runner

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 858 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 172 | Next

pretty amazing vehicle!

By on Monday, January 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 247,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great all around vehicle"

Cons: "engine compartment is a little cramped"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the toyota 4runner, in my experience, is one of the best all-around production vehicles made. especially in when looking at the 3rd gen models. with the creation of the highlander toyota developers were allowed to develop the 3rd gen 4runners, and later models, to be specifically enhanced offroad. while also still maintaining great on road performance and handling. on road they ride smooth, turn accurately, with little to no oversteer, and accelerate aggressively. off road they keep an astonishing weight to power ratio and are able to pull you out of whatever you may find yourself in. even on street tires with open differentials you still wont be stopped. and like all other toyotas they are build to last. im pushing 250,000 miles now with no signs of wearing down."

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

LOVE LOVE my 4Runner

By on Saturday, September 1, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Solid smooth feel. Super reliable. Looks cool!"

Cons: "Small for a family of 4. No bigger than a Prius."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this used when it was one year old. I've now had it 10 years and the only thing that stopped working was the motor for the radio antenna. Nothing else has EVER gone wrong with this. I've had the normal routine tune-ups and it just keeps going and going. We could and should buy a bigger more expensive vehicle but I'm torn because I love this so much!"

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

These Used Toyota 4 Runners are BULLIT PROOF !!!

By on Friday, November 7, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "It will get you there and back safely !!"

Cons: "Rides like a Truck,a bit under powered !!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you are in the Market for a Terrific 4 Wheel drive Vehicle, You cant do better than a Toyota 4 Runner no matter what the miles on it !! Do a search and try and find one used,from 1995 to 2005 there just are not any around !! There plenty of Jeeps,Ford Explorers,a ton of GMC's and Chevys 4X4's and only a few 4 Runners,that in it;s self should tell you something !"

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

A good running vehicle

By on Thursday, May 5, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable and safe"

Cons: "check out design defect on 2wd 2 piece drive shaft"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The 2wd 4runner has a design defect in the drive shaft. It will cause the rear axle wheel bearings and aventually cause the tranmission to go out if the drive shaft is not replaced. Other than this it's a great vehicle."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Besy suv ever build by toyota

By on Thursday, June 7, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 263,187

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "none,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I build my 4runner on/off road, arb front bumper, yakima roofrack,lift kit, and 32" tires and this truck keeps in an amazing good condition, mud, wet roads, snow, sand, you name it nothing stop this car. And the best, vary cheap maintenance, regular gas, easy to work on it, $200 for a full tune-up...!!!! DIY."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 172 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota 4Runner near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement