Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1997 Toyota 4Runner

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 803 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 81 | Next

Best car I ever owned. 12 years! Can't let it go!

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Never ending reliability"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Seriously, the best car I have ever owned. 12 years and not a single problem. So low maintenance. I've had a BMW and a LEXUS and a Jeep (never again) and am completely devoted to the 4Runner. Big, but not enormous. Ok, gas mileage isn't great but it is a fair tradeoff for the safety of a heavy vehicle."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned other than my Supra

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The best,"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Very dependable vehicle

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 203,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very enjoyable to drive still with high miles"

Cons: "Driver seat wears too much . no other complaints"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle has been the most reliable vehicle I have own ed. Even with 203000 miles it still runs and drives great. Right now I am getting a major check up by a reliable mechanic to maintain its condition and keep it running for another 100k miles. Body and interior are still in excellent condition except for drivers seat showing wear."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle new off the show room

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 274,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very dependable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"floor. I have absolutely no problems with this vehicle. I have made a point of getting the routine and needed maintenance, as a result I have been worry free for 15years. Thank you Toyota!!!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Indestructible

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Indestructible, reliable, roomy interior"

Cons: "Bad cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It won't die, no matter what I do to it. When I bought it several years ago, it needed quite a bit of work. I did the mechanical and ignored the cosmetic, so the running boards are covered with duct tape, and the radio's volume knob is missing. My two objections: it's a little top-heavy and wants to slide on wet pavement, and the cup holders suck -- they put the beverage in front of the vents, and the beverage blocks my view of the radio and AC/heat controls. My favorite small but fabulous feature is the AC/heat vent that aims into my lap from under the steering wheel. I plan to drive it until it won't drive anymore, which should be forever. After all, it only has 212k miles on it."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great SUV. Its a tank. You will own this forever.

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 320,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, cool, off road ability"

Cons: "Mileage (kinda), cup holders...... that's it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Just welded a home made bumper on it.

"Seriously just keeps on rolling. I named mine tumble weed for that reason. I have abused my yota, and it keeps ticking. As long as you keep up with the timing belt maintenance, you will never break down. The only bad thing about them is the cup holder situation. Mine is a 97 and the 4runner didnt get better cupholders until about 2001. Other than that, you can drive it anywhere and back without a worry in the world."

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Just welded a home made bumper on it.

Great Vehicle

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great vehicle"

Cons: "kinda soft suspension for a truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"All I have to say is it has been a very, very good and reliable vehicle. I do all my own repairs. All parts a still available and are only maybe 5 to 10% more than the equivalent Chevy or Ford part."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Absolute best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 450,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best reliability ever."

Cons: "Still rides like a truck, but not bad."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the vehicle in 1999 with 52K miles on it. Have had the vehicle now 15 years and have added approximately 400K more. My maintenance consists primarily of oil changes for high mileage vehicles, fluid top offs and the occasional radiator flush and AC service. It has never let me down. At roughly 450K miles, I'm about to have my first major repair, having several engine oil leaks repaired at a cost of $1300. The vehicle still runs well inspite of the small leaks. Not bad for a 17 year old vehicle, and physically, it still looks almost new. I have told friends and family many times, I will never not own at least one Toyota."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

I've loved my 4runner for 12yrs. Been a great ride

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 216,150

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
2/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Very nice suv for a long time....moved a lot of stuff and drove well n it easy to handle."

outstanding automonile!!!

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dollar for dollar can't beat it!!!"

Cons: "location ofcup holders and floor lighting NONE!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck when I worked at a Toyota dealership w 188000 miles on it and just one owner and knowing the mileage I still bought it and paid $7800 for it and it has been worth every penny!!! Rides like a dream, not a single rattle and is loaded with every option available at that time and there is not one single thing that doesn't work, even the rear heater is great! In this case mileage made no difference to me, I would by it again. Since I I still own it I don'nt have to...lol... Great job Toyota!!! P.S. the only thing I don't like is the cup holders.. very stupid to put them right in front of the air-vent, and no floor lighting is also a real drag!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 81 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota 4Runner near Honolulu. See local deals