Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

1997 Toyota 4Runner

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 832 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 167 | Next

Great Daily Driver, Great Off-road, Very Reliable

By on Tuesday, February 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 305,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great off-road, very reliable."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a very reliable vehicle. No matter how many miles are on it. As long as it's been taken care of, it will run forever. It's great off-road. It's great in the snow, it's great on any terrain. Even stock, it will get you through any terrain. Mine has 305k miles and runs like new. The 3.4 liter V6 is one of the best engines Toyota has ever made. The only thing I don't like about this vehicle, is the front suspension. Toyota should have put a solid axel in these, instead of IFS."

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Absolute best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 450,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best reliability ever."

Cons: "Still rides like a truck, but not bad."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the vehicle in 1999 with 52K miles on it. Have had the vehicle now 15 years and have added approximately 400K more. My maintenance consists primarily of oil changes for high mileage vehicles, fluid top offs and the occasional radiator flush and AC service. It has never let me down. At roughly 450K miles, I'm about to have my first major repair, having several engine oil leaks repaired at a cost of $1300. The vehicle still runs well inspite of the small leaks. Not bad for a 17 year old vehicle, and physically, it still looks almost new. I have told friends and family many times, I will never not own at least one Toyota."

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Black Beauty

By on Thursday, December 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "My sons keep borrowing it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE this car! My sons, all three of them, wanted to buy it from me when they grew up and left home. I said, no way, Jose. I'm keeping this car till the day I die, then I will WILL it to you. Its is so reliable. Mine has 250,000 miles on it, so I will never get what its worth on a sale. It's been paid off forever, so even if I get a new car, I'll keep Black Beauty in the pasture."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Forever car

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "long life, V6 best engine made"

Cons: "short wheel base; rougher riding in rear seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Toyota 4Runner best, most reliable car I ever had. I've owned it for 14+ years and still going strong. Never had any engine trouble or any other mechanical problems. Just change oil and do maintenance as suggested and it pays you with long life. I'll never sell this car -- hundreds of thousands of miles to go!"

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I LOVE my 4runner!!!

By on Monday, December 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 340,960

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great performance, durrable, longevity, attractive"

Cons: "there aren't many options for lifting, mpg's"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 98 toyota 4runner limited. It has 340,000 miles on it and it is in great running order. I have no rust, leaks, knocks, or pops. It has been through everything i can throw at it and it drives like a new one. I am Amazed at the durability of this truck. I would absolutely recomend this vehice to anyone."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 167 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota 4Runner near Honolulu. See local deals