Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1997 Toyota 4Runner

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 804 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 81 | Next

These Used Toyota 4 Runners are BULLIT PROOF !!!

By on Friday, November 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "It will get you there and back safely !!"

Cons: "Rides like a Truck,a bit under powered !!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you are in the Market for a Terrific 4 Wheel drive Vehicle, You cant do better than a Toyota 4 Runner no matter what the miles on it !! Do a search and try and find one used,from 1995 to 2005 there just are not any around !! There plenty of Jeeps,Ford Explorers,a ton of GMC's and Chevys 4X4's and only a few 4 Runners,that in it;s self should tell you something !"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

an owesome sport vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 391,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "awesome"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No words can describe what this vehicle has meant to me.Been with me for 13 years."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

One of the best built vehicles hands down!

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 248,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very dependable, long lasting, and great value!"

Cons: "No rear air, tight interior."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 4Runner in 2003 with about 26,000 miles on it and have been driving it ever since. Tons of big mileage trips loaded with gear, easy 4x4ing, and plenty of hauling, this car has done right by me! Eleven years later with a total 248,000+ miles and it's still running well. Aside from the regular maintenance, over the years I've replaced all the shocks/struts, brakes, inner/outer tie rod ends, sway bar & steering rack bushings. The only major repairs which all seemed to happen in the same year included replacement of the transmission at 230,000 miles (when it finally gave out), a new cat, and a total cleaning of the fuel intake system which had years of carbon build up. It's lost some of it's fuel efficiency and you can tell the power isn't what it used to be, but it still a dependable driver and fully capable road trip/camping vehicle. I've owned some great GMC & Ford 3/4 ton pickups as well as my share of cars from VW, Ford, Mazda, Pontiac, and Dodge but have to say that Toyota did it right with the 2001 4Runner. It is a well made, dependable, long running vehicle and I will keep on driving it to at least 300k!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

BEST I'VE EVER OWNED

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 471,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable Reliable Reliable"

Cons: "Could have more leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased this new with 52 miles showing. 471,000 miles later I still take it on trips under 250 miles. I drive 110 miles round trip to work 5 days a week. Never had an issue other than changed starter (2006) and alternator (2012). Going to buy another to replace it shortly."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Does everything I need in a vehicle and is reliabl"

Cons: "hitch rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle does everything I need in a car, is reliable, can tow, can handle snow and ice, and has great cargo space. I also like its rugged look."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very reliable and trouble free

By on Sunday, September 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Original owner... Most reliable vehicle we have ever owned!"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best bang for your buck

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comparatively a good price, safe, 4wd, power"

Cons: "no rear a/c, poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the second 4Runner I've owned and I love it. My first Runner was an 83; the 99 definitely has many improved features. It drives nice- very smooth with a good view and minimal blind spots. Interior is spacious and comfortable with lots of storage space. The back would be more breathable however if it had rear a/c along with the heat that already comes stock. The speakers are stock and still sound great. Gas mileage isn't that good which is expected from this size SUV. Everything is power operated, has a nice sun roof, temperature control, and a rear diff lock- just a few of my favorite features. I've only had to perform regular maintenance and the vehicle is still in very good shape with no major repairs needed. I highly recommend the 4runner to anybody in need of extra space, car-pooling, high viability, a great drive-train with excellent 4WD capability."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Forever car

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "long life, V6 best engine made"

Cons: "short wheel base; rougher riding in rear seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Toyota 4Runner best, most reliable car I ever had. I've owned it for 14+ years and still going strong. Never had any engine trouble or any other mechanical problems. Just change oil and do maintenance as suggested and it pays you with long life. I'll never sell this car -- hundreds of thousands of miles to go!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

It's almost as good as my 1982 4X4

By on Saturday, August 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

ablosutely magnificent

By on Saturday, August 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "love to drive. dependable good looking."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"about to give to nephew. would never sell it . drive it more than my 2013 Avalon.going to miss"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 81 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota 4Runner near Honolulu. See local deals