Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1996 Toyota 4Runner

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 798 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 80 | Next

Great SUV. Its a tank. You will own this forever.

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 320,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, cool, off road ability"

Cons: "Mileage (kinda), cup holders...... that's it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Just welded a home made bumper on it.

"Seriously just keeps on rolling. I named mine tumble weed for that reason. I have abused my yota, and it keeps ticking. As long as you keep up with the timing belt maintenance, you will never break down. The only bad thing about them is the cup holder situation. Mine is a 97 and the 4runner didnt get better cupholders until about 2001. Other than that, you can drive it anywhere and back without a worry in the world."

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Just welded a home made bumper on it.

Great Vehicle

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great vehicle"

Cons: "kinda soft suspension for a truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"All I have to say is it has been a very, very good and reliable vehicle. I do all my own repairs. All parts a still available and are only maybe 5 to 10% more than the equivalent Chevy or Ford part."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Absolute best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 450,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best reliability ever."

Cons: "Still rides like a truck, but not bad."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the vehicle in 1999 with 52K miles on it. Have had the vehicle now 15 years and have added approximately 400K more. My maintenance consists primarily of oil changes for high mileage vehicles, fluid top offs and the occasional radiator flush and AC service. It has never let me down. At roughly 450K miles, I'm about to have my first major repair, having several engine oil leaks repaired at a cost of $1300. The vehicle still runs well inspite of the small leaks. Not bad for a 17 year old vehicle, and physically, it still looks almost new. I have told friends and family many times, I will never not own at least one Toyota."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I've loved my 4runner for 12yrs. Been a great ride

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 216,150

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
2/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Very nice suv for a long time....moved a lot of stuff and drove well n it easy to handle."

outstanding automonile!!!

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dollar for dollar can't beat it!!!"

Cons: "location ofcup holders and floor lighting NONE!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck when I worked at a Toyota dealership w 188000 miles on it and just one owner and knowing the mileage I still bought it and paid $7800 for it and it has been worth every penny!!! Rides like a dream, not a single rattle and is loaded with every option available at that time and there is not one single thing that doesn't work, even the rear heater is great! In this case mileage made no difference to me, I would by it again. Since I I still own it I don'nt have to...lol... Great job Toyota!!! P.S. the only thing I don't like is the cup holders.. very stupid to put them right in front of the air-vent, and no floor lighting is also a real drag!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This is my fourth 4Runner!!

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this model so much that I refuse to purchase new-instead I intend to put all of my energy into getting my 'Jade Runner' back to new."

A very reliable vehicle.

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable and rugged."

Cons: "Fuel economy is not among its best attributes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this SUV since new and never had a major repair, just the usual service items. It has been very reliable but it is time to move on to a new vehicle."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best suv ever

By on Sunday, April 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives great"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love this car and would advise everyone to own one"

Excellent vehicle. Quality is tops.

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,023

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality."

Cons: "Trucky handling and ride, but it is a work horse"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned this 4Runner 14 years and have had excellent service. It still uses no oil between changes and everything works. I did replace the starter on it once but other than the maintenance schedule, have done nothing to it other than the normal wear items of brakes and tires."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this truck

By on Monday, April 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Feels reliable and safe"

Cons: "The newer trucks are not the same"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this truck. I test drove a new one and it was not the same as my 2002 4runner."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 80 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota 4Runner near Honolulu. See local deals