Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

1996 Toyota 4Runner

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 825 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 83 | Next

Best Vehicle I have ever owned

By on Saturday, April 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, quality and value"

Cons: "radio antenna, cup holder, gas mil low 20's hwy?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a reliable well running vehicle. I've owned a few other autos and this has been the best ever. I keep it because it just keeps going. Just traveled cross country with out a hitch! Just do the maintenance on this vehicle and you will have a truck that will last easily over 300,000 miles. This con is the cup holder and the antennae for the radio. Other than that it seems to run as smoothly as the day I bought it. No transmission or engine issues other than old age ( alternator changed, and one fuel injector) in over 15 years. Thats it!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best and Most Reliable Vechicle I have ever owned

By on Friday, April 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun ti drive and reliable"

Cons: "little narrow to cram 3 wide into the back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2.7 4 Cylinder Engine is the most reliable I have ever seen and will run for ever"

- great 4WD vehicle in every way

By on Tuesday, April 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, great value"

Cons: "High mileage, but still runs as new."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am the original owner of this fine vehicle. It still looks and runs wonderfully!"

Superb vehicle

By on Monday, April 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 335,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, durable, capable, great off road, hauls"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Incredibly reliable and durable truck. Have taken it on many touch four wheel drive trails and thousands of miles of general rough roads with great performance. Has never stranded me. The only issues have been expected for the mileage, such as a wheel bearing. Hauls a lot of gear and people. Spacious yet maneuverable. Easy to take the rear seats out for a little over 6 feet of room to sleep or haul boards, appliances, furniture, and other large items. The sliding rear window is nice for this too and is a great feature."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Monday, March 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love my Toyota. Never had a problem in almost 13 yrs. It's just time to move on. I want to get something smaller. Bought new, only owner. Great SUV!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best truck I've ever owned.

By on Sunday, March 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Lasts forever, great 4X4 handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never had any major problems with this vehicle."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Drove her off the showroom floor... LOVE HER!!!

By on Monday, March 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle I have ever owned!!! The picture submitted was taken in the fall of 2014. I know it sounds weird but I tell her every time I wash her how beautiful she is which is very often. She still looks brand-new and runs like a champ."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I LOVE MY 4 RUNNER!

By on Saturday, March 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,400

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easy drive, solid, fun."

Cons: "Could use paint touchups where sun has faded it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle when it was a year old and have lovingly taken care of it. Great for car camping, hauling bikes, carrying kids and is solid. I have used a Toyota dealer to have it serviced and never taken it anywhere else. All service records are available if desired. The age appropriate wear and tear such as fading roof and some fading on hood as it is burgundy in color. Minor scratches and dings from doors. Factory installed radio died about two years ago and I had CD/Radio/Blue Tooth installed by Best Buy. Back rear taillight is cracked; I have a new one but just haven't put it in...included with the car. Factory rack is installed. Has tow package and is ready to tow."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Worth every penny spent!

By on Sunday, March 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Value, dependable and style"

Cons: "cup holder but newer models fix this!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Such a great SUV with style! Very rugged, reliable and it keeps on ticking! I will definitely invest in another one just like this one. This vehicle will NOT let you down."

11 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Thursday, February 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,892

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No comment needed. I could go on forever. Best truck ever."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 83 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota 4Runner near Honolulu. See local deals