Go

1995 Toyota 4Runner

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 219 Ratings for the 1992 - 1995 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 22 | Next

BY FAR THE BEST VEHICLE I HAVE EVER OWNED!!!!

By on Friday, December 9, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned many vehicles in my 61years. Including Lexus and Jaguar....my 4Runner is still my favorite!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

my review

By on Sunday, October 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "heads blow up"

Cons: "they are a nice ride with 4x4 and its toyota"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ill just say now if your looking for a fast 4door with a nice sport look and want that 4x4, jeep grand cherokees are more for that. Toyota 4 runners are more of a good ride that will get you where you need and does pretty good in mud i haven't got stuck with mine yet. But i also don't off road due to the fact of, the head probles. All of the 1994 Toyota 4runners have a defect in the head gaskets you will be switching the heads on these cars every 80xxx miles un less you drive like a grand ma. Mine leaks oil from a lot of seals and its not cheep.So unless you got money to fix leaks or new head gasket i would and wouldn't recommend this car to you."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

High highs and low lows.

By on Monday, December 14, 2009

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought my 94 4Runner at 150,000 miles. 10k later, head gaskets blew ($900 in parts, did work ourselves. About 30 man-hours). Fine. After that, CV joints, starter, steering rods. Now at 185k, needs water pump, radiator, engine knock and O2 sensors. Even in running shape, you're left with a truck that looks great and drives great, but gets crummy mileage (15-17mpg), and is underpowered. Pros: the truck is very comfortable (no problems driving nine hours in it), no issues in snow, very roomy. Cons: iffy mileage and low power from an engine that is horribly designed and entails a swear-fest every time I work on it. Not only is it not reliable, but is a mechanic's nightmare for access."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Aint What She Used to Be

By on Wednesday, October 14, 2009

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"I had an 86 4-Runner and drove it well past 200K miles with little maintenance. Based on that fantastic truck and Toyota's reputation, I figured I'd upgrade to a 92 4-Runner V-6. Worst choice ever. After dropping nearly $3000 to replace the head gasket and radiator, I then kicked out more cash for the rear window lever arm, rotten gaskets, rusting mechanisms and blown relays. The car lacked power. It sucked more gas than the average SUV (15 mpg at best). The interior - seat fabric, dash components, door panels, etc - came apart with only normal use. Save your cash and get a late 80s 4-Runner!!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very tough!!

By on Sunday, January 27, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"i have never done a review on any vehicle i have ever owned but i figured that this toy earned it! i have owned my 91 toyota 4runner sr5 v6 3.0 for 3 years now. i purchased it with 82,000 miles it now has 169,000 and i have heavly abused it offroad through rivers, mud, snow, below zero temps, very steep inclines, class 4 roads and long distance travel through cities and across country, a usual 30 thousand miles a year. it has only broke down once with a fuel pump that went bad... but the parts for these vehicles are instock and always very resonably priced,... and very easy to fix yourself with little mechanical knowledge. the only thing it lacks are - mpg, a little more power and could use rear disc brakes instead of drum brakes for more responsive braking. i would recomend this suv to anyone who likes reliability and the great outdoors."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The SUV that will not die

By on Saturday, December 1, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I got this SUV for nearly free and fully expected to turn around and sell it after playing around with it for a few months. Started out using it for errands around town and now it has displaced the family car for weekend events. This SUV is great around town and off-road. It can be parked easily anywhere and turns on a dime. We have thrown Kayaks on top, driven down on the beach, towed numerous boats and even pulled a few 3/4 tons out of slick launch ramps with it. Our best adventure was during a blizzard and the mountain road was closed just behind us. A semi had jack-knifed blocking the pass. There were two H2 Hummers that were stalled waiting for the Semi and the weather to be clear. There was just enough room for us to pass by. The look on the Hummer's faces; Priceless! I especially like the extra RPM boost button for towing and scaling hills. Gas mileage is poor (~15mpg) but the reliability and lack of depreciation more than make up for that."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

One heck of a vehicle

By on Monday, September 3, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have taken care of my 1994 4runner. I have changed out the oil regularly and lubed it the same. I have had to change out the clutch (Expected with a vehicle with the type of miles on mine). The reality is that 4runners are cockroaches in that you flat out can't kill them. I would highly recommend any year of 4runner or Toyota for that matter."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Wednesday, August 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"We bought our 1995 SUV in '97 with 70,000 miles on it! Ten years later we have 170,000+ miles and it still looks great! The back seat is small, so now with two kids we're looking to sell it and I'm amazed at the value this everyday driver has maintained. A great purchase and investment for our family!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

SUPER DUPER VEHIcLE

By on Monday, August 6, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've had mine, new in 1993, now have 325000 miles on it. What a great vehicle. It has been all over USA on and Off road. Never a problem. Only routine maintenece...Still going strong on original engine. I have onlymreplaced the clutch on this car twice. Remarkable. I wish the new 4-Runner were as reliable!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

our forerunner

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"We bought ours new in 1995 and have had great luck with it. It is not the most comfortable, but I know when I get in it, it WILL get me where I need to go. I would recommend buying this japanese made vehicle, even if it is used"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 22 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota 4Runner near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement