Go

1993 Toyota 4Runner

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 219 Ratings for the 1992 - 1995 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 44 | Next

BY FAR THE BEST VEHICLE I HAVE EVER OWNED!!!!

By on Friday, December 9, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned many vehicles in my 61years. Including Lexus and Jaguar....my 4Runner is still my favorite!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

my review

By on Sunday, October 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "heads blow up"

Cons: "they are a nice ride with 4x4 and its toyota"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ill just say now if your looking for a fast 4door with a nice sport look and want that 4x4, jeep grand cherokees are more for that. Toyota 4 runners are more of a good ride that will get you where you need and does pretty good in mud i haven't got stuck with mine yet. But i also don't off road due to the fact of, the head probles. All of the 1994 Toyota 4runners have a defect in the head gaskets you will be switching the heads on these cars every 80xxx miles un less you drive like a grand ma. Mine leaks oil from a lot of seals and its not cheep.So unless you got money to fix leaks or new head gasket i would and wouldn't recommend this car to you."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

High highs and low lows.

By on Monday, December 14, 2009

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought my 94 4Runner at 150,000 miles. 10k later, head gaskets blew ($900 in parts, did work ourselves. About 30 man-hours). Fine. After that, CV joints, starter, steering rods. Now at 185k, needs water pump, radiator, engine knock and O2 sensors. Even in running shape, you're left with a truck that looks great and drives great, but gets crummy mileage (15-17mpg), and is underpowered. Pros: the truck is very comfortable (no problems driving nine hours in it), no issues in snow, very roomy. Cons: iffy mileage and low power from an engine that is horribly designed and entails a swear-fest every time I work on it. Not only is it not reliable, but is a mechanic's nightmare for access."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Aint What She Used to Be

By on Wednesday, October 14, 2009

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"I had an 86 4-Runner and drove it well past 200K miles with little maintenance. Based on that fantastic truck and Toyota's reputation, I figured I'd upgrade to a 92 4-Runner V-6. Worst choice ever. After dropping nearly $3000 to replace the head gasket and radiator, I then kicked out more cash for the rear window lever arm, rotten gaskets, rusting mechanisms and blown relays. The car lacked power. It sucked more gas than the average SUV (15 mpg at best). The interior - seat fabric, dash components, door panels, etc - came apart with only normal use. Save your cash and get a late 80s 4-Runner!!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very tough!!

By on Sunday, January 27, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"i have never done a review on any vehicle i have ever owned but i figured that this toy earned it! i have owned my 91 toyota 4runner sr5 v6 3.0 for 3 years now. i purchased it with 82,000 miles it now has 169,000 and i have heavly abused it offroad through rivers, mud, snow, below zero temps, very steep inclines, class 4 roads and long distance travel through cities and across country, a usual 30 thousand miles a year. it has only broke down once with a fuel pump that went bad... but the parts for these vehicles are instock and always very resonably priced,... and very easy to fix yourself with little mechanical knowledge. the only thing it lacks are - mpg, a little more power and could use rear disc brakes instead of drum brakes for more responsive braking. i would recomend this suv to anyone who likes reliability and the great outdoors."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 44 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota 4Runner near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement