Go

1993 Toyota 4Runner

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 219 Ratings for the 1992 - 1995 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

92 4Runner

By on Tuesday, October 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Honestly this is a awesome truck! I bought mine from a guy who had obviously never driven it off-road and always babied it in virtually perfect shape 150K on it not running for $2500. It had been sitting on the side of the guys house covered and under a carport for a few years not running cause it would crank but not start. I drained the tank and used the 3-4gal that was in it in my lawn mower, replaced the bad fuel pump, put a new fuel filter, new battery, 2 fuses and I've been driving it since and it now has almost 400K on it. I just follow the manufacturers maintenance schedule and it's been a great truck!"

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great SUV fun to drive

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 246,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "4x4 5speed mpg"

Cons: "does not have enough power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this has been a great truck, mine is lifted with 31" tires and for the most part gets decent gas around 19mpg the 4x4 works great both on and off the road!! I did have to put in a new timing belt but it only cost me like $500 so I could not complain!!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

one of the best suv ever owned

By on Friday, September 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "confort,easy and fun to drive"

Cons: "cup holder is in wrong place, just above radio oth"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"other than putting in brakes and fixing the rear window so it would go down this 4 runner started and i had no major problems. i would recommend this to people."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

There really is no comparable car out there

By on Saturday, November 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 366,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good offroad"

Cons: "not a racecar, but drinks gas like one. cupholders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When i bought this 4runner i was worried because it had 340,000 miles on it. But it was exactly what i was looking for, espcially considering my 2500 dollar price max. It has started right up every time i've needed it. The 4x4 works great, only time i was stuck i was high centered and i have taller tires on my 4runner so i think that says something about how well it does. I'll go on forever about the reliability, comfort and style/cool factor that is the 4runner so i'l try to focus on the few cons it has. #1, it is gutless; i get beat by hybrids/compacts off the line, let alone maneuvering in traffic. #2 the gas mileage should be higher considering the lack of power. #3 the cup holders are too small (they are low tech too but i like that, they work great for small drinks, and never break). I must say that the range of the 4runner is relatively low and i don't think you could get 300miles out of one tank but that fits into the category of low mileage i think. it does tow a little and low range is deceptively low and really maximizes the torque. It handles well off-road and on ice. I've put 25k miles on it (in 1.5years) so i think iv got a pretty good idea of the kind of car it is. The best thing for under $10,000, and one quarter the price!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Dependable

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"95 SR5 v-6 2WD, 246,400 miles. City miles only. All the bells and whistles. Head gasket problems @ 210,000. Spent less than $3,000. Perfect again. Toyota certified mechanic suggested to replace engine coolant every 2 years with Toyota coolant and only use Toyota oil filters and it will run forever. Best SUV I've ever owned. I love it."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

17 Years of dependability

By on Monday, November 7, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Body style - comfortable - nice drive - dependable"

Cons: "Gas mileage bad - engine power - safety issue"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My odometer is just over 65,000 miles. NO, it did not 'turn'. Original owner! R/T to work 2.2 miles, now retired. Most mileage was of course trips, at usually 1,000 miles or more. I bought the whole pkg, incl 4-door, roof rack, running boards, great sound system, leather. People ask me to sell, nope. Love the tawny brown color. I can afford a new car, this SUV makes me ask why. To explain that AND give the reader (Hi!) what you need, I'll do this PRO/CON. PROS: I enjoy driving it. Quality workmanship - Few parts have failed - Beautifully designed, so it still looks 'new'. Tho' smaller than today's, 5 passengers ride comfortably, and storage is good after flipping the back seats down. Height is good for seeing traffic ahead on the freeway, which I see as a must. My leather upholstery holds up very well. I have a great factory sound system; good speakers in back. Sun roof is fantastic. Big, with a sliding shade. I've had no problems with the engine or drive train. It always passes smog. I did replace all tires at around 50K miles. 4WD is great; though I don't offroad regularly I compare to my old 4x4 Jeep, and as long as you watch clearance closely and avoid stuff that will scrape the paint, etc., it's great for some off-roading. CONS: Terrible gas mileage is the common complaint. Best I ever got was driving 70 mph, long trip, straight flat road = 16 mpg. City? fuggitaboutit. 12, sometimes 10. Engine power is great once you get up to speed, and the road is flat. It quickly bogs down on hills, even 'empty'; if a road hog slows you down you'll never get your speed back up as long as you are climbing. I think I hate this the most. Except maybe safety. No airbags, only standard across the chest"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, March 27, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I purchased this car when it was brand new in 1994 and sadly, i had to depart with it due to an accident 03/22/08 that resulted in a rollover and totalled this car. However, I belive that the car was built so good that it help to save my life. I just wish that there was some way that you could make the SUV's to prevent them from rolling over. All-in-all, i am a very satisfied owner and plan on purchasing the 2008 SR5 Sports 4 runner."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Highly Recomended

By on Thursday, April 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "amazing 4wd, very comfortable, very reliable"

Cons: "lack of power and lack of mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle not perfect but real close to it! Never let me down, and never got stuck has 4" lift and 32x11.50R15 and they are amazing with the 4runners 4wd system I love it and would recomend it to everyone"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this truck, it is the best!

By on Saturday, January 7, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality, Dependable, Looks great,"

Cons: "Cup holders limit air vents when used"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my 4Runner, I upkeep the maintenance on it, and it runs like a champ. I have owned several vehicles, more than 12 or so??? This is one of the best, I love Toyota's (owned 4 of them). This truck looks tuff, and drives strong. There is a long list of great things about this truck mostly the quality and the life of the truck. It is extremely dependable, and I love the way that the back window comes down and you have a tailgate to sit on! I love the sunroof and that it is so well made it does not leak even though it is a 1995 truck! The quality shows also in the cruise and radio controls being on the steering wheel. I will tell you the couple of small negatives. On the model I have the cup holders are in front of the AC vents, blocking some air flow. The Toyota's in general have a weakness of the driver door not locking and unlocking with the others, and mine has that problem. One of my back windows does not work properly, but as I said my truck is 17 years old."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever!

By on Thursday, December 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 244,445

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "cup holder, head rest, rear seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bough this car in february of 2011 i was the 3rd owner and bought it with 242,348mi the car has never failed the car is salvage and is still running the a/c blws extremely cold and there have been no major repairs ever done to this car the car will last foreve. The car is slower compared to newer models but still is great"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

BY FAR THE BEST VEHICLE I HAVE EVER OWNED!!!!

By on Friday, December 9, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned many vehicles in my 61years. Including Lexus and Jaguar....my 4Runner is still my favorite!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

my review

By on Sunday, October 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "heads blow up"

Cons: "they are a nice ride with 4x4 and its toyota"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ill just say now if your looking for a fast 4door with a nice sport look and want that 4x4, jeep grand cherokees are more for that. Toyota 4 runners are more of a good ride that will get you where you need and does pretty good in mud i haven't got stuck with mine yet. But i also don't off road due to the fact of, the head probles. All of the 1994 Toyota 4runners have a defect in the head gaskets you will be switching the heads on these cars every 80xxx miles un less you drive like a grand ma. Mine leaks oil from a lot of seals and its not cheep.So unless you got money to fix leaks or new head gasket i would and wouldn't recommend this car to you."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

High highs and low lows.

By on Monday, December 14, 2009

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought my 94 4Runner at 150,000 miles. 10k later, head gaskets blew ($900 in parts, did work ourselves. About 30 man-hours). Fine. After that, CV joints, starter, steering rods. Now at 185k, needs water pump, radiator, engine knock and O2 sensors. Even in running shape, you're left with a truck that looks great and drives great, but gets crummy mileage (15-17mpg), and is underpowered. Pros: the truck is very comfortable (no problems driving nine hours in it), no issues in snow, very roomy. Cons: iffy mileage and low power from an engine that is horribly designed and entails a swear-fest every time I work on it. Not only is it not reliable, but is a mechanic's nightmare for access."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Aint What She Used to Be

By on Wednesday, October 14, 2009

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"I had an 86 4-Runner and drove it well past 200K miles with little maintenance. Based on that fantastic truck and Toyota's reputation, I figured I'd upgrade to a 92 4-Runner V-6. Worst choice ever. After dropping nearly $3000 to replace the head gasket and radiator, I then kicked out more cash for the rear window lever arm, rotten gaskets, rusting mechanisms and blown relays. The car lacked power. It sucked more gas than the average SUV (15 mpg at best). The interior - seat fabric, dash components, door panels, etc - came apart with only normal use. Save your cash and get a late 80s 4-Runner!!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very tough!!

By on Sunday, January 27, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"i have never done a review on any vehicle i have ever owned but i figured that this toy earned it! i have owned my 91 toyota 4runner sr5 v6 3.0 for 3 years now. i purchased it with 82,000 miles it now has 169,000 and i have heavly abused it offroad through rivers, mud, snow, below zero temps, very steep inclines, class 4 roads and long distance travel through cities and across country, a usual 30 thousand miles a year. it has only broke down once with a fuel pump that went bad... but the parts for these vehicles are instock and always very resonably priced,... and very easy to fix yourself with little mechanical knowledge. the only thing it lacks are - mpg, a little more power and could use rear disc brakes instead of drum brakes for more responsive braking. i would recomend this suv to anyone who likes reliability and the great outdoors."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The SUV that will not die

By on Saturday, December 1, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I got this SUV for nearly free and fully expected to turn around and sell it after playing around with it for a few months. Started out using it for errands around town and now it has displaced the family car for weekend events. This SUV is great around town and off-road. It can be parked easily anywhere and turns on a dime. We have thrown Kayaks on top, driven down on the beach, towed numerous boats and even pulled a few 3/4 tons out of slick launch ramps with it. Our best adventure was during a blizzard and the mountain road was closed just behind us. A semi had jack-knifed blocking the pass. There were two H2 Hummers that were stalled waiting for the Semi and the weather to be clear. There was just enough room for us to pass by. The look on the Hummer's faces; Priceless! I especially like the extra RPM boost button for towing and scaling hills. Gas mileage is poor (~15mpg) but the reliability and lack of depreciation more than make up for that."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

One heck of a vehicle

By on Monday, September 3, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have taken care of my 1994 4runner. I have changed out the oil regularly and lubed it the same. I have had to change out the clutch (Expected with a vehicle with the type of miles on mine). The reality is that 4runners are cockroaches in that you flat out can't kill them. I would highly recommend any year of 4runner or Toyota for that matter."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Wednesday, August 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"We bought our 1995 SUV in '97 with 70,000 miles on it! Ten years later we have 170,000+ miles and it still looks great! The back seat is small, so now with two kids we're looking to sell it and I'm amazed at the value this everyday driver has maintained. A great purchase and investment for our family!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

SUPER DUPER VEHIcLE

By on Monday, August 6, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've had mine, new in 1993, now have 325000 miles on it. What a great vehicle. It has been all over USA on and Off road. Never a problem. Only routine maintenece...Still going strong on original engine. I have onlymreplaced the clutch on this car twice. Remarkable. I wish the new 4-Runner were as reliable!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

our forerunner

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"We bought ours new in 1995 and have had great luck with it. It is not the most comfortable, but I know when I get in it, it WILL get me where I need to go. I would recommend buying this japanese made vehicle, even if it is used"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This was my second car ever, and I love it.

By on Sunday, August 5, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Big and safe, reliable, and great storage"

Cons: "needs more cup holders! and in different places"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has been great! It kinda stinks on gas but they always keep going. Try to keep minor maintenance going or you might have a big problem later. Cheap to fix big problems though because the guy i bought mine from used and abused it but it only cost me 1200 to get everything fixed And a lot was out in it and broken. So by far a very good vehicle for a high school or college student."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Most reliable, best in snow, best 4x4 ever owned

By on Friday, November 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 171,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Cheap, fun to drive, off road, snow!!!!"

Cons: "shudders, slower than I like."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the car. Drinks gas (15-17 city) but it's worth it. Its high up, doesnt feel sloshy when driving, will last for many many miles without any major maintenance. Definitely would recommend the 5spd as it will save you a couple miles/ gallon and it's more fun. The oversized wheels are the best for snow, driving over curbs etc. Never worry about scratchin the rims. The thing is a beast and will never die. TopGear couldnt even kill one. Mine has 171k and it drives like it has 30k. I dont know how they do it!! Interior: go with the cloth if you can find it. It saves weight and has a nice old car smell. ( personally i like that) One complaint is that the paneling inside is a little cheap. It tends to shudder when going over bumps. Electrical is impeccable. All around a really great ride. v6 is not better than 4cyl. its 4hp more and weighs almost twice as much. Plus it's not ye-olden-day 22RE. Happy travels!! :)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

goes everywhere, does everything

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "holds its value, fun to drive, reliable"

Cons: "mpg's"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for about 2 1/2 years. In that time have put about 60k miles on it, because it goes everywhere and does everything! Best outdoor activity vehicle, ever. I love the 4wd for getting around in snowy Oregon winters (and muddy springs!), not to mention that favorite swimming spot in the summer. So much fun to drive, especially manual. Back seats fold down to allow plenty of room for camping gear and furry friends. The only downside is that your friends will ask you to help them move! But seriously, gas mileage could be better. But it could also be worse. Mine gets around 22mpg highway, less in town. My solution? Just ride a bike around town ;) I forded a creek in my 4-runner this year. Last year, i buried it in liquid mud halfway up the doors. Can you say, Burl?"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

LOTS OF FUN

By on Wednesday, April 14, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"HAVE OWNED SINCE 1999 HAD 60000 THEN NOW 274000 STILL SOLID AND WILL GO ANYPLACE U WANT TO GO OFF ROAD NOTHING IT CANT DO"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

w00t

By on Sunday, March 21, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"this truck is a fun one, the manual 4wd is a definate good use for anything you need, also it is a very comfortable ride & i love to roll down all 6 of my windows down (doors, moon roof & tailgate) while cruisin with the music goin. Love it & not going to trade it"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota 4Runner near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement