Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2013 Tesla Model S Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $100,175 - $106,570.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $106,570

Fair Purchase Price $106,570
Fair Market Range ($100,175 - $106,570)

Invoice N/A

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 33 Ratings for the 2013 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.7/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

Best car ever, faster than my Porsche 911 60-80mph

By on Monday, July 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great fun to drive, great value, beautiful looks!"

Cons: "Had to pay $1100 to get a 240V outlet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I waited for 11 months to get a Model S (60kWh); but it certainly is worth the wait! Talk about the great performance, looks, technology, and guilt-free driving experience since it produces zero emission. I have driven it 2500 miles and I have just thoroughly enjoyed it. I did a cost of ownership estimate and came up with $0.35/mile over 7 years, which is cheaper than the Honda CR-V (cost $0.52/mile over 7 years) that it replaced! And, I get to use the HOV lane, which saves me $400/yr on express lane toll. Not having to get gas every 5-6 days has been so wonderful - I didn't even figure the amount of money (people say time is money) that I save over 7 years not getting gas. PG&E's PEV rate makes it very cheap to charge during off peak hours."

26 people out of 29 found this review helpful

Truly AMAZING

By on Saturday, July 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My only complaint in driving a Tesla Model S is the endless looks and sometimes crowds that it attracts! The styling and design are top rate. Acceleration is instantaneous and much more linear than an ICE vehicle. It is super quiet. The active air suspension is excellent. The interior space is well designed and roomy. I have the premium sound package and the tech package....both function flawlessly. The 17" iPad like control panel is a huge wow factor, very easy to use and intuitively designed by one of the original iPad designers. The 85kW hour battery system has a practical range of 250-265 with my driving style. Does better on the highway. This is the type of car that makes you want to take the long way home!"

24 people out of 33 found this review helpful

There are far better cars for your money.

By on Thursday, July 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Hey, Just got the S and and underwhelmed. for the price, you get a lot of hype and some "feel good green" points, but on the automotive front, it is lacking. The thing is heavy- and on bumpy roads around Dallas-Ft Worth, the suspension is suspect. I am already budgeting $5-10k to redo the suspension sometime. The interior space is nice (novel) and the silence during acceleration is cool. I would say that the Audi A8 or BMW 7 series are far superior cars, and you'll not have to worry about the range, the future repairs, or the company going out of business (when the government subsidies stop, when Wall Street guys dump the stock, etc.) The idea of the car is cool, but the actual car is UNDERWHELMING."

23 people out of 111 found this review helpful

Not just a car that happens to be electric

By on Wednesday, July 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Power, handling, quiet, FUN, cargo, tech, ETC."

Cons: "range, no cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was designed from the ground up to be an electric car, so if it looks anything like you're familiar with, that's a conscious design decision. They could have made it look like a sci-fi pod, and had nintendo steering. Basically, unlike all the other electric cars out there which were designed to fit into their megacorporation factory lines, or parts bin, this car was designed to be the best that it could be but yet still remain familiar. Consequently, it drives differently from a regular car. Smoother, more responsive, quieter. Basically, better in almost every way. It's so much better, it will change your view on what a car is supposed to be. I could list a hundred things, but it's much easier if I list what it's bad at. Assume that if I didn't list it, I think it's not just good, it's as good as it gets. First the faults: First, it's expensive. If you can't afford $60-100K on a car, you're out of luck. Is it worth it? Is any car worth $60-100K? That's up to the individual. Second, you really don't want to drive more than 180-240 miles (depending on the model) from home very often. The superchargers are great technology, and may work as an adequate solution much of the time in the next few years, but for now, and as a 100% effective solution, it's not really a good solution. However, most of us don't drive more than 180-240 miles in a day except a few times a year. During those times, you can take your second car if you have one, or a rental. Honestly, if you don't drive more than 180-240 miles more than six times a year, it's a minor fault. If you do, don't buy this car. However, if you don't drive more than 180-240 miles, you're in for a whole different experience. How often do you look down and notice you're at a 1/4 tank and have to schedule a gas station detour? With the Model S, if you plug in every night, you never worry about it. Unless you have a life that causes you to somehow end up hundreds of miles from home in random situations, you'll never worry about running out of gas again. You'll always be full in the morning. Finally, the interior is spartan. Not cheap looking, just "minimalist". Only 2 cupholders in the whole car. No lighted vanities. No coat hooks. No folding armrest for the back seat. The back seat is he little weak for a car of this caliber. The headroom for back seat passengers is not great. The view out the rear view mirror is a little crowded. The frunk is a little heavy and hard to close. The floor mats ride up. And, well, that's about it. Everything else about this car is about as good as it gets. The range factor for some is a dealbreaker. And if you're planning to use your car as a taxi, or you are a door-to-door salesman and cover 3 large states, look elsewhere. For almost anyone else who can afford this car, it's better in almost every way than the competition. I own a Model S 60. And I'd have to be a poet to put into words the effect this car has had on me. Not since I turned 16 have I had these kinds of feelings about driving. It's not an exaggeration to say that this car has actually changed me as a person. P.S. Environmentally, if you plug this car in at home, it's GREENER than a similar car of this size, but as long as most of the power in the country is coal and/or oil, it can't be completely environmentally friendly. If you load up with solar, you're GREEN. If a ton of these get sold and the country starts putting in greener power plants, these will be much greener, but for now, they're mostly just an improvement, not a solution."

32 people out of 35 found this review helpful

Not just a car that's electric

By on Wednesday, July 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Power, handling, quiet, FUN, cargo, tech, ETC."

Cons: "range, no cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own a Model S 60. And I'd have to be a poet to put into words the effect this car has had on me. Not since I turned 16 have I had these kinds of feelings about driving. It's not an exaggeration to say that this car has actually changed me as a person. This car was designed from the ground up to be an electric car, so if it looks anything like you're familiar with, that's a conscious design decision. They could have made it look like a sci-fi pod, and had nintendo steering. Basically, unlike all the other electric cars out there which were designed to fit into their megacorporation factory lines, or parts bin, this car was designed to be the best that it could be but yet still remain familiar. Consequently, it drives differently from a regular car. Smoother, more responsive, quieter. Basically, better in almost every way. It's so much better, it will change your view on what a car is supposed to be. I could list a hundred things, but it's much easier if I list what it's bad at. Assume that if I didn't list it, I think it's not just good, it's as good as it gets. First the faults: First, it's expensive. If you can't afford $60-100K on a car, you're out of luck. Is it worth it? Is any car worth $60-100K? That's up to the individual. Second, you really don't want to drive more than 180-240 miles (depending on the model) from home very often. The superchargers are great technology, and may work as an adequate solution much of the time in the next few years, but for now, and as a 100% effective solution, it's not really a good solution. However, most of us don't drive more than 180-240 miles in a day except a few times a year. During those times, you can take your second car if you have one, or a rental. Honestly, if you don't drive more than 180-240 miles more than six times a year, it's a minor fault. If you do, don't buy this car. However, if you don't drive more than 180-240 miles, you're in for a whole different experience. How often do you look down and notice you're at a 1/4 tank and have to schedule a gas station detour? With the Model S, if you plug in every night, you never worry about it. Unless you have a life that causes you to somehow end up hundreds of miles from home in random situations, you'll never worry about running out of gas again. You'll always be full in the morning. Finally, the interior is spartan. Not cheap looking, just "minimalist". Only 2 cupholders in the whole car. No lighted vanities. No coat hooks. No folding armrest for the back seat. The back seat is he little weak for a car of this caliber. The headroom for back seat passengers is not great. The view out the rear view mirror is a little crowded. The frunk is a little heavy and hard to close. The floor mats ride up. And, well, that's about it. Everything else about this car is about as good as it gets. The range factor for some is a dealbreaker. And if you're planning to use your car as a taxi, or you are a door-to-door salesman and cover 3 large states, look elsewhere. For almost anyone else who can afford this car, it's better in almost every way than the competition. P.S. Environmentally, if you plug this car in at home, it's GREENER than a similar car of this size, but it's not a huge plus. If you load up with solar, you're GREEN. If a ton of these get sold and the country starts putting in greener power plants, these will be much greener, but for now, they're mostly just an improvement, not a solution."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.