Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2008 Suzuki XL7

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 149 Ratings for the 2007 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

More power then you would expect.

By on Sunday, February 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I am second owner. Bought it when it was a year old. Has been very reliable. Steering wheel squeaks. Has for years now. Has all he power you would want for such a vehicle and a little bit more."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Need another one.

By on Monday, February 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Luxury and power too!"

Cons: "V6 is the only engine choice."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second XL7' love it and would buy another if the dealership was still able to sell them. Not certain about Suzuki's reason for pulling out of the US when they make an amazing SUV. I like the look, the performance and the low maintenance. Over 100k on both of my XL 7's and the new owner of the first one is still driving it and it looks and sounds great."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Purchased new, great car for value.

By on Thursday, January 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality car for price."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Car has been used since retirement for 7 years traveling all over the US. Great comfort and easy to drive for me, now age 70. No problems, but do change oil regularly and results is a great car. I am so sorry they do no longer sale this car in US."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

great car just so sorry that Suzuki is out of US

By on Sunday, November 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, comfortable, fast on the highway"

Cons: "sun roof leaking, expensive parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"We get my car in 2010 and it was amazing buy - we paid only 14K for XL7/2008. The comfort inside the car is absolutely outstanding, it is the most comfortable SUV I ever saw. The only real issues I had with my car were actually two things: the sun-roof and the windows. Never again I will buy the vehicle with a sun-roof, last repair cost was 780$, and it was leaking at least once in three months. And as they told me at the service - it was NOT covered under the warranty. Front windows were another issue for me at least three times over the last two years. I am thinking today about changing my vehicle mostly because Suzuki as company is out of US, and parts are getting so hard to find now or they are very expensive. I can recommend this car as a great and most comfortable SUV, but cant really recommend because the maintenance will be a real challenge."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned.

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage, seats 7. Tons of features."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great 7 seater with lots of options. Very reliable. Received many compliments, sharp looking vehicle with chrome wheels"

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

More problems than it's worth.

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "The wife loves it."

Cons: "Engine, no dealers around anymore to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Had to have the engine head replaced at 53000 due to faulty oil pump. Major leak from Sunroof, which the dealer could not figure out, but i did. Check Engine light comes on at random because of gas cap. If i didn't have to keep it, it would be gone."

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

5 years in row and kicking!

By on Sunday, May 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Discontinued"

Cons: "Shares a lot with chevy equinox and pontiac torren"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"5 years in row and kicking! I will make whole story short no complaints."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Saturday, May 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe SUV to drive. Other people see you coming."

Cons: "Repairs cost outside regular maintance is $$$$$$"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For a big SUV it drives like a dream. I have owned this car 7 years and have 105,000 miles on it. I get 19 mpg in the city and 26 on the highway. I keep Good tires on it and always keep up with the services. The DVD is great with head set for kids and a remote. Leather seats, and OK Music system and CD. It has been a great car. I sometimes forget it is a big SUV. Very Comfortable seats with heated options too. I have always owned Hondas but this car took me by surprise. I got it as a trade in from a dealership my spouse worked at with 7,000 miles on it. Very nice car with lots of room and seats 7 people."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good as gold.

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When I buy my next car it will be a Suzuki if I can find a dealer that sells them,we don't have a dealer of these cars any place close."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Worse vehicle I've ever owned

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I've only owned this XL7 for 3 yrs. and it has 79,000 miles on it. The timing chains have had to be replaced 3 times. Now I'm being told that Suzuki has known this was a problem with the XL7s, but unfotunately I didn't know this when I purchased it. Wish I had done more investigating into this model. I just really liked the looks and this one had a lot of nice features that I liked. Now it's just sitting in my driveway. I just can't afford to sink more money into it."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Good vehicle except for engine longevity

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Cost to buy and maintain was good until engine"

Cons: "Engine not so good. Would not buy again."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Purchased this truck in 2008 with 25k miles on it. Had probelms at 40k with typical steering rack noise, then power steering pump went out a few miles later. It was a $700 fix. At just over 100k and out of warranty to check engine light came on. Code was PO008 for a stretched timing chain. I did not fix it. At 140k the timing chain broke. By that time the engine was burining oil at a rate of a quart every 500 miles. I always changed the oil as recommended by the oil life monitor and used synthetic oil. It turns out that the oil life monitor lets the car go too long between oil changes and Suzuki did not revise the computer, but GM did for their version of this engine."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A very nice dependable car.

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The price was good when I bought it."

Cons: "The steering don't turn sharp enough."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had any trouble with it in the 5 years that I have owned it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car economically, for family, & reliability

By on Monday, November 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "price, easy to drive, size, extra seats,"

Cons: "Suzuki dealerships closing, hard to find parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This vehicle has 7 seat belts so I can haul my family, their instruments, and their friends. I've had it since 2007 and have had no problems. I maintain it regularly. It gets about 25 miles per gallon average. It turns sharp and fits into smaller parking spaces. Every time I think of getting a newer car, I end up looking for exactly what I have in my Suzuki. My only complaint is that I live a long way from a Suzuki dealership since so many of them have closed and I'm afraid it will be expensive/difficult to find someone to repair it who lives in my area; again, I've had no problems thus far but it's getting older and repairs are inevitable on any vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car Purchase to date!

By on Wednesday, July 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, roomy, smooth, good gas mileage."

Cons: "Foreign car must take to mechanic to get work done"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it used with less than 9k miles with an extended warranty. My payments were less than $300 had it for over four years now, and still loving it! I'm thrilled with this vehicle's versatility, comfort-ability and smooth riding ability. I want my next car to be the same, but a newer version. BEST CAR PURCHASE OF MY LIFE!"

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great price and value.

By on Saturday, June 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable and no shop time."

Cons: "Road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second xl7 and I would buy another one if they were still making them. The first one had over 100 k miles when I traded it and was never in the shop other than routine service. # 2 is so far equal to if not better as I chose one with all the bells and whistles this time. Luv my Suzuki. The only complaint is the road noise on long trips. Great SUV."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great SUV and CHEAP!

By on Saturday, May 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price luxurious"

Cons: "3rd row set up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought our XL7 used with only 30k miles on it and we LOVE IT!! the only complaint I have is the way the 3rd row seating is set up. Like many SUV's with 3rd row it does not have the split captains chairs for easy access to the 3rd row. and with a car seat in the back it makes almost impossible to get into the 3rd row easily. otherwise this vehicle is a great option and is reasonably priced."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great vehicle for an incredible price when used.

By on Saturday, March 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price and vaule used! Fits in our Garage."

Cons: "Not much..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Best kept secret! A 3 row SUV that fits in our garage! Our XL7 is white. We always get compliments on how nice looking it is. Very peppy accelleration. Gas mileage in the real world is exactly as rated. Even with Ethanol. We bought this vehicle very well "loaded" with 4000 miles for $16,000. Low resale mean low cost to us. We never planned on flipping it. Not having ever owned a suzuki/gm product we can honestly say we love it. Very comfortable on long trips. The third seat is tight as expected BUT super convenient to have. Excellent cargo space. Is it perfect? Does it have the best of materials… no but very acceptable. Best of all it fits on our garage and we do not need to fold our mirrors in! You cannot beat the value!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

good family car

By on Tuesday, July 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "level ride system"

Cons: "expensive parts when something does go wrong"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"its comfortable for long trips and the level ride system helps on the gas. It is/was a great car. loved the color and the overall proformance on the road. Only problem is the parts are expensive if/when they need replaced and the labor is extremely extensive."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

One of my most favorite vehicles ever

By on Thursday, April 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The car is very comfortable, reliable and looks great."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I like the dual ac...my son likes the back cold

By on Saturday, March 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "nice car"

Cons: "personally did not like color I bought"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Disappointed that Suzuki quit making this model, not interested in their current line. If looking for used car I have owned 2 XL7's (2004 model and 2007 model). Great vehicles."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Safety rating super-outstanding value for price

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive, lots of room, great value"

Cons: "Third row seat is a little tight"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This SUV has everything a luxury car would have but only costs half as much, leather, all power, heated seats. This is an outstanding ride at any price. Drives nice with great gas mileage for a mid-size SUV. With third row seat big enough for the entire family."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great family SUV

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "resumeablly priced, axceptable gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my XL7 for 3 years now and I love the ride and layout of the interior. I do like the fact that the electronics in the vehicle are GM and the workings of the back seat folding down system is easy and reliable. Add the towing capacity and the vehicle is perfect for the outdoors type of family. Seeing that this vehicle was a rental before I acquired it the mechanics on the XL7 has been flawless with the exception of the driver window motor going out. I would expect that being a rental. Great job on the all around workings on this XL7. The manual transmission is a very fun feature...love it!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Spacious, comfortable, easy to drive, low maint.

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Spacious, comfortable, low maint."

Cons: "Steering radius. Can't see to back up very well."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's very comfortable to drive. Has a lot of room. I have a baby and it's easy to get her in and out. Only thing I don't like is the steering radius and it's kinda hard to see to back up, especially at night. Needs a camera, which I thought all SUV's will be required to have soon. I love the heated seats and that it lets you know when to change oil. Has everything at your finger tips."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love LOVE LOVE My Suzie!

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives well, quiet, comfortable, lots of room"

Cons: "After 100k miles less fuel economy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car originally in March 2007 (happy birthday to me!) in NC and shortly after moved to CA pulling an 8x12 enclosed trailer with max load capacity of 3600 lbs. This car is amazing in all aspects. Pulls hard, drives well, quiet, comfortable, lots of room for the family, cargo, dogs, groceries... whatever you can throw at her she can probably handle. Rear air and 3rd row seating has been a huge plus. I have managed to use her for moving, commuting, long and short distance travel. Always a pleasure to drive. The one downer was that it seemed to almost float in the front end under hard acceleration even though she's an AWD edition. Little hard to get used to at first but don't even notice now. I have 113k miles and have enjoyed putting on every one. I have lost a little power since she was new but I would highly reccomend."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Have enjoyed the SUV.

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,900

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I plan to keep this one!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Suzuki XL7 near Honolulu. See local deals