Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2008 Suzuki XL7

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 145 Ratings for the 2007 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next

Best car I have ever owned.

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage, seats 7. Tons of features."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great 7 seater with lots of options. Very reliable. Received many compliments, sharp looking vehicle with chrome wheels"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

More problems than it's worth.

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "The wife loves it."

Cons: "Engine, no dealers around anymore to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Had to have the engine head replaced at 53000 due to faulty oil pump. Major leak from Sunroof, which the dealer could not figure out, but i did. Check Engine light comes on at random because of gas cap. If i didn't have to keep it, it would be gone."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

5 years in row and kicking!

By on Sunday, May 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Discontinued"

Cons: "Shares a lot with chevy equinox and pontiac torren"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"5 years in row and kicking! I will make whole story short no complaints."

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Saturday, May 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe SUV to drive. Other people see you coming."

Cons: "Repairs cost outside regular maintance is $$$$$$"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For a big SUV it drives like a dream. I have owned this car 7 years and have 105,000 miles on it. I get 19 mpg in the city and 26 on the highway. I keep Good tires on it and always keep up with the services. The DVD is great with head set for kids and a remote. Leather seats, and OK Music system and CD. It has been a great car. I sometimes forget it is a big SUV. Very Comfortable seats with heated options too. I have always owned Hondas but this car took me by surprise. I got it as a trade in from a dealership my spouse worked at with 7,000 miles on it. Very nice car with lots of room and seats 7 people."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good as gold.

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When I buy my next car it will be a Suzuki if I can find a dealer that sells them,we don't have a dealer of these cars any place close."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Worse vehicle I've ever owned

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I've only owned this XL7 for 3 yrs. and it has 79,000 miles on it. The timing chains have had to be replaced 3 times. Now I'm being told that Suzuki has known this was a problem with the XL7s, but unfotunately I didn't know this when I purchased it. Wish I had done more investigating into this model. I just really liked the looks and this one had a lot of nice features that I liked. Now it's just sitting in my driveway. I just can't afford to sink more money into it."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Good vehicle except for engine longevity

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Cost to buy and maintain was good until engine"

Cons: "Engine not so good. Would not buy again."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Purchased this truck in 2008 with 25k miles on it. Had probelms at 40k with typical steering rack noise, then power steering pump went out a few miles later. It was a $700 fix. At just over 100k and out of warranty to check engine light came on. Code was PO008 for a stretched timing chain. I did not fix it. At 140k the timing chain broke. By that time the engine was burining oil at a rate of a quart every 500 miles. I always changed the oil as recommended by the oil life monitor and used synthetic oil. It turns out that the oil life monitor lets the car go too long between oil changes and Suzuki did not revise the computer, but GM did for their version of this engine."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A very nice dependable car.

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The price was good when I bought it."

Cons: "The steering don't turn sharp enough."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had any trouble with it in the 5 years that I have owned it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car economically, for family, & reliability

By on Monday, November 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "price, easy to drive, size, extra seats,"

Cons: "Suzuki dealerships closing, hard to find parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This vehicle has 7 seat belts so I can haul my family, their instruments, and their friends. I've had it since 2007 and have had no problems. I maintain it regularly. It gets about 25 miles per gallon average. It turns sharp and fits into smaller parking spaces. Every time I think of getting a newer car, I end up looking for exactly what I have in my Suzuki. My only complaint is that I live a long way from a Suzuki dealership since so many of them have closed and I'm afraid it will be expensive/difficult to find someone to repair it who lives in my area; again, I've had no problems thus far but it's getting older and repairs are inevitable on any vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car Purchase to date!

By on Wednesday, July 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, roomy, smooth, good gas mileage."

Cons: "Foreign car must take to mechanic to get work done"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it used with less than 9k miles with an extended warranty. My payments were less than $300 had it for over four years now, and still loving it! I'm thrilled with this vehicle's versatility, comfort-ability and smooth riding ability. I want my next car to be the same, but a newer version. BEST CAR PURCHASE OF MY LIFE!"

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Suzuki XL7 near Honolulu. See local deals