Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1997 Suzuki Sidekick

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 92 Ratings for the 1989 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next

Awesome Vehicle

By on Monday, July 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my Sidekick used in 95'. Many mud holes, creeks, hills, and 4-wheeler trails later(and @ 249,XXX miles) it still cranks up 1st try and runs great. In the 12 years I've owned it I have only changed the oil, tires, 2 batteries, and re-wired the tail lights. Not bad for an 89'model---even accidently drove it a ~6 months without an air filter."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

best car ever

By on Sunday, August 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive and dependable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car new and is the most reliable all weather vehicle ever. Every time I drive it people ask if I would sell it. No way.Cheap on gas and maintenace, and fun to drive in any climcondition.ate or"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

You pay for what you get!

By on Thursday, February 04, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
8/10

"I did not buy this SUV for looks. I bought this SUV because I wanted the best value for the 2500 bucks I was about to spend. Dependability is a must. The mileage was not correct because the one I bought was a tow along. IF I had to guess it really has less then 130k, but the meter reads 200K. It is way to clean for that many miles. I tracked my gas mileage for the first year and I averaged 27mpg. I have been on two 12hour non-stop road trips over some nasty mountains. The little 4 banger motor did a good job. Carfax has reported front end damage but I never had any problems. New belts are all I had to change under the hood. No leaks, tight clutch and great 4wheel drive. You cannot get a better deal than the sidekick. Great going to work car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great vehicle!!!!!!

By on Monday, April 18, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love my 93 Sidekick! It is incredibly reliable, fuel efficient (25 city, 32 hwy), comfortable to drive, and the four wheel drive has never failed me. I bought mine with 120,000 miles on it and it currently has 189,000 miles and shows absolutely no sign of stopping anytime soon. Mine is a 5-speed standard, which is probably the reason for the high fuel efficiency. It is the cheapest to drive 4x4 I've ever owned. It has had only minor issues (door hand broke, linkage in the clutch broke, lock broke...all were cheap to fix). My only complaint is that it's very light (another reason for the high mpg's), so when there is a lot of ice on the road I need to throw a couple sandbags in the back to increase traction. But that has never bothered me and I'm thankful for the extra mpg's. I love this vehicle and will drive it until it dies, if that ever happens. I plan on using it to teach my daughter to drive, and she's 1 and a half right now."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Not bad

By on Sunday, October 12, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"My husband owned our 96 Sidekick before we met, He has used it as a tow behind vehicle most of the cars life. It tows excellent. We live in the Mtns. It has yet to get stuck. We put the largest tire on it that it can run in winter. My husband runs it hard and full out. It just keeps going and going. It isn't the most comfortable car, and I really don't like the looks of it, but the 24-27 mpg makes up for that, since we are pickup people (4) that says it all. We are looking for another one for the future gas crunch."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Suzuki Sidekick near Honolulu. See local deals