Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2008 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 206 Ratings for the 2006 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

Best value/4WD ever!

By on Saturday, December 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Low cost to maintain, great control in snow"

Cons: "somewhat frequent brake replacement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Suzuki auto built in Japan, sold in US. The price was practically a steal. The vehicle is the best for winter driving w/ full-time AWD and 4WD option for greater control. My first Suzuki gave me 274,000 awesome driving miles with extremely low maintenance costs over the lifetime. This car is proving to be just as good a value, though brake replacement is more frequent than I would expect. Also, very impressed with the gas mileage (considering the AWD/4WD) and its power going up hills. So disappointed Suzuki has decided not to continue auto sales in US. I had committed to this brand for life for its value and reliability. I would especially recommend this car for young drivers for its low maintenance costs, reliability, safety, control"

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Great Value!

By on Monday, October 20, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Overall excellent rating as GV has been very reliable, plenty of power, decent gas mileage, great styling, teriffic value compared to RAV4 or CRV. Couple this with excellent factory warranty and you have a great value. Only complaint is the amount of road noise that drums in from the tires. Hoping when I change to a better quality tire (from factory original Yokohamas), road noise will diminish. It's quite loud down the freeway at 65mph!"

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

My second Suzuki

By on Monday, August 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Sporty stylish looks good fuel economy!"

Cons: "If you need 4WD then get it!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love it. Well I have had the second Suzuki for over a year now and I think I will trade it for a 4WD. I love my Suzuki."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best ever!

By on Tuesday, March 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Love the features for the price!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven this car for about just about 80,000 miles and have had no major problems! Just the typical car maintenance. This car can take on the MN weather with no worries with its AWD. I love the interior, you get the feel of an expensive SUV for less cha-ching. I feel you get your bang for your buck on this one! I Highly recomend this vehicle!!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle!

By on Thursday, January 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Value, back seats fold down, I sit up high"

Cons: "3 point steering wheel, inadequate visors."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it new in 2006, still driving and loving it 8 years later! Everything fits in the back, love it!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Never back to the dealer

By on Sunday, April 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "low maintenance"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had this vehicle for 6 years and it has never been back to the dealer for warranty work. All I have done is routine maintenance on this vehicle. best value for the money!!I will continue to buy suzuki"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love this car...average gas mpg is 25.

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,145

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, worth the price Gas mileage is great"

Cons: "no gas light when tank nears empty."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

day we picked her up

"I love this car, we have the luxury model, love driving it, gets better gas mileage than our dodge calibur did and has a bigger engine. Love all the automatic controls for lights, air conditioning. Only thing missing is a gas light when tank is low, its a minor issue, I really enjoy this car and all its features."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

day we picked her up

my second new suzuki. best ever.

By on Tuesday, April 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had a 2008 SX4 Touring, 50,000 miles, zero problems. Traded in on the 2012 Grand Vitara Limited. Last Limited on the west coast before Suzuki pulled out of the market. Has much more content for the price than any other SUV. Is a billy goat off-road just like the SX4. I needed a little larger vehicle for my new job, so I went with the Grand Viagra over the SX4.Like the fact that most of the interior controls are the same as the SX4. Suzuki is like Mercedes in that, when something works, they don't change it. mechanically, for the price ($20,000), has all the accident avoidance and real 4WD that costs extra on the rest in this catagory. Styling is much better, tight lines, no overhang, built to be an SUV. 4 banger has plenty of power, decent mileage, 20.3 mostly city so far. GPS is removeable, custom made by Garmin for this car. even has my exact car and color for the 3d!. love the voice command and traffic alert function. easy upload from Garmin. heated seats and keyless start are great in cold weather with gloves on. carried 5 sets of clubs the other day and only used 1/3 of the back with folded rear seat."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good price for the quality"

Cons: "Needs better gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for a year now and have not had any problems with it. I love the all wheel drive, it makes me feel very safe and secure on the winter roads. It has a sleek body style that makes me do a double take whenever I look at it. This model not only has keyless entry, but it has a button on the handle to lock and unlock, plus it has keyless start, so all you have to do is have your fob in your pocket and you can go! I am so spoiled to having the button, it makes it very nice when you have your hands full with groceries! The only downfall to this car is the gas mileage, I get roughly 17-18 in town, but you have to put in mid-grade to get that. If you put in the cheapest it goes down to 15-16. It is the all-wheel drive that does it, so you have to think if you are willing to sacrifice mileage for added safety. I did and I am ok with it. Suzuki also has the 100,000 mile warranty, so if anything goes wrong, it is covered, that was another reason for me buying this car. Overall, I am very happy with this car and the only reason I would ever get rid of it is to get a car with a third row."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Finally a keeper

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Smooth drive, multi function vehicle"

Cons: "window seals need replacement, fast fading paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 2nd Grand Vitara, I had the older body style and when this one came out I was there to get one. I love the styling of the body, the car handles very well and drives smoothly. I have the best of both worlds, I can haul light weight trailers, fill my trunk area with mulch etc but still pack the family in for road trips. Since paying off the Grand Vitara I have not looked for a new car and do not even want to pass this one on to one of my kids. It's MINE and I want to keep it :) Truely a great car for the money."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great value in a small package

By on Wednesday, July 22, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"I love my grand vitara. I have owned mine for 2 years and I love it just as much as the day I bought it. This car can do anything. Great all around vehicle. I tow a lot of stuff, and It tows AMAZINGLY well for such a small SUV. Great Value"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This is the best car I have ever owned!

By on Friday, January 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable, and great in the snow!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been extremely dependable. I have not one time had any trouble with it. Great on gas for an SUV, about 25mpg. It is a sound car. Great in the snow. I simply love it. It's the best purchase I ever made."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

good vehicle

By on Monday, July 05, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"did have to replace the factory tires early (about 20k), but the replacement tires still look brand new after another 30k. no other issues so far. getting ready to do the 60k maintenance. changed a headlight bulb and replaced the front pads, not bad for 4 years of ownership. cargo room is a little small but splurge for a roof box for long trips- it seems to double your cargo space."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Monday, July 20, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have been extremely pleased with this vehicle. I regularly get 21 - 22 mpg on my commute to work and 24-26 mpg on freeway trips. It doesn't rattle, bang or clunk and feels just as tight as when I drove it off the lot in Feb 2006. It will cruise at 75-80 with no road noise. Only complaint I could make was the original tires HAD to be replaced at 25K. It is comfortable and my 78 year old father, after a 600 mile trip with us, said it was a good riding car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Husband really loved this vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great drivability; good vision"

Cons: "Headrest awkward for short people; ugly a/c contro"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My husband had a 07 Suzuki Gran Vitara. HE LOVED IT. I had problems with the headrest as I am short & it hit the middle of my head moving it forward. The a/c controls are ugly and not really as functional as some other vehicles. Drives very well; handles well; had an issue with the rear drive shaft in the first year but other than that not anything but brake check; mechanic said great brakes; heavy duty and strength of what is equivalent to Suburbans. Mechanic said suzukis do not come in for repair; very dependable vehicles. Vehicle was totaled by a drunk driver and husband was devastated. Could not find another used one to replace it with so we bought Ford explorer. I do not like driving the Ford."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV for the price

By on Wednesday, May 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Standard features and comfort"

Cons: "gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We have had our 2013 Suzuki Grand Vitara for a few months now. No regrets buying it. Yes the gas mileage could be better we are getting a combined hyw/city of 19.8 It does not seem as sluggish as people have described. The list of standard features is incredible. So far I would buy another one but will not be able to now."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good Car

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Rides good, looks better than most in this price range. Lots of features for the money. Gets fair gas mileage at best."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best vehicle nobody knows about

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price for the workmanship"

Cons: "no gps no backup camera but I added both"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new in October 2005 ventilated seats 6 cd stereo heated outside mirrors controls in steering wheel leather 6 airbags stability control running lights sunroof all power windows and locks remote unlock keyless ignition 6 cup holders"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I thought it was a great car....at first...

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Its Dallas Cowboy colors"

Cons: "EVERYTHING"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"At 1st I loved the car! It was priced right and advertised as good gas mileage. Being a single mom, it was rated very high for dependability. After purchasing in Jan 2011, I got the notice for the recall on the pulley. A few days later while shopping, the car would not start. The dealer had to replace the fuel pump. Within the past year, the car has been at the dealers at least 7 times. The transmission was jerking and they tried telling me it was a computer update. It was actually the torque converter. The car does not like to start sometimes. The A/C makes a noise that sounds like a squirel is squeaking in the dash. There is a burning rubber smell whenever the car is driven. The car jerks when you put into gear. There is much more that I am missing. Needless to say, even though the car is under warranty, it wont be one day meaning I will be fronting the bill for repairs. The dealer is stating that they have not had these reported from anyone else and they cannot "reproduce" the issues so they wont fix anything."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Started out great - went downhill!

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,700

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "comfortable, stylish; at least initially"

Cons: "rapid deterioration, warning lights flashing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Although I started out loving this small SUV, I am not happy with it now. I'm on my 3rd set of tires, the paint on the gearshift knob is coming off, warning lights flash on and off at will, even though I have had it checked several times and there is nothing wrong, and the sunroof has decided not to close all of the way. The key fobs are giving out - sometimes they work and sometimes they just don't. I went to a locksmith who advertised batteries"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great overall vehicle for the price!!!

By on Tuesday, December 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Leather, heated seats, sound sys, XM, price, V6."

Cons: "Not much room for baby car seat, gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love this SUV!..I have the 2006 Luxury model...The ride height is a good average with 17" wheels.... the Luxury model comes with nice leather and heated seats!...nothing has ever went wrong with it besides a bad battery and the passenger's seat doesn't heat up. (no biggie)....Even though it's "XM Ready", you do have to install a pretty expensive XM Tuner which is a pain to install if you don't pay somebody to do it for you....but I think it's overall a very sharp vehicle...small things that I don't like is that you have to purchase a luggage rack adapter and that the small seat behind the driver rattles a little bit....but they are 60/40 fold down seats, which is great. (too bad they just don't fold down into the floor). The sound system/stereo is great!...subwoofer under the driver's seat built in along with 6 additional speakers and a 6 disk CD changer that reads MP3's!...and we just had our first child, and with the size of the back seat, it's a little tight b/c of the size of carseats these days and with me being so tall that I sit really far back...but even with me being over 6 foot tall, I have plenty of headroom which is great and usually unheard of with a small SUV....and wish it had better gas mileage (18/22)..but average for a V6."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Has been a very dependable car

By on Wednesday, September 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,985

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "No GPS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Would be an excelent family car"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very dependable

By on Thursday, March 31, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This vehicle is very good on ice and snow. No snow tires required. I don't care for the front beams on vehicle. I wish they were larger. This was my first purchase of an SUV and I have not been disappointed."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

very decent

By on Tuesday, August 04, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned several suv's from XL7's to durangos but the grand vitra is a really good buy, not only did it have several rebates at purchase but it handles very well on the road, it's quick and easy to drive. The leg room was also suprising my friends and I fit very comfortalbly, I haven't owned it for very long but I am very pleased. The sound system is something to hear as well. Being a larger guy, i find it also very easy to get in and out of. The only negative thing I have to say about the gv is that there is some vibration on the highway when you get around 70 I believe it's a problem that can be resolved by purchasing a better tire."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV, Great Price

By on Thursday, July 30, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is my third Suzuki, no issues with any of them. I traded my 2002 XL7 for the 2009 GV (FWD 3.2 Engine), never had any problems, great reliability. The GV is a great vehicle, well built."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Suzuki Grand Vitara near Honolulu. See local deals