Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2008 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 201 Ratings for the 2006 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

fun to drive not great gas millage

By on Friday, July 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,250

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great in snow"

Cons: "cant keep drive train running,poor gas millage for"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Bought new from dealer. Have only 43250 miles In 5yrs. Have had replaced traction/brake controller$2500,transfer case failure replaced ,clutch,transition replaced ,rear wheel drive shaft replaced,latest rear end gears went south replaced,now having vibrations from drive train issues awaiting suzuki tech's salutations as to what next is wrong with the Drive train. Have had replaced rear window due to driving not working. Had factory recalls done for Main belt mentioned also for passenger's air bag controller in seat replaced. I have replaced all four tires $700 have had wheel alignments done oil changes replaced air filters. All in just 43250miles. I really enjoy my suzuki it is great in our winters here in the east. But in my opinion I have a lemon plane and simple. Glad I bought their extended warranties cause this has been the worst care I've ever own and my only NEW car I've ever bought. Most likely last. Will let someone else enjoy ALL The new car repairs needed to keep the thing rolling back and forth to my work of only 4mile trip each way to work and back"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

It has been reliable and comfortable.

By on Sunday, June 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "4wd great and climate control great."

Cons: "Windows fog up."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"After looking at the interior or Rav 4 while shopping for a new car, the Rav4 and Grand Vitara look similar, they have the same features."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent Value and Reliability

By on Friday, June 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride. Comfortable seating. Luxury feel."

Cons: "low beams mainly (read review) Only 19mpg Highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought brand new with 7 miles on the odometer in March '06. In more than 8 years I have replaced tires ($700), & Cat. Converter ($900). Minor cheap maintenance such as alignments, and oil changes w/tire rotations. Battery replaced ($100) after 6 years. My wife would constantly leave interior lights on throughout the night, so... NO Engine issues. NO tranny issues. NO electrical issues EVER. In fact the transmission shifts so smoothly I have to listen for it. I have leather seats that are SO comfortable. I have seen bmws, lexus, etc. with leather seats that start to fade, crack, split and look terrible after 80K, but NOT my Suzuki. After I clean/condition it, it still looks brand new and firm even when approaching 110K! The car runs strong even after 3 accidents. Yes, 3. I was never at fault, and the car was in the body shop for a TOTAL of 8 weeks. After all the body repairs, this car still runs like the day I got it! My title will most likely be a "salvage", but I really don't care. The car took 2 rear end hits and a fender bender like it was no big deal. Never been garaged or overly pampered. The OEM tires need to be replaced as soon as you can! Buy a good set and it will transform your car and will actually last a lot longer than the ones that came on the GV (yokohomo, IIRC) My key FOB is great. It senses where keys are. You cant lock your keys in the car! Its impossible. Unlocking it requires me to be close to the car. It senses the key in my pocket. Cons: (Known issues with these GV) - I feel its a little "noisy" in the cabin. Not a lot. Music will drown that out quickly. - Alignments can be tricky. Expect 2/yr. I had to tell the Suzuki dealer that there is a new alignment spec for these cars. They kept going until they got it right. - Low beam headlights aren't the brightest, even with aftermarket bulbs. Its common with these cars to go through bulbs quite frequently. I can go 3-8 months between bulb changes. - Small issue, but I WISH it chimed when the gas gets low. The only indicator is a small orange light. -The car comes with something that I refer to as "Downhill Brake Assist". When you are traveling down a hill, and begin to brake, the car will drop gear for you to prevent you from accidentally losing control I guess. While not really an issue, it takes a while to get used to this! That's it. Good in snow w/o snow tires. Great in heavy rain with good rain tires. I strongly recommend buying one!"

Great little vehicle

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great small SUV, very roomy, great on gas."

Cons: "Slow on the take off! But great on straight away."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've had this SUV seven years it has started everyday, very reliable. It's great on gas. The only thing I have replaced are tires in seven years. I have to admit its a little slow on the take-off, but fast on the straight away."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Never neededanything other than normal maintenance

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "easy to drive & park"

Cons: "prefer better mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is very dependable and never required anything but normal maintenance - basically oil changes, wipers & headlights."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Solid, dependable, comfortable, unstoppable

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good on gas and full of luxury features"

Cons: "Oil filter is in the most unreachable spot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My wife drives this SUV through snow and slush all winter long. I put Michelins on it instead of the junk OEM tires and nothing can stop this vehicle."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

170k miles with no issues!!

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything!!"

Cons: "Nothing comes to mind any more"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my annual review of the vehicle. Last review Feb '13 at 145k. '07 Grand Vitara survives another brutal winter in Northern Mi in style. This is the most amazing vehicle ever. Finally, a minor maintenance issue: insignificant leaks from rear axle seal and transfer case. Cost $320. Not bad after 7 yrs and 170k miles. Suzuki pulls out of US market. GM posts record profits amidst major recalls. You be the judge."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great, reliable vehicle. Tons of cargo space.

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable and easy to drive."

Cons: "Back seat isnt very comfortable on long drives."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Equipped with tow package, garage kept, all maintenance records available. One owner."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very nice vehicle

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "good price"

Cons: "seats not heated"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good quallity"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle!

By on Thursday, January 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Value, back seats fold down, I sit up high"

Cons: "3 point steering wheel, inadequate visors."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it new in 2006, still driving and loving it 8 years later! Everything fits in the back, love it!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best car in the world

By on Sunday, November 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles like sports car;so reliable;best value"

Cons: "Noisy on the freeway - Meh"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE this car. Hate to see it getting old, but I'm not giving it up. It's a perfect vehicle for me. If you ever get a chance to own one, DO IT. Don't think twice. My only complaint is that it is noisy on the freeway. Big deal. In the scheme of things, that matters about 1%, while all the positives about the car are the other 99%. It's got room for people, for cargo, for BOTH. Good gas mileage. Good looking. VERY reliable - never lets me down; even runs on fumes and keeps going when I've neglected it for short periods. Get one and never let it go."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great small SUV. Gas millage good for AWD

By on Tuesday, November 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Just an excellent all round vehicle."

Cons: "none that I can think of!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this vehicle when I became a travel nurse, moving from state to state with 2 dogs in tow. It had enough room to take us and our belongings anywhere including Nebraska in winter where I used the 4 wheel drive often in the deep snow.Incredibly reliable I never felt insecure when I traveled. Comes highly recommended by me."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Husband really loved this vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great drivability; good vision"

Cons: "Headrest awkward for short people; ugly a/c contro"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My husband had a 07 Suzuki Gran Vitara. HE LOVED IT. I had problems with the headrest as I am short & it hit the middle of my head moving it forward. The a/c controls are ugly and not really as functional as some other vehicles. Drives very well; handles well; had an issue with the rear drive shaft in the first year but other than that not anything but brake check; mechanic said great brakes; heavy duty and strength of what is equivalent to Suburbans. Mechanic said suzukis do not come in for repair; very dependable vehicles. Vehicle was totaled by a drunk driver and husband was devastated. Could not find another used one to replace it with so we bought Ford explorer. I do not like driving the Ford."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I LOVE my Grand Vitara!

By on Monday, October 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's been great! very reliable transportation. Great in the bad weather, snow and ice. I can fit my golf clubs & pull cart in the back easily.And still have room for a few groceries. On weekends, I can fold the back seats down and put my bike in the back and take it to the bike trails. Love the interior. Very smart looking leather seats, wood panel trim dash. She works hard, doesn't mind getting dirty and having a little fun...then she cleans up real good too!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Monday, October 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive and does great in the snow."

Cons: "no cons."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i bought this car last year and i think its a great car.i have no complaints about it.it has never gave me a problem.i hate that they quit selling suzukis."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

excelente condiction 2009 grand vitara v6 4wd

By on Tuesday, October 08, 2013

I want this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Sunroof hard cover 5 wheel"

Not such a great buy with the best warranty

By on Tuesday, July 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,500

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Not a bad vehicle to drive short distances"

Cons: "Doesn't age well, falling apart after 4 years."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Gasoline mileage per gallon is probably less than its competitors. Four wheel-drive all the time nets 15mpg city to 20mpg highway. Constantly in the shop for brake work. In the seven years with this vehicle, I’ve had it in for minor brake work to major brake work – replacing all the brakes. Overtime this vehicle has developed many noises from a squeaky driver’s seat that cannot seem to be silenced by the dealer’s mechanics to many other oddity noises. I’ve had the o-rings replace because they were allowing gasoline to spraying where it shouldn’t have been."

Great SUV for the price

By on Wednesday, May 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Standard features and comfort"

Cons: "gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We have had our 2013 Suzuki Grand Vitara for a few months now. No regrets buying it. Yes the gas mileage could be better we are getting a combined hyw/city of 19.8 It does not seem as sluggish as people have described. The list of standard features is incredible. So far I would buy another one but will not be able to now."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV for the price

By on Wednesday, May 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Standard features and comfort"

Cons: "gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We have had our 2013 Suzuki Grand Vitara for a few months now. No regrets buying it. Yes the gas mileage could be better we are getting a combined hyw/city of 19.8 It does not seem as sluggish as people have described. The list of standard features is incredible. So far I would buy another one but will not be able to now."

Very disappointed

By on Wednesday, May 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,300

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Sale price, nav, touchscreen radio"

Cons: "Everything else"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"2013-GV Worst gas mileage ever, average 20.5 on highway. Dash rattles, cd got stuck first day, gas lid doesn't open ( have to pry it while another person holds the gas popper). RIdes real rough, notice every single crack you hit."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very Nice SUV

By on Sunday, April 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I bought the suv brand new and the only problem i have ever had and it is still ongoing is the Brakes,they keeps going out of alignment. The seats are the best you can drive for miles with no backache."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

my second new suzuki. best ever.

By on Tuesday, April 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had a 2008 SX4 Touring, 50,000 miles, zero problems. Traded in on the 2012 Grand Vitara Limited. Last Limited on the west coast before Suzuki pulled out of the market. Has much more content for the price than any other SUV. Is a billy goat off-road just like the SX4. I needed a little larger vehicle for my new job, so I went with the Grand Viagra over the SX4.Like the fact that most of the interior controls are the same as the SX4. Suzuki is like Mercedes in that, when something works, they don't change it. mechanically, for the price ($20,000), has all the accident avoidance and real 4WD that costs extra on the rest in this catagory. Styling is much better, tight lines, no overhang, built to be an SUV. 4 banger has plenty of power, decent mileage, 20.3 mostly city so far. GPS is removeable, custom made by Garmin for this car. even has my exact car and color for the 3d!. love the voice command and traffic alert function. easy upload from Garmin. heated seats and keyless start are great in cold weather with gloves on. carried 5 sets of clubs the other day and only used 1/3 of the back with folded rear seat."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best ever!

By on Tuesday, March 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Love the features for the price!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven this car for about just about 80,000 miles and have had no major problems! Just the typical car maintenance. This car can take on the MN weather with no worries with its AWD. I love the interior, you get the feel of an expensive SUV for less cha-ching. I feel you get your bang for your buck on this one! I Highly recomend this vehicle!!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

good quality car

By on Tuesday, February 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good quality"

Cons: "poor gas milage for a four cyl."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"nice driving but poor gas milage for a four cylinder, 15 mpg highway. I also own a 2000 tracker with a four cylinder in 4 x 4 and engine by Suzuki and get 24 mpg combined city/hwy."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I can't believe Americans have not embraced brand

By on Sunday, February 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Oil consumption"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my fourth Suzuki, three previous ones in Europe. Bought brand new. Only two flaws; axle too narrow for carefree freeway driving on ice but a good set of tires takes care of that problem, and, significant oil consumption but apparently lubricating well all moving parts. Other than that, the most maintenance free vehicle you will ever buy. Tougher than nails, you just can't break them. We tested their off-road capabilities extensively in a 4x4 club. Six cylinder incredibly smooth, coupled with an amazing tranny. 4x4 system ahead of its time. 22mpg average. Looks also ahead of its time; still one of the best looking SUVs on the road. I can't believe Americans have not embraced brand. Of course Suzuki is pulling out of North America- they can't make money if their cars don't break down and still look good after six years. By the way, after six years of operation in Northern Michigan with snow/ice/salt/road grime, there is NO RUST. Rusting Suzukis is a big myth!!"

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Suzuki Grand Vitara near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details