Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2008 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 206 Ratings for the 2006 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 21 | Next

Best value/4WD ever!

By on Saturday, December 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Low cost to maintain, great control in snow"

Cons: "somewhat frequent brake replacement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Suzuki auto built in Japan, sold in US. The price was practically a steal. The vehicle is the best for winter driving w/ full-time AWD and 4WD option for greater control. My first Suzuki gave me 274,000 awesome driving miles with extremely low maintenance costs over the lifetime. This car is proving to be just as good a value, though brake replacement is more frequent than I would expect. Also, very impressed with the gas mileage (considering the AWD/4WD) and its power going up hills. So disappointed Suzuki has decided not to continue auto sales in US. I had committed to this brand for life for its value and reliability. I would especially recommend this car for young drivers for its low maintenance costs, reliability, safety, control"

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Great Value!

By on Monday, October 20, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Overall excellent rating as GV has been very reliable, plenty of power, decent gas mileage, great styling, teriffic value compared to RAV4 or CRV. Couple this with excellent factory warranty and you have a great value. Only complaint is the amount of road noise that drums in from the tires. Hoping when I change to a better quality tire (from factory original Yokohamas), road noise will diminish. It's quite loud down the freeway at 65mph!"

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Most reliable vichicle ever owned,0 trips for Warr

By on Tuesday, December 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great quality and reliability.xlnt.in snow.Fun veh"

Cons: "Fuel mileage only 22MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vechicle new,for size and awd 4wd ability,and for appearence.It is fantastic in the snow,better than my Chevrolet Suburban 4x4.It also came with a 7 year 100,000 mile power train warranty,which at the time was the best in the industry except Hyundai.The only complaints i,ve had were the fuel economy was not as good as i would have liked 20-22 MPG even strictly freeway.The second complaint were the factory tires which were Yokohamas only went 30,000 miles.I got the second set of Yokohamas promising to be much higher mileage than the original ones and only got 20,000.Prorated by discount tire co i,m on my third set and it doesnt seem to be getting any better.Michilens next time."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

My second Suzuki

By on Monday, August 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Sporty stylish looks good fuel economy!"

Cons: "If you need 4WD then get it!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love it. Well I have had the second Suzuki for over a year now and I think I will trade it for a 4WD. I love my Suzuki."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best ever!

By on Tuesday, March 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Love the features for the price!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven this car for about just about 80,000 miles and have had no major problems! Just the typical car maintenance. This car can take on the MN weather with no worries with its AWD. I love the interior, you get the feel of an expensive SUV for less cha-ching. I feel you get your bang for your buck on this one! I Highly recomend this vehicle!!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle!

By on Thursday, January 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Value, back seats fold down, I sit up high"

Cons: "3 point steering wheel, inadequate visors."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it new in 2006, still driving and loving it 8 years later! Everything fits in the back, love it!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Never back to the dealer

By on Sunday, April 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "low maintenance"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had this vehicle for 6 years and it has never been back to the dealer for warranty work. All I have done is routine maintenance on this vehicle. best value for the money!!I will continue to buy suzuki"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love this car...average gas mpg is 25.

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,145

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, worth the price Gas mileage is great"

Cons: "no gas light when tank nears empty."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

day we picked her up

"I love this car, we have the luxury model, love driving it, gets better gas mileage than our dodge calibur did and has a bigger engine. Love all the automatic controls for lights, air conditioning. Only thing missing is a gas light when tank is low, its a minor issue, I really enjoy this car and all its features."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

day we picked her up

my second new suzuki. best ever.

By on Tuesday, April 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had a 2008 SX4 Touring, 50,000 miles, zero problems. Traded in on the 2012 Grand Vitara Limited. Last Limited on the west coast before Suzuki pulled out of the market. Has much more content for the price than any other SUV. Is a billy goat off-road just like the SX4. I needed a little larger vehicle for my new job, so I went with the Grand Viagra over the SX4.Like the fact that most of the interior controls are the same as the SX4. Suzuki is like Mercedes in that, when something works, they don't change it. mechanically, for the price ($20,000), has all the accident avoidance and real 4WD that costs extra on the rest in this catagory. Styling is much better, tight lines, no overhang, built to be an SUV. 4 banger has plenty of power, decent mileage, 20.3 mostly city so far. GPS is removeable, custom made by Garmin for this car. even has my exact car and color for the 3d!. love the voice command and traffic alert function. easy upload from Garmin. heated seats and keyless start are great in cold weather with gloves on. carried 5 sets of clubs the other day and only used 1/3 of the back with folded rear seat."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good price for the quality"

Cons: "Needs better gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for a year now and have not had any problems with it. I love the all wheel drive, it makes me feel very safe and secure on the winter roads. It has a sleek body style that makes me do a double take whenever I look at it. This model not only has keyless entry, but it has a button on the handle to lock and unlock, plus it has keyless start, so all you have to do is have your fob in your pocket and you can go! I am so spoiled to having the button, it makes it very nice when you have your hands full with groceries! The only downfall to this car is the gas mileage, I get roughly 17-18 in town, but you have to put in mid-grade to get that. If you put in the cheapest it goes down to 15-16. It is the all-wheel drive that does it, so you have to think if you are willing to sacrifice mileage for added safety. I did and I am ok with it. Suzuki also has the 100,000 mile warranty, so if anything goes wrong, it is covered, that was another reason for me buying this car. Overall, I am very happy with this car and the only reason I would ever get rid of it is to get a car with a third row."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 21 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Suzuki Grand Vitara near Honolulu. See local deals