Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2004 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 135 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Great Little SUV - Good-Bye to an old friend!

By on Friday, November 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Has never left me on the side of the road, ever."

Cons: "It's a bit of a bumpy ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am finally selling it. It still runs good after 240,000 miles. What else is there to say. The only thing I've ever done to it is replaced the clutch at about 170,000 and normal maintenance. I know that is probably an anomaly and most may not make it that far, but mine is still going great after all these years and miles. I want to drive it until it dies but my wife wants something new. It's never been the most comfortable ride but the 4 wheel drive has gotten me into and out of some of the coolest trails in the desert. It's survived a million road trips to Cali, Mexico, Vegas, and many other places. If I could get another brand new 99 today I probably would."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned

By on Wednesday, October 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "A few issues with the air conditioning system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new while living in Utah. I"m now living in Texas 15 years later and still driving my smart little Suzuki. WONDERFUL gas mileage. Handles exceptionally well. Plenty of room to haul oversized items. With regular maintenance it has always started up with not one problem."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

runs good

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"runs good ,no problems"

Great engine, 160,000 miles and drives smooth

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "solid engine, great 4 wheel drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Good basic car...4 wheel drive works great with good tires, smooth engine...I have lots of miles on it and am not ready to give it up."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

best vehicle

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "value for my money"

Cons: "loved every thing for last 14 years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excellent on millage & comfort runs smooth,"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

iT WAS SUCH A GOOD & ATTRACTIVE CAR SOMEONE STOLE

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "IT WAS FUN TO DRIVE & MADE WINTER STREETS O.K."

Cons: "APPARENTLY EASY TO BREAK INTO & STEAL"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"REALLY MISS IT & THE CONTENTS, WILL PROBABLY LOOK FOR ANOTHER BUT UNLIKELY TO FIND ONE WITH THE LOW MILEAGE"

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, January 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,400

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"One of the best suvs I have driven. A reliable car but the rear windows usually stop working after 100000 miles."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

great car for the money.

By on Friday, January 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "pretty good gas mileage for a v6 (21/25)."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have owned this car since i bought it in 2003. it is one of the most reliable and comfortable cars that i have ever driven. i have 165,000 + miles on it and it has never given me any problems. i kept up with the oil changes and preventative maintenance so the car is in great shape. i only wish that suzuki kept selling th grand vitara in the states. i think that suzuki made a big mistake putting the four cylinder engine in the car and doing away with the v6. my car has the v6 and even with the high mileage, my car still has alot of power. and believe me, this little suv moves! if suzuki still made the grand vitara in the states i would definitely buy another one. (but only with a v6!). the 4wd will get you through anything that nature throws at you."

13 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Dependable effient

By on Sunday, January 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "For the price you can't beat it."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Going on 14 years have only had to replace brakes, batteries and tires. Still runs excellent and everything works!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Little SUV

By on Tuesday, December 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great Drive, Gas Mileage, Performance, Low Repair"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my car used with low mileage & it has been one of the best investments I ever made. The size was right and performance even better especially great in bad weather with the 4 wheel drive. I have only had minimal repair costs for this vehicle, just normal wear & tear such as brakes, tires & battery. My only disappointment is that this vehicle is no longer made or sold in the U.S. because I would definitely buy another !"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love my Suzuki!

By on Tuesday, December 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great value, cute as a button"

Cons: "Acceleration isn't strong with 2.5V engine."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"For a reliable, fun and cute little SUV, the Suzuki Grand Vitara is hard to beat. I bought mine two years ago with 99,500 miles and now I have 126,000 miles on her, and she's still going strong. There were a number of things I needed to do around the 100k mileage mark (new tires, new brakes, new battery, clutch repair) but nothing too bad or unexpected with such high mileage. I've got the two-wheel drive version with the smaller engine, so I'm not setting any land speed records but she drives very well through city streets and can handle speeds of 65-70 mph on the highway. There isn't as much horsepower as I would like, but it is a concession I happily make to have such a reliable and well-running SUV. With the rear seats folded down, there is plenty of room for my two large Golden Retrievers to lay down and relax with room to spare. A big thumbs up on my little Suzuki! I plan to keep her until her final breath, which is hopefully many years away. She's just a great car for the money!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable & Fun

By on Thursday, November 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Grand Vitara has never let me down, never left me stranded (except when my battery was dead) and has enough inside room to haul most anything, I even moved my grandfather clock in it once. I love it!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I bought this car new in2003

By on Monday, August 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "would be nice if transmission shifted smoother"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never had any major problems,its getting old like me but I really love my old Betsy.Thinking about getting her a new paint job"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

5 spd fun to drive. good solid suv

By on Friday, April 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, capable"

Cons: "burns a little oil"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new in Nov. 2000. A few early problems fixed under warrenty. Since then not a problem. I would buy it again."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great, reliable vehicle with no major problems!

By on Sunday, March 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, easy to maintain"

Cons: "Small SUV that drives more like a truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle used from a fleet manager special (only driven by the dealer). I have owned it for over ten years and had no problems with it. It has only required routine maintenance. I love the 4WD "shift on the fly" option, going back and forth is so easy. The seats are very comfortable too."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Very reliable mini suv

By on Thursday, April 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very inexpensive when purchased new, bulletproof"

Cons: "underside rusting will result from parking on dirt"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

when not being used to commute....

"Overall I have found the grand vitara to be a very reliable car, i have never had any serious engine problems or very costly problems otherwise. the engine does leak oil VERY slowly from the rightside valve cover but so slowly the oil rarely needs to be added to before an oil change is due. The only serious problem i have encountered is that the underside of the car tends to rust (which may simply be a result of parking it on dirt for all 12 years of its existence and not really a reflection on the quality of the car). this rusting has resulted in replacing some exaust hangers, a brake line, and a small hole in the frame, non of which are extremely costly repairs. Onto the good, the engine has surprising pep for such a small v6, likely due to it's suzuki motorcycle inspiration. the rest of the drive train (transmission, differential, transfer case, etc.) is completely bulletproof, showing no problems whatsoever. i did finally have to replace the clutch a few weeks ago, but after 137,000 miles which is phenomenal life for a clutch! The suspension is a little stiff, but that comes with the territory of a mini suv, and has held up wonderfully to some moderate off-roading i do in my spare time.on the whole i am very impressed with the design and longevity of this car, and intend to keep it for many years to come"

33 people out of 36 found this review helpful

when not being used to commute....

love this car

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "very comfortabel and reiliable, great price"

Cons: "small leak by the oil pump"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"very litte maintance ,for elevent year old car"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A great little truck!

By on Sunday, February 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive in town."

Cons: "Poor gas mileage. Not enough power for highway use"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm only getting 16mpg Otherwise I'd keep this car forever! Useless in the snow without snow tires"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

\

By on Tuesday, January 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very spacious, hauled a lot of furniture."

Cons: "Near the end of its life, gas effeciency was poor."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been an extremely reliable vehicle. I will miss it. I never thought that I would ever find a less expensive SUV to replace my previous car which was a 1992 Jeep Cherokee Laredo. I bought it in 2000 and until recently only had minor problems. However, it is now 13 yrs old, the engine is smoking and the rear diff is going out."

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

stay away from this tiny money hole

By on Tuesday, January 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "price"

Cons: "engine, brakes, lack of get up and go , poor mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Grand Vitara , It was cost u grands! The engine has a serious flaw. Timing tensioner #1 for the times chain has a bad design and will fail . U will hear a ticking noise when the engine is cold for about 5 seconds. This is the start of the problem. Noise will get worse over time and eventually it will fail all together causing the pistons to hit and bend the valves. Cost of repair before engine fails 1500.00 after engine fails oh about 3000.00."

15 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, just perfect for that 1 to 2 people"

Cons: "Don't know of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car...Hope it can be fixed."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my 2004 Grand Vitara LX from 1st owner with 83,400 miles in 2009 and now have 116,000. 20mpg is best I can get, but rest of vehicle and performance is well worth it. 4WD will let it go anywhere and great on snow/slippery roads. Front wheel seal just started leaking and that's only problem I've had til now. Have replaced serpentine belt and both rotors/pads. Have oil/filter changed every 3000miles and tuned up at 100K, and will keep this "little jewel" until one of us dies."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Gets you where you need to go

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Plenty of standard luxury features. Trouble free."

Cons: "Gas mileage could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought mine used with about 5K miles on it. Was looking for a small SUV, and this offered the most for the money. If you will be driving in snow, you definitely want the 4WD, as the combination of short wheelbase and rear wheel drive makes for a lot of fishtailing in icy conditions. Nudge the transfer case selector into 4WDhigh, and there is an amazing transformation- the truck just becomes totally sure-footed and handles in a predictable manner. In 8 years of driving, my truck needed an expensive battery cable replaced- the cost was about $600 for the cable and installation. Other than that one repair, I have changed oil and fluids regularly, and recharged the A/C once. This truck has been completely trouble free aside from the battery cable for the entire 8 years. I wish gas mileage was better, as the truck only gets about 17MPG. But this is a genuine truck with a ladder frame and 4WD, so it is heavier than most small SUV's. Grand Vitara's come pretty loaded with standard accessories. You get climate control, PW,PL, tilt wheel, cruise control, dual heated side view mirrors, and a small subwoofer under the drivers seat for the stereo all standard. There are very few vehicles that offer this much for the money."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Just bought my 1999 Suzuki!

By on Saturday, November 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Perfect size for a person who wants a small SUV"

Cons: "Cannot think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just got my little Suzuki GV with very low mileage. Car had minor dents and may need a little love cosmetically but it drove me about 195 miles and had a half tank of gas left when I got home! I plan on getting a lot of drive out of this vehicle! Only reason I did not score the car straight 5 is because I just bought it."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

the milage is all i have to say

By on Friday, November 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car has been a awsome vehicle it has over 200000 on it the motor was rebilt in it at 100000 i cant complain it has been awsome"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Suzuki Grand Vitara near Honolulu. See local deals