Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $21,500 - $22,053.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $22,820

Fair Purchase Price $21,777
Fair Market Range ($21,500 - $22,053)

Invoice $21,701
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 6.9 of 10

10/6.9

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 72 Ratings for the 2013 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 15 | Next

Not the best Subaru

By on Thursday, March 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, Looks and Economy"

Cons: "Traction, Heat and Defroster System"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Not fully satisfied with the vehicle, fuel economy is very good and close to sticker rating. The problems for me are the defroster system does not flow fully on the lower windshield, the floor het is lacking and the traction in snow and ice is very jerky. The vehicle is either slow to respond or over compensating for the slippery conditions but it is not smooth. The worst winter road AWD vehicle I have ever driven. I prefer my 2005 VW Passat wagon over this in bad roads. The interior comforts are a little inconvenient, the cup holders could be moved a few inches forward and the heated seat switches should be relocated to the dash panel. The vehicle is comfortable overall for long trips and is easy to maintain."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Gas friendly AWD Adventure machine

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very nice quality and feel, great gas mileage"

Cons: "no temp gauge, noisy motor when cold"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a reliable well built AWD vehicle. Seems to be getting about 27.5 mpg around town with brief trips on the freeway, But after a 200 mile hwy trip, I averaged 35.7mpg. My overall MPG since owning the vehicle is 30.3mpg. I have the CVT and navigation, leather, moonroof. The bluetooth for the phone requires you to turn the volume up all the way to hear clear enough. The CVT automatic is slow to shift at cold temperatures resulting in high rpms and a roar from the motor. I find that it goes away once the engine is warmed up. The only gripe I have for this car is that it doesn't have a temperature gauge. So I may install one myself. Since that is superficial, I highly recommend this car to any and all. You never have to install chains, and with the ground clearance, I was able to change the oil myself."

12 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Nice Little SUVish Car

By on Tuesday, June 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased this vehicle to replace an aging 4Runner. We needed a smaller, reliable vehicle that would fit in our new much smaller garage. After looking at many options, we chose a Subaru Crosstrek Premium CVT with Eyesight. This also meant we got adaptive cruise control and the upgraded 7-inch infotainment system. Plus, the dealer installed after-market leather seats for free. Acceleration is not as bad as reviews would have led me to believe, but it certainly could be better. I wish Subaru would offer either a turbo or the same motor they have in the Forester, but i'm content with the little boxer they have in it. And I'm very happy with the gas mileage. I almost skipped testing the Crosstrek because reviews had been so negative about acceleration. I'm glad we gave it a shot. An odd thing is that no model comes with power seats. I wish Subaru would add power seats with better lumbar and thigh support. However, those two things (engine power and lack of power seats) are relatively minor gripes. The Crosstrek is fun to drive, looks great, and is pretty versatile. On top of that, it has better interior size than many larger vehicles. Our nearly 6'6" son has more room for his head, legs, and knees than even in my old 4Runner. And, of course, we wanted to be able to go anywhere. We did a lot of ski and camping trip with the 4Runner. The Crosstrek will handle anything we throw at it - and still get about double the gas mileage. Tow capacity is relatively weak, at only 1500 pounds. That's enough to pull a small trailer or a jet ski, but not much else. This is really the biggest trade-off from my 4Runner, which could tow 6000 pounds. The 7-inch infotainment system works well. Bluetooth was easy to set up (in fact, the dealer did it for my phone, then I added other phones from the family). I love the adaptive cruise control on trips. And it's nice that Subaru puts a backup camera on all Crosstrek models. Subaru's AWD is legendary and played a role in our decision to buy a Crosstrek. This is the little car that could, and we are very pleased with it thus far."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great particle package, very stable!

By on Tuesday, January 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, durable, all wheel drive, body style"

Cons: "road noise,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I use this as my primary car, on long trips (upwards of 5hrs of driving), in town, to and from work, to and from the ski area, in the muddy mountains, etc... This car is very versatile, does great manuvering around town, around boulders and cursing down the freeway. It gets great fuel milage on the freeway (sometimes 35mpg). The all wheel drive, on any Subaru, is superior to any other I've experienced. You can really feel the car grip weather its going around wet corners, or up snowy slopes! The included bluetooth and USB charging port is very nice, my wife loves the heated seats! The headed wiper/washer fluid and side mirrors are also really nice. Only downside so far is the road noise, while not horrible it is louder than most. Over all a very durable car that I'm not afraid to rough up a bit, with some nice tech like bluetooth and heated seats."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Choice - I couldn't be happier!

By on Sunday, June 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Style, Gas Mileage, Comfort, Utility"

Cons: "Power, CVT whine, No tailgate release in cabin!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my car for a couple of months now and still love getting into it every day! I wish it had a bit more power and that it had a conventional automatic transmission instead of the CVT, but the tradeoff is the great gas mileage, so I can live with these minor shortcomings as I drive past gas stations! I have a bad back, and the seats are extremely comfortable and my Crosstrek handles the badly potholed streets of Dallas incredibly well!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 15 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.