Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Subaru Outback Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $21,262 - $22,178.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $24,320

Fair Purchase Price $21,635
Fair Market Range ($21,262 - $22,178)

Invoice $22,948

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 6.8 of 10

10/6.8

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 221 Ratings for the 2010 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 16 17 18 ... 23 | Next

love this outback

By on Sunday, November 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "style, convenience, capacity"

Cons: "limited size for families."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love the outback. fits our lifestyle--two kids dog bike/camping/hiking gear. absolutely love everything about how easy the outback is. I had a grand cherokee before and it was just too big. Get all the same carry capacity out of my outback in a smaller, more convenient package. We are going to have to trade as we have a 3rd on way which makes me very sad. I would love to keep this car forever but it just isn't big enough if we have to have another car seat. I wish subaru made something with third seat (other than the terrible Tribeca--expensive and no cargo room)."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

LOVE IT!

By on Friday, November 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "power, AWD, Great price for all the features"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This care meets my EVERY need! I couldn't ask for more. It drives well in rain and snow! The power is amazing for the bigger body style!"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

2010 Outback 2.5i CVT 2 Year Ownership Review

By on Tuesday, November 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, Ride, Handling and Gas Mileage!"

Cons: "CVT felt funny at 1st. A little too long to park."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had the Outback Limited 2.5i CVT for 2 years. It has been a really reliable car. Very good driving experience in heavy rain and mud. It handles corners well for its size due to lower center of gravity and AWD. Very solidly built. The fit and finish of this car is very good. So far no rattling. The gas mileage is exceptional, 30 mpg avg on reg. unleaded. I had a Lexus RX before this. I do not miss it since the Outback has almost everything the RX had minus the price tag and low gas mileage! The car did receive several recalls but only one required fixing. I had some steering wheel vibration in the beginning. Around the 4th time, they finally got it fixed. I don't know what the dealer did but I am happy that it does not vibrate at freeway speed. With high tensil steel, the door panels are thinner and unforunately ding easily. I have to be careful parking it far away from other cars in the parking lot. I have had many compliments from friends, they all think that it is a good looking car and very comfortable to ride in. I hope to keep it for at least 200k miles."

16 people out of 17 found this review helpful

What's not to like?

By on Thursday, October 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Build quality, gas mileage with 2.5i and CVT"

Cons: "No keyless start"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Subaru Outback is a great value in today's crowded market of SUV crossovers. It offers great fuel mileage - especially for an AWD - a comfortable ride and great utility. The Subaru Symetrical All Wheel Drive can't be beat in bad weather. Why spend $10,000 to $20,000 more for a car that really doesn't offer you much more?"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best car i ever owned. on my second now!

By on Thursday, October 27, 2011

I owned and sold this car
Reason: bought a new one!

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "AWD, resale, comfort, SAFTEY!"

Cons: "Color choices"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought my first one early 2010 put 90,000 miles on it and sold my 2010 premium to the first person that looked at it for 19500.00! Thats .09 cents a mile! Just bought the limited. Hope it works out the same. THANK YOU SUBARU!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Loved it so much bought another

By on Monday, October 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Mileage, Price, Fit and Finish, Overall performanc"

Cons: "Dealer service compared to rivals is lacking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The mileage with the fit and finish to the interior are my favorites. While my wife would say the navigation and the back up camera are hers. Nice up grades to our new one. The reliablity is out of this world. Roomy interior the cargo space is actually very spacious. When you compare to others in its class the smart choice is the subaru hands down. For the money nothing even comes close."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Highest reliability rating.

By on Wednesday, October 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very spacious interior, highest reliability rating, great quality"

Cons: "lacks push-button start and blind-spot safety monitoring features"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Outstanding AWD design, comfort, engineering, economy, and value in 2.5i Limited model auto, 4cyl 22-29 mpg. Metal timing belt never requires changing; antifreeze will last 100,000 miles. Towing capacity is 2,500 lbs w/4cyl engine. Hudge interior space is perfect for seniors and tall drivers. Model has electric parking brake and hill-hold features."

15 people out of 16 found this review helpful

My 10th Subaru 1st outback

By on Saturday, October 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,750

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great fit and finish, quiet, comfortable and Harmon Kardon is awesome"

Cons: "OEM tires see review."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Traded a 09 Forester and a 10 Legacy for an 11 Outback 2.5 Ltd. because my partner was unable to drive any more. She wanted to keep the Forester and I wanted to keep the Legacy. My solution was the best of both worlds. Bought in Apr. 11 and have made 3 long trips in the car. I really thought I'd miss the Legacy but I don't, it is as comfortable gets almost as good on gas mileage and is an absolute pleasure to drive on a long road trip. I owned a lot of Subies since 92 all have been sedans but the Forester and although in the past I've HATED wagons I couldn't be more pleased with my COMPROMISE. My only complaint with the car was the OEM tires. Those Continentals just didn't cut in the rain and living in the Northwest I replaced them at 800 mi. with the Goodyear Advantage Tripletread and that is the tire that is PERFECT for this car."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Love the 2011 Outback Limited

By on Tuesday, September 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun, and get a lot of people saying how they love the style"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"To Tennessee and Florida and back, with 4 people and luggage in rooftop turtle.Two separate trips. Gas mileage getting better at 33 MPG usually 29 . Handles very well and found definate need for Auto /Manual CVT Tranny in the Smokey Mtns. Work great!"

18 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Excellent car but curious about snow performance

By on Wednesday, July 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent handilng, sufficient power, excellent gas mileage, standard all wheel drive"

Cons: "no lumbar support for the 2.5i, no fog lamps for 2.5i, lousy factory tires, no all weather mats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned a 2004 Buick Rainier CXL before purchasing the 2011 Subaru Outback 2.5. The Rainier had A LOT of problems, and it turned out to be absolute junk. The Outback may not have the tv in the back, premium sound system, leather seats, or built in air compressor, but it handles spectacularly. The basic 2.5 L 4 cylinder engine has plenty of power for city driving- it may even be quicker than my 5.7 L 8 cylinder Rainier! The gas mileage that I obtain is phenomenal. I get about 40 mpg on the highway and 27 mpg in the city. I can only think of a few negative aspects of this car. 1. lack of lumbar support on basic model 2. no fog lamps 3. slippery steering wheel has no finger grooves 4. rubbish factory tires 5. no all weather mats- come on! Subarus are meant for relatively outdoorsy people... Keep in mind that mine is the very basic model. The upper level versions come with lumbar support, fog lamps, all weather mats, and the other non necessity items. You will still need to replace the tires if you live in a snowy cold region. Other than that, I love this car. I will certainly purchase another Subaru in the future. Maybe even a Forester... I am curious to find out how well this vehicle will perform on the wintry hills of New Hampshire. I have heard negative things about the newly added VDC. Hopefully this model will be able to pull less capable vehicles out of ditches like its later model predecessors. I highly recommend this vehicle."

12 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 16 17 18 ... 23 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.