Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Subaru Outback Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $21,345 - $22,238.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $24,320

Fair Purchase Price $21,717
Fair Market Range ($21,345 - $22,238)

Invoice $22,948
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 6.8 of 10

10/6.8

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 218 Ratings for the 2010 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

Make sure the Dealer fixes the Oil Consumption

By on Thursday, December 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great space and Handling"

Cons: "The cup holders are in the way (I own a 6 speed)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my Outback right off the show room floor for my birthday almost 2 years ago and I down right love it and I drive it everyday to and from work and the occasional road trip. About 2 months into owning my Outback the "quart low" oil light came on around 2700 miles. I brought it into the dealer the next day and they topped it off and told me the engine was still in it's "breaking in" phase and it may burn off a lil oil.They did the initial 3000 mile oil change and told me that, The Subaru Corporation wants their drivers to not take long sustained driving trips, which I though was hilarious because I drive to LA about 5 times a year. Around 5500 miles the same "Quart Low" light came on again. I brought it in and they simply topped it off and started and "Oil Consumption" test. At the 7500 mile make for the initial 1st Oil Change, all was fine they the notified me of no problems and I went on my way. Around 11,000 miles the light came on again and they did the oil consumption test again and topped off the oil again. I drove to LA later on and around 13,000 the dang light came on again for a few hours and I eventually brought it into a Southern California dealer and they wanted to try to charge me to top off the oil.(They charged my service dealer) At 15,000 they did the next oil changed and if anything else happened they would do their 1st "resolution" to combat the oil consumption. Around 16,700 miles the light once again came on and I brought it in and they replaced the piston rings. All was fine until the next oil change...or so I thought. At 21,000 the light came on again and of course by this point, I am very frustrated with everything. The dealer had to replace the lower half of the engine block! I have done one oil change at 24,000 at the dealer as my own choice and I am at 30,000 and about to take it in for its next service with no issues. All in all, my service was very helpful and understanding and of course they gave me a loaner car each time I had to bring it in. I have always wanted a Subaru and I would've hated it I had go under the "Lemon Law" act to fix it or worse, buy another brand."

ok

By on Monday, December 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,978

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "awd"

Cons: "engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"4 trips to service with noisy engine and still not fix"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

My 1st Subaru, certainly not the last!

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive, relaxing"

Cons: "Blind spots in rear view mirrors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle does better on wet/snow/ice roads than any I have ever owned. Changing lanes on an interstate in snow is not a gut wrenching experience. Excellent handling in all adverse conditions."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great quality and value for the price

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Amazing gas mileage, smooth drive"

Cons: "HD radio does not always work great."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was a little skeptical buying a Subaru since I have never owned one and ended up at a Subaru dealership from a recommendation from a friend who had family that worked there. I had not done my research like I usually like to do but somehow still ended up buying this car. Best decision I have made. I get AMAZING gas mileage, drives well and I have been nothing but happy since I bought this. HD Radio is a little finicky at times and I do wish it was a little bit bigger for my growing family but both of those are pretty minor complaints. I do wish Subaru made a larger SUV since I seeing myself needing something larger in a few years but maybe by then they will have something like that. I have a very large car seat in the middle of the back seat and 2 adults can still sit comfortably beside it if needed. I see this Subaru lasting a very long time and even my husband who is very picky really loves driving it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Car.

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Rugged and reliable!"

Cons: "Cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Super reliable. Never had a problem. Love how much I can stuff inside this car and it actually seems to love hills, snow and back/dirt roads. Super reliable heated seats. Starts without a hitch in zero temps. Great AC too for summer months. Awesome sun roof. Great for sporty types who want a good looking car but also want to stuff it with gear. Came with two sets of mats, rubber (washable) and rug like. Could use better center-console cup holders, they are hard to access when driving and the sound system is good but not great."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Exceeds expectations in all categories

By on Wednesday, November 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "See complete review above"

Cons: "See complete review above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Attractive vehicle to look at; like it better than the 2015s. Exceeded EPA estimates of city/highway mileage of 22/29-was able to get 24/32 using synthetic oil. Very roomy interior and cargo capacity is enormous especially with rear seats folded down. Worst feature is the ride is somewhat soft and floating, but easy enough to become accustomed to. Heated seats are wonderful in the cold weather or if you have lower back issues."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Solid and reliable

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Little or no additional costs to operate"

Cons: "2.5 L engine could use more acceleration."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had this car for almost 3 years. Plan on keeping it for at least another 5 years. 2 gripes. Wish I had gone with the 6 cyl for more power and driver convenience space around shifter could be increased for placement of wallet, phone etc. Still would highly recommend to anyone."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Love my Outback!

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We just traded in 2 Toyota's, after owning Toyota's for over 30 years, to get the Outback. We LOVE this car. I feel like Toyota's quality has been declining over the past few years and we finally decided to make the switch. My husband had leased an Outback on a trip last year and was determined that was going to be our next car. I can't tell you how many recall notices I've received the past year or two on the Toyota's. Plus, the interior is far more impressive on the Outback than it was on either one of our other Toyota's. Looking forward to driving this car for a long time!"

15 people out of 19 found this review helpful

a very good vehicle

By on Sunday, November 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "handling, ride, all wheel drive"

Cons: "rear visibility, uncomfortable drivers seat,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this vehicle because i wanted an American made car. I was looking at a Chevrolet Equinox and the Subaru. I knew the Subaru was made in the USA. but to my surprise, the Chevrolet was not. Frankly, it was the best decision i could have made. I was not particularly impressed with the new style as i liked the more conservative look of the 2009 but I did buy it. The only complaint i have is that the power seat does not go straight up, it goes up and forward which brings me too close to the steering wheel, but i like to sit high, also, rear visibly is not really that good. But, the car is a pleasure to drive. I have never tired of it. I feel very secure in it and it handles well in all kinds of weather. I am contemplating trading it in and am not even going to look at another model. I will buy another outback. But one with rear view cameras and rear view warning monitors. I consistently get 33+ mpg on the highway. Whats not to like."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Very reliable, functional, good looking.

By on Thursday, October 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price & options."

Cons: "Power seat passenger cannot elevate."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This in my 3rd Outback. I have had them all. Jeep Grand Cherokee, Acura MDX, Ford Explorer and Chevy Blazer. This "little" car beats them all in performance, gas mileage, and COST. Well designed. I had the 3.6 L engine. Excellent pick up and power. I did pull a trailer ( about 3000 lbs without any difficulty. Would definitely recommend it."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Decent car for the money

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Safe, great in snow"

Cons: "lot of small issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This is a good car for the money . Very safe and excellent in the snow. it has decent cargo area in the back and leg room is pretty good for such a small car."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Fuel efficient SUV

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great value, easy to maintain, roomy"

Cons: "Underpowered, manual's not smooth, no rear AC"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This thing does everything I need it to do. It is nowhere near fun to drive, but it swallows up gear/luggage and gets me where I need to go without drama. Good family vehicle."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

It's a keeper!

By on Saturday, October 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great feeling ride and good visibility for driver"

Cons: "None I can think of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our first Subaru, which we got when my wife's Camry drove her into a tree (unintended acceleration problem which Toyota corporate totally dismissed as driver error, which it wasn't). We had been loyal Toyota buyers over 30 years, but have now transferred that loyalty to Subaru. It felt weird at first going into a Subaru showroom, what with what seems like the almost cult-like loyalty of Subaru owners. Now we know why. They are strong, dependable workhorses. Add unbeatable winter traction and you've got great transportation. Our Outback deals with slick Connecticut snow no problem. We drove around the American West last year - 120 degrees and 80 mph speed limits - AC on full blast and car tearing down the highway with lots of luggage - no problem. Very comfortable. Great, solid ride. And best of all, my bad back actually feels better after sitting for hours in the power front seat with excellent lumbar support!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

BURNS a QUART of OIL EVERY 6,000 MILES

By on Tuesday, October 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT CAR, BUT......"

Cons: "BURNS/CONSUMES OIL"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"BURNS a QUART of SYNTHETIC OIL EVERY 6,000 MILES. I'M OLD SCHOOL. IF A VEICEL BURNS OIL, ITS TIME TO GET RID OF IT. NEW 2013 2014 AND POSSIBLY 2015 SUBARU'S ARE SOLD LIKE THIS AND COSTUMERS ARE NOT TOLD THAT THEY NEED TO ADD QUARTS OF OIL PRIOR TO THEIR SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE OIL CHANGE. I WOULD NOT HAVE BOUGHT THE SUBARU IF I KNEW THAT A HEAD OF TIME!!!!!! LIKE THE AWD CAR BUT I'M CONCERNED ABOUT THE ENGINE DAMAGE!!!!"

13 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Pleasantly Surprised

By on Saturday, October 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, responsive on highway"

Cons: "handling -- bouncy in rear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought 2011 premium with CVT transmission with 35,000 miles in March of 2014. Car currently has over 41,000. I have taken it on a two out of state road trips with each trip averaging over 500 miles round trip. Car handles really nice on the road. Super responsive when you need it to be. Great gas mileage. I am still getting used to the sound and behavior of the cvt transmission. My only gripe with this vehicle is the handling in corners. The rear end is bouncy and at times just seem plain unstable. I don't know if it is fair to compare the handling to my volvo, but the handling just doesn't compare."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

excellent in every way, especially in ice/snow

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,900

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "sure footed, reliable, excellent safty ratings,"

Cons: "needs bigger seats, simpler controls"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"all around excellent car"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great car, Reliable, good mileage, spacious

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, good mileage, reliable, roomy,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great value, very reliable, scores high in all reviews"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Incredible for a 4 banger!

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,202

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Big back-up camera screen; incredible leg room"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just a very fun SUV for Oregon mountains. Handles exceptionally well (I've had many sports cars and like this better on curvy mountain roads). Only complaints are inadequate interior lights; Zero/20 motor oil which disappeared at 1 quart each 3000 miles until I changed to 5w20. I own bigger 4wd vehicles but none approach this drive ability or comfort. Dual power heated leather seats are nice too. I get 31 mpg overall but My wife gets only 25! Crash test ratings have been exceptional as well."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Piece of junk

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
1/10

Cons: "too many blind spots, needs a GPS, front camera"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"transmission problems when I took it home from dealer (new car) . Blind spots make it dangerous to drive on freeway. Lights on dash cannot be seen in daylight needs a camera on front or some warning light to tell you when you are close. Second row seats SHOULD fold down to make cargo area flat but they don't, hence lost cargo space. I won't buy another Subaru"

6 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Go anywhere rain, snow or ice

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort and gas mileage"

Cons: "Non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very comfortable on the freeway, gets 28-30 on the road, eats up snow! Better driver ergo than my new BMW X3."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Perfect car for Colorado

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "easy to drive"

Cons: "no backup camera"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Not one problem with this Outback. I highly recommend it"

A good car!

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have had my Subaru for about 8 months. Overall I am very happy. The only real problem I found is the doors, especially the back door. It looks like it's closed, but isn't. This can cause the alarm to go off. When I took it to the dealership because of this, I was given a lesson in shutting it!!! Apparently two hands is best. What happens if you have groceries, or a dog, or both?? I have got better at closing the door, although now and again it happens."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Reliability problems with the CVT

By on Sunday, September 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great in snow, good mpg, inexpensive"

Cons: "Unreliable CVT transmission, $$ maintainance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I loved this car. It's great in the snow, comfortable to drive, and a good value. That is, until the valve body in the CVT failed at 66k miles. The dealer and SOA have told me they have no interest in helping me out with the repair since I hadn't brought the car in to have the CVT fluid inspected at 30k or 60k. The manual only states it should be inspected at those intervals, and only recommends replacement under severe driving conditions. Fluid replacement costs ~$270 cause it's not really a DIY thing! I expect that kind of crazy maintainance requirement from a high performance sports car or a vehicle used for heavy duty work but not an every day driver/commuter car. I had been told the fluid was only supposed to require early replacement under severe driving conditions, but I don't drive in the city, don't live in the mountains, and have never towed or hauled anything with this car. Silly me for thinking I could maintain the car myself and replace the fluid around 70-80k like I have with all my previous Auto transmission vehicles. They should either update the owner manual to specify CVT fluid replacement at 30k even under normal driving conditions or they should admit that this failure is unusual and help me out with the repair since I'm only 6k miles out of warranty. Otherwise, they shouldn't be surprised when I say that I don't consider the CVT to be reliable and can't recommend this car to others. It's sad cause I have really loved the Subarus that I have owned in the past."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Laughs through the snow!

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great winter car"

Cons: "air-conditioning could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"While I see all kinds of cars and trucks slippin' and slidin', I'm plowing past them. It's amazing how winter-friendly this car is. Whenever anyone asks, it's what I tell them "laughs through the snow"."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Thought to be great but not so after owning

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,200

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Nice size, car like drive"

Cons: "steering is soft, lacks power, not too relaible"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Too much hype about Subaru reliability and safety. Can't comment on safety since never been in an accident. As for reliability, I find this U.S. assembled vehicle lacks the fit and finish of those made in Japan. My vehicle was driving very erratically and actually stalled on me several times. All the lights on dash were flashing. The first dealer had no clue what was wrong, kept reprogramming my computer. Finally got a referral to a better dealer, it was the cam sensor that failed. Took 2 trips to this place to get a new one put in. Subaru's name seems bigger than the quality of cars they make. Will not buy another one. Or at least not one assembled here."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.