Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

2012 Subaru Outback

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 208 Ratings for the 2010 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 42 | Next

Decent car for the money

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Safe, great in snow"

Cons: "lot of small issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This is a good car for the money . Very safe and excellent in the snow. it has decent cargo area in the back and leg room is pretty good for such a small car."

Fuel efficient SUV

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great value, easy to maintain, roomy"

Cons: "Underpowered, manual's not smooth, no rear AC"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This thing does everything I need it to do. It is nowhere near fun to drive, but it swallows up gear/luggage and gets me where I need to go without drama. Good family vehicle."

It's a keeper!

By on Saturday, October 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great feeling ride and good visibility for driver"

Cons: "None I can think of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our first Subaru, which we got when my wife's Camry drove her into a tree (unintended acceleration problem which Toyota corporate totally dismissed as driver error, which it wasn't). We had been loyal Toyota buyers over 30 years, but have now transferred that loyalty to Subaru. It felt weird at first going into a Subaru showroom, what with what seems like the almost cult-like loyalty of Subaru owners. Now we know why. They are strong, dependable workhorses. Add unbeatable winter traction and you've got great transportation. Our Outback deals with slick Connecticut snow no problem. We drove around the American West last year - 120 degrees and 80 mph speed limits - AC on full blast and car tearing down the highway with lots of luggage - no problem. Very comfortable. Great, solid ride. And best of all, my bad back actually feels better after sitting for hours in the power front seat with excellent lumbar support!"

BURNS a QUART of OIL EVERY 6,000 MILES

By on Tuesday, October 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT CAR, BUT......"

Cons: "BURNS/CONSUMES OIL"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"BURNS a QUART of SYNTHETIC OIL EVERY 6,000 MILES. I'M OLD SCHOOL. IF A VEICEL BURNS OIL, ITS TIME TO GET RID OF IT. NEW 2013 2014 AND POSSIBLY 2015 SUBARU'S ARE SOLD LIKE THIS AND COSTUMERS ARE NOT TOLD THAT THEY NEED TO ADD QUARTS OF OIL PRIOR TO THEIR SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE OIL CHANGE. I WOULD NOT HAVE BOUGHT THE SUBARU IF I KNEW THAT A HEAD OF TIME!!!!!! LIKE THE AWD CAR BUT I'M CONCERNED ABOUT THE ENGINE DAMAGE!!!!"

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Pleasantly Surprised

By on Saturday, October 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, responsive on highway"

Cons: "handling -- bouncy in rear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought 2011 premium with CVT transmission with 35,000 miles in March of 2014. Car currently has over 41,000. I have taken it on a two out of state road trips with each trip averaging over 500 miles round trip. Car handles really nice on the road. Super responsive when you need it to be. Great gas mileage. I am still getting used to the sound and behavior of the cvt transmission. My only gripe with this vehicle is the handling in corners. The rear end is bouncy and at times just seem plain unstable. I don't know if it is fair to compare the handling to my volvo, but the handling just doesn't compare."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 42 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Outback near Honolulu. See local deals