Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

2009 Subaru Outback

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 343 Ratings for the 2005 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 69 | Next

Great car in New Mexico. Hate to part with it.

By on Sunday, October 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "RELIABLE, full maintenance, lovely."

Cons: "Some cosmetic dents on rear and front bumper.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Subaru 2008 Outback, two toned brown and champagne (116,000 miles, brand new tires, highway miles, clean interior, full maintenance history at Garcia Subaru, and in great condition (some cosmetic bumper dents). Roof rack and will throw in a carrier on top."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great for winter driving

By on Wednesday, September 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "AWD, Folding rear seat, reliable, well optioned"

Cons: "Rattles and road noise, 23-25mpg not great."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"This is my second subaru, and while the 3.0 engine does seem to have less major problems then my old 2.5, the build quality is lacking when compared to euro offerings. They call the sedan and outback, and my 2007 was the last year for the sedan version. I have the loaded LL Bean addition. The road noise and rattles from the interior are the biggest drawbacks for me, and the extra engine size doesn't quite amount to much power. although it pulls adequately, this is not a quick subaru, it would rather waft along. I think subaru should have included a factory roof rack in lieu of the moonroof."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Another Great Suby!

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Safety, Reliability, Versatility, Holds Value"

Cons: "Expensive to purchase, mpg 20"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this 08 2.5i Outback in 2011, It is my 5th Subaru. I like the wagon very much and have used it to bring home a recliner! Before I had a couple Legacy GT's which were my faves! The car drives nicely and has a good amt of pep, handles the curvy roads well. I get about 4-8 inches of snow and the only thing that stops this wheeler is the depth over about 5". because it high centers. We also currently have a 99 Limited Outback with 221k mi. it runs great and is a 5sp. SO FUN TO DRIVE! Both smog no prob. If you are even considering a suby, DO IT! They are the best cars if you have snow or go skiing."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car for people and dogs

By on Sunday, September 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, handles great, goes on snow, comfy ride"

Cons: "Not a lot of interior storage up front"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This 2005 Subaru Outback with moonroof and leather seats has made me a Subaru convert forever. It is comfortable and works every time. After about 150,000 miles I've started replacing some things (struts, brakes, tires, soon and A/C fan), but it continues to run great and perform like it did the first time out. I tested and drove nearly every wagon/mid-size SUV on the market before buying my Subaru. The final thumbs up was that the rear 60/40 seats lie flat, giving my two big Golden Retrievers plenty of room to lie down (even with other gear in the car) and travel everywhere with me. The all-season mats are worth every penny as is the Compass garage opener. With all-wheel drive it drives on snow like the snow is hardly there. I can't imagine owning any other car. Wish list: more upfront storage space for phones, wallets, etc. Also better gas mileage. I get 28 mpg with a combo of highway/city driving."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I have owned Subarus since the early '90's. Super!

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Just a darn good reliable car and nice looking."

Cons: "None really, but since '10, a little too large."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The are wonder in the snow. No problems ever. Just have to watch out for the other folks who try but can't."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 69 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Outback near Honolulu. See local deals