Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

2007 Subaru Outback

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 336 Ratings for the 2005 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 34 | Next

NOT happy!

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Does great in the ice and snow"

Cons: "Poor reliability, Autotrans models are sluggish"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought this car used with 32000 on the odometer. It is now at the local Subaru dealer (again), having the engine rebuilt. At 45 years old I have owned a LOT of cars in the 30 years I've been driving. I was an ASE certified mechanic for some time and definitely know my way around under the hood. This car has very easily been hands down the most expensive to maintain vehicle I have ever owned. Since I bought it I've had two major mechanical failures, first the front CV boots (both sides) failed, spewing CV grease all over the engine compartment and the catalytic converter which to this day emits a horrendous smell from the burning grease. Then at 97000 miles a (piston) rod began knocking. At this point I am looking at $6400.00 to repair the engine. I'd have just sold the thing if I didn't still owe more than $14,000 on it. Oh, and lets not forget about the fact that due to the overly sensitive transmission failure probability, you can NEVER just buy 2 new tires for this car. Unless you want to buy a new transmission, you'd better replace all 4 tires every time, and I don't even want to GUESS how much a transmission rebuild is on this car. Bought this car because I have always heard about Subaru's reputation for reliability. Suffice to say, I am NOT impressed."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My third one - still love Outback, but not latest.

By on Friday, June 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, comfortable"

Cons: "engine slow on long hills"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The have made the new Outbacks larger and more like every other SUV. I particularly enjoyed the smallness of the 2008 (it fits in my tiny garage) and wonder what I will try next."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Perfect for New England weather.

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Capable in any weather"

Cons: "mediocre fit and finish & material quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"A great overall vehicle to own. Fit and finish deteriorates as the miles accumulate. Engine has always rattled which gets annoying every time the engine starts up this seems due to rusted out fittings on the heat shield which is where i believe the manufacturer cuts costs. Any problems with the vehicle has been covered by warrantee: (faulty front drive shaft). A big quality issue is with the "premium" wheels; the finish deteriorates alloy oxidizes and they look terrible! have been replaced 2 times, problem still occurs. Premium radio bass rattles the doors from about 20K miles on. Other than the above problems, overall great car to own."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

the speed of a hybrid with mileage of a V6

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "premium features, solid All Wheel Drive"

Cons: "bad gas mileage, slow performance, weird throttle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"My 2006 Subaru Outback has 150,000 miles and the catalytic converter is failing. Cost of ownership is too high. All maintenance has been kept up to date. Mileage is terrible. For a slow four-cylider, I can't get above 27 mpg on a very low speed, highway tank. Going 70 on a roadtrip, I get 24mpg. Cargo space is amazing but the back seats don't have enough leg room for adults or space for rear-facing baby carriers. The throttle and clutch engagement make it difficult to drive, so my wife doesn't like driving it, despite her daily driver having a manual, also. Want to know how much I like it? Although it has premium features like seat heaters and mirror defrosters, I'm going to replace it with a new car while keeping my wife's 2001 Saturn SL."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

cool but not super.

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,345

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "its fast"

Cons: "its old (well to me it is)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"i love the stander AWD. It has a good sound system. we drove it from montana and back 2 times."

I love this car!

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 232,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Pep, looks, speed, hauling capacity"

Cons: "More comfortable seats; more front storage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It took me through snowdrifts, across rushing floodwater up to bottom of doors and never stalled. I've hauled everything under the sun in it and it usually fit. Also, I don't know how I lived before and how I'll live after having a turbo charged vehicle. It is just awesome. Like driving a sportscar while hauling 2x4's, a two cases of paper towels and groceries for a week."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A resonable car until 122k miles.

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The car did as we expected for 122,000. Then a crack in both heads was revealed when the exhaust valve guide slid and bent the valve. Apparently not an uncommon issue, and the dealer's response was it sounds like you had some bad luck. Here is the good luck they are 2 1/2 hours away, an I am still sleeping in my own bed."

This car is solid!

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Great in snow; low cost of ownership"

Cons: "Not a lot of fun"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been my commuting car since 2009. I've driven it through awful snow without a problem. It's not fast. The 4 speed transmission isn't smooth. The Harmon-Kardon sound system is amazing. I've put NO money into it for repairs. If you want a bomb-proof reliable car, this is it."

good car

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"good car"

great car but I had lifestyle change

By on Thursday, April 24, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: too much hard driving in the future; wanted to let it age gracefully

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very quick, reliable, stylish, roomy, comfortable"

Cons: "needs premium gas, turbos supposedly dicey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I loved this car. Have always owned nice cars (BMW, other Subarus) but this was tops: snazzy looking, speedy, comfortable, and for its power and time, good gas mileage. Never let me down despite huge commutes night and day over nine years across country, good weather and bad. Although it never had engine problems (I was careful about oil changes, premium gas, and other maintenance), the suspension and other replacements were starting to cost money--after costing me nothing for 8 years except the routine servicing-- and I was looking at more heavy commuting on lousy NE roads, so I decided to get a new car requiring only regular gas and non-turbo to handle that and let this red rocket age gracefully with someone who'll take good care of it, have fun shutting down BMWs, etc., but not need to drive it so hard as I had to for work and now have to for family-medical reasons."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 34 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Outback near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details